Tales from Bitcointalk - Someone Replied to me With My Own Article #4

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

bitcointalk3.png


When scrolling through the Technical Support Board on Bitcointalk, I noticed someone asking a question about time-locked transactions. Given the fact that I've had quite some experience with time-locked transactions, I decided to add a reply. Because I had asked almost the same question once before on the forum, I just pointed OP towards my old thread.

In that thread, someone had given me step-by-step instructions on how to create a timelocked transaction with Coinbin. I've also used that thread as a source for a Steemit article that I wrote, explaining the whole process in more detail with screenshots.

Now, right after I had responded to OP, someone else replied to me saying he had found a great guide that explains how these timelocks work. The link he shared was to my own article I had written on Steemit. I think that I couldn't wish for a better compliment, to be honest. It's pretty amazing that this random person just happened to find my article and used it to reply to the author of that article (me). I'll share the whole conversation in chronological order below.


Source: Screenshot of Bitcointalk

I'm looking for information on time-locked transactions for bitcoin. How is this transaction created exactly? Does this transaction remain off-chain between the sender and the receiver until the time has elapsed? Does this transaction remain on the mempool until that time? -- Bitcointalk User bomberb17


Source: Screenshot of Bitcointalk

I've also asked a similar question before on this forum and got a really amazing reply.
Easy step-by-step instructions to create a time-locked transaction.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2415595.msg24710770#msg24710770
I know you're probably looking for a more in-depth technical answer, but just sharing this in case anyone else is interested in creating a time-locked transaction. -- @daan aka Eternalgloom


Source: Screenshot of Bitcointalk

For a set-by-step guide with picture, you can visit https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@daan/how-to-create-time-locked-transactions-with-bitcoin-free-bitcoins-inside. -- Bitcointalk User bob123


The whole situation was just a little bit funny to me, so I thought I'd share it here. I've checked out if my articles come up on Google when searching for timelock-related keywords and I'm on the first and second page for some of them. Too bad you don't earn any rewards on older posts, some of mine are doing pretty good I'd say.


Let me know what you think in the comments and consider upvoting or resteeming if you like this type of content!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Sort:  

Google seems to rank steemit articles quite highly, a shame most can't respond because they don't have accounts.

I used to Tweet and Facebook my articles in the early days, but for the same reason there is little point. I got a resounding silence from the FB crew.

Yeah I've noticed that, some of my posts about basic income are doing pretty good on Google. I still have an Instagram account, but hadn't thought about sharing anything there. Don't think it's worth it.

I'd rather put my time and effort in building friendships here on Steemit.

Ah! You just made me REALIZE one of the major benefits of enabling payouts on Steemit posts for an indefiinte period of time - that is, when they are discovered in the future on BOTH Steemit and the wider internet. Someone had suggested a "tip" feature for posts which remains active after the current 7-day period. This would be ONE positive potential solution to this issue, and your scenario makes it EVEN MORE attractive on the larger scale. Thanks for that gem...

You should have a look at the number of views of these old posts. But a little while ago Steemit skipped this functionality.

Which means your articles been search by many, that's why it's on the top. Congrats though!!

I really hope that's the case :) Too bad they've removed the view counter.

Why did they remove the view counter?

I have no idea, I think because it was inaccurate. It just counted every view, not unique ones. Still I think it was useful.

I agree...it was useful.

thats seems funny but some times it happens .....and you should be proud of your work too

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Daan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Very cool! Congrats that you get the recognition for an article well written! You must have had the biggest smile when you saw the post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17