How I Got Back My Bitcoins (video/podcast)

in #bitcoin5 years ago

how i got my bitcoins back splash copy.jpg

I told you on my last episode, I lost my bitcoins back in March 2017. After 20 months of no movement on the case, many emotions like frustration, despair, regret, and peace, I finally got them back. Let me tell you about it.

Scroll down to watch or listen to the episode.

Bye Bye Bitcoins

I lost the bitcoins. They'd locked the account, they'd deleted my support request. It looked like there was no hope. I started posting on the Bleutrade thread on Bitcointalk forum, but it seemed that the staff hadn't accessed it since they started the thread. I told my story on there, saying I hadn't got my bitcoins back after a week. One fellow named 1369 he questioned my credibility, considering I didn't have a posting history on Bitcointalk.

I overcame his initial skepticism and he said he would try to help. He'd had a really good experience with Bleutrade, so good that he had some connections with the staff. He said he figured somehow my case had just slipped through the cracks, and he'd try to get them to do something about it. So I'm grateful to 1369 that he tried.

But still, nothing, no response, no emails, no concern from the staff about the bad reputation that their exchange was developing.

Changing winds

With no apparent recourse, I gave up on it. As traders might say, I reached capitulation. I thought there was no chance of getting anything out of these guys. If they wanted to keep my money, they would.

That changed a couple of weeks ago when I went back on the Bitcointalk forum and 1369 was saying that Bleutrade had opened a Telegram group, and now would be the end of the bad talk against the exchange - people could now obtain answers to their basic support questions quite quickly.

It so happened that in September 2018, Bleutrade became regulated by the Maltese state, which might have forced it to be a little stricter with certain practices. It also meant that I probably had some recourse if I didn't get my money, as Bleutrade probably wouldn't want to risk its licence.

A new hope...ish

I went to Bleutrade's new site and was surprised to find that I could log in. I could see the old transactions there, two deposits and a withdrawal, which had been cancelled, but the funds had never been returned to the account. I made a note of them, and put in a support request. The next day I noticed that I had again been locked out of the account. Great.

I went on the Telegram group and asked a couple of times what was going on. The first two times I received no response. When I tagged the admins in a post, the guy said that the support team would get to it, and said that I already knew what was going on. I was a little confused, how would I know what was going on? He said it was being handled internally. I said "It sounds like you're saying Bleutrade has taken my money." He said don't be silly, Bleutrade has never taken anyone's money, and then accused me of slander, and attempting to sow discord.

I just imagine this situation. My friend calls me on the weekend and asks "Hey bro what are you up to tonight - you want to go to the bar and hoist a few?"

Naturally I would respond: "Nah mate I'm pretty busy, I've got this great new hobby, I like to sow discord in random crypto Telegram groups." Seriously?

I considered pointing out to the admin that my statement was just an opinion, and therefore not slanderous, and his statement accusing me of slander, was actually slanderous. I thought better of it. I thought, this guy is going to keep prodding me until I explode in the chat so it looks like I'm the bad guy, and then they can block me, and likely again avoid returning my funds.

Fortunately I PM'd another admin, he said I'd receive a response that day. I said thanks.

Two criminal masterminds

To my surprise, I did get a response that day. The weird and incredible irony was that, all this time I thought they were thieves for taking my bitcoins - but they stated reason they took them was that, they believed I had stolen the bitcoins. I'd deposited They said when they didn't get any support request from me, they decided it was proof that the source of my funds was indeed illegitimate.

Of course, I did put in a support request. I went through my old records and found the text, date and link. But besides that, when you lock a dude out of his account, wouldn't you think to like, contact him?

At the time, it looked like one big scam, but according to them, they were merely following prudent anti-money laundering procedures.

The real story...?

My best guess of what actually happened is that in 2017, a rogue staff member decided to pilfer my funds and cover his tracks by deleting the support request and confirming a red flag on the transactions to mark it as illegitimate. The exchange continued and eventually gained the Maltese licence, which put them under greater scrutiny, so when I had the chance to protest, they decided to colour in this little story of funds marked stolen.

In their version of the story, they never contacted me to ask what was going on, and just assumed their own customer to be a criminal. I'm not entirely sure which is worse.

A happy ending

The happy ending is, they asked me to confirm my identity and explain the source of the funds. I did so, and they said okay we will unlock your account and the funds. They did it, and I got my bitcoins. How about that! So despite all my criticisms of Bleutrade, I'm grateful for what they did. They could have drawn out the process and made it difficult, but they gave me back my bitcoins, and even despite the recent downturn in the market, they're still worth a lot more than when I lost them.

So there are some important lessons to be learned here:

  • Never give up. You don't have to hold on to your bitterness or your disillusionment, but you don't have to give up.
  • Never assume malice when incompetence will suffice.
  • Never use Bleutrade.

Thank you

Thank for reading, listening and watching. Thanks for sharing the video with your friends so they can soak up the crypto-goodness.

Thanks for liking Cryptonomics on Facebook, subscribing to Cryptonomics on YouTube and Cryptonomics on Anchor. And thanks for being cool!

Stay grateful.

The Episode

You can listen to the episode on Anchor and other podcasting services here: Cryptonomics - How I Got My Bitcoins Back. Or watch on YouTube below:


Cryptonomics - principles of cryptocurrency and investing can help you learn about personal finance, the disruptive power of this emerging industry, and how it might change your life in more ways than one.

Cryptonomics on YouTube, Cryptonomics on Anchor, Cryptonomics on Facebook

Sort:  

For sure dude, I can relate. I had a similar experience with Changelly that involved enough pivx to book a flight to Prague to convince them that I was serious about getting my crypto back. In the end, after a couple of months I did get my coins back, and didn't have to fly to Czheckland. It's a seriously nasty feeling when it happens to you, getting ripped off because you trusted strangers...there wasn't a lot of choice at the time.

Right on!

Congratulations for having the stamina to keep at it, and for finally getting your funds back. Cheers!

I had Binance lock me out of my account for weeks, after purchasing a small amount of Stellar. My password worked fine, but their little puzzle piece test failed every time, even when I could clearly see that I nailed it.

I finally got access again when I informed them that, as a writer and former stockbroker, I knew precisely whom to contact to make their regulatory lives miserable in the U.S.

Surprise surprise, I quickly received an email detailing how to get access again, and assuring me that the issues I had were highly unusual . . . a complete lie, judging by the message boards.

My stellar is still there, but I'll never give them another dime. Once burned.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a shame to hear; I've always had a good experience with Binance. I would do the same though. The minute I saw Bittrex and Poloniex having troubles, I bailed as fast as I could. It's not quite the wild west it was with exchanges a couple of years ago... but still, doesn't hurt to be cautious.

Indeed.

My experience was that they kept alternately ignoring my requests completely, responding without addressing my concerns, or passing off the buck to my being a "newbie," which is when I finally lost it and told the person in question that I took my first computer course when he was likely not yet born. Newbie my ass.

I dislike any company that fails to take responsibility and actually FIX the issue, rather than just shifting blame.

Posted using Partiko Android

He used the word "newbie"? That's crossing a lot of lines.

I had some bad experiences with Fiverr when something went wrong with Bitcoin. They would give me a definition of Bitcoin and tell me it wasn't available in my country. Really poor training. All of their support staff were like that.

I don't recall him actually using the word newbie, but he was phrasing things as though he was speaking with an imbecilic three year old, and I finally let him have it. I have a long fuse, but I do have my limits. ;-)

Well done bro.
Qapla'
Sorry about your friend.
Peace.

HOLDDD!


It was very good to read :) ... And yes it is true "Never give up" .
I hope you can put this BTC soon work and you get more :)


This would be a big help for me to get back my losses. I'm thinking also for this one trading competition. https://news.kucoin.com/en/dai-dai-trading-competition-win-182-mkr/

This post is supported by $21.44 @tipU upvote funded by @churdtzu :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Im trying to find some way too, to get back my lost investments. Should i participate here? https://www.facebook.com/KuCoinOfficial/posts/307819130069841

Many people choose to buy ICO to increase their assets, but buy many scam projects. Why do not you choose to buy the potential coins on CMC has the ability to
grow strong to increase the property. My choice is #Nexty. Join @Nextyio is more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22