Bank of Canada Survey Shows 85% of Canadians Are “Aware” of Bitcoin

in #bitcoin6 years ago

From Cryptoglobe


A study recently conducted by the Bank of Canada, the country’s central bank, shows Canadians are increasingly more aware of bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies, but aren’t getting it to use it.

The survey dubbed the “Bitcoin Omnibus Survey,” inquired 2,500 people in the country, and was conducted late last year when most cryptocurrencies were approaching their all-time highs. Bitcoin, the flagship cryptocurrency, came close to the $20,000 mark, before entering its ongoing bearish trend.

According to the central bank’s survey, about 85 percent of Canadians are now “aware” of bitcoin, up from 64 percent in 2016. The results show that males are still more aware of the cryptocurrency ecosystem than females, although these suggest awareness will reach 100 percent this year if current pace continues.

Read more: https://www.cryptoglobe.com/latest/2018/07/bank-of-canada-survey-shows-85-of-canadians-are-aware-of-bitcoin/

I live in a big city in Canada so maybe it skews things but everyone I know already knows about bitcoin and if they didnt' I would have told them but also pretty much anyone I meet these days has heard of it too. What I have noticed though is that no one really seems to know WTF an altcoin is. That's why I just tell people I mine bitcoin even though I'm mining altcoins.

Leave your thoughts in the comments below.


Follow @contentjunkie to stay up to date on more great posts like this one.


Click one of the links below to signup for a free crypto trading account



Sort:  

I live in a large Canadian city as well. When Bitcoin was at it's highest levels I could walk on the street and hear random conversations about it. It was pretty interesting to be a fly on the wall those days.

The interesting thing is that now with Bitcoin down more than 70% I don't hear a damn thing... It's super quiet out there.

The way I see it... If the general sentiment is quiet and there is blood in the streets... That means the tide went out leaving all the speculators naked on the beach. The party is officially over and now it's time to start cleaning up.

I plan on moving back in so that I can surf with the incoming Bitcoin wave. How about you?

Thats the ideal investors instinct youve got there bro.
But youve just got to be around with your surfboard for the sure incoming wave.

That's the plan! But here's my current question that I have been pondering... Should I move into Bitcoin... or should I move into Steem? So far I have been moving into Steem... I figure what's good for the goose is good for the gander... By that I mean what's good for Bitcoin is also going to be good for Steem. What do you think?

Well its a dicey situation a cross roads im currently deliberating at the moment but i say you wade into these waters, dont put all your eggs in one proverbial basket. So venture into the two side by side. They are both profitable and interesting ventures.

Exactly what I was thinking. I’m confident in both Steem and BTC. I think we are just starting out and there’s going to be massive opportunity for those staying egaged as investors rather than speculators. And with these low low prices... I believe it’s time to load up the truck! Fundamentally nothing has changed... it’s only market sentiment based on government issued gains/losses.

It’s really interesting to me how so many of the SteemIt accounts I followed have gone dormant during the winter season... and all because the price in relation to fiat has gone down... I’m actually taking note of the people who are still in the game posting regularly and the people who went M.I.A. It’s interesting to read some of their last posts and note the time they fell off the band wagon... it’s a sort of market research and so far I’m liking what I see!

Like you said its time to load up. So when things skyrocket to normal you wont be left out. Its always been so this simple technique has made billiomaires.

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN. />

Well you could view my page for some poems.

nice news, I have a feeling the next bull run will be huge!

It is unsuprising, bitcoin is taking the world by storm, even in less developed climes like where i reside bitcoin ie gaining ground but is yet to be trusted since most folks think its a ponzi scheme.

thats indeed a good sign .. btc is indeed a revolution of current time and when more n more ppl get aware about it then indeed adoption will grow.. more awarness will indeed reduce the risk of ponzi's going around and good real project will come with strong force

now a days very few people whom do not know about bitcoin specially after bull run in dec 2017 to feb 2018 that was the time when people really know about bitcoin

You got a 2.69% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @contentjunkie!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82