Live In Argentina? Now You Can Pay With Bitcoin Your Public Transportation

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

According to the Spanish version of Cointelegraph, the public transport in Argentina may now be used with Bitcoin.

This feature, which is impressive, is accomplished via a transport card, called SUBE, which is used for subways or trains in many cities across Argentina, card which can now be topped with Bitcoin too.

The feature brought together two companies Bitex and Alto Viaje. The first one is about blockchain, the second was already offering recharging services for the SUBE card, including PayPal.

The SUBE network is present in 37 cities across Argentina and it's used by millions of people.

That's what I call adoption. Real adoption.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Did they give any indication if it was running on the lightning network? I would think a service like this would want to be one of the first adopters, but maybe they are just testing the waters.

Posted using Partiko Android

It would make sense to be on Lightning, but I have no idea about that.

Many thanks for this note of optimism about the future of BTC. This reminds me of one more thing of interest 'for the people' that POTUS didn't mention in his recent SOTU...In fact, I don't think I've ever heard him speak about cryptocurrency; a tad disappointing. Peace.

@dragosroua,
I wish they might use STEEM instead of BTC! Coz transaction cost and time are ridiculously high! So, this might be a waste!

Cheers~

nice! I'll verify that on my trip in April. Still have an old SUBE card from 2016...

Excellent that they are doing this with Bitcoin. Many people now talk about Bitcoin as a store of value and not a transactional currency.

I feel excited about this goodnews. No matter the current temporary challenges, blockchain and cryptocurrency can only get better!

Wow!!! This is a good news for the future of cryptocurrency.

🏆 Hi @dragosroua! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @dragosroua :) | For investors.

I hope same for steem. Good news indeed! @dragosroua

Posted using Partiko Android

Slowly and slowly bitcoin is going mainstream for everything

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84