Was Bitcoin Your First Cryptocurrency?

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Outside of cryptocurrencies Gold is generally considered as something worth investing into and holding for the long term. Bitcoin off late has become a store of value.

Whenever Steemians have asked me if buying STEEM is a good idea during the dips, I always encourage them to also consider holding some Bitcoin. Either to trade it to another token and then back or just hold some as you would hold STEEM.

It’s good to be diversified after all no? But more importantly it’s necessary to have a little bit of the king of crypto in your portfolio!

cryptocurrency-3435863_1280.jpg

Source

It seems like a pointless question to ask but as it turns out many cryptocurrency users also prefer diving into tokens that are worth a few cents and even a 10th of that. Most in hopes that the token will rise up to be the next big thing or is likely to pump exponentially during a bull run.

That is not always the case ofcourse!

I've been in crypto for a while now and I've always owned some Bitcoin.

STEEM ofcourse has utility in the sense that we use the Steem blockchain to transact everyday. That's really not quite the case with Bitcoin. There's literally nothing I would personally do with Bitcoin other than trade it with other cryptocurrencies or for Gold on Vaultoro. I don't have any use for the Bitcoin blockchain other than send or receive Bitcoin.

Also, because there's not a lot I can do with Bitcoin in India as things stand other than trade it.

But for many Steem users, especially those new to cryptocurrency, STEEM and SBD would've been the first cryptocurrencies they've interacted with. Bitcoin only when cashing out perhaps.

Anyway, I look forward to your comments on this topic and would really like to know which was the first cryptocurrency that you ever held and why did you pick that as your choice of token?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #60

Follow Me: @firepower

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yes because I wanted to buy an altcoins, so I bought Bitcoin first.
I have invested in many. I mined Z-cash and Ethereum,I got into several Staking coins too. Steem was probably my latest investment, but recently I started accumulating Ripple. I plan to re-enter mining mining Monero as a safe asic free gpu coin, but when the price goes up. By the way do you know about the Bittrex Twitter contest to find the next coin for a new dollar pairing on Bittrex?
I have a post about it on my blog.

Bitcoin was my first introduction to crypto. Still my largest holding. I learned the hard way not to buy crypto below the top 100. Too much risk, too many scams. Good luck everybody.

Would be steem for me.

Never invested money in crypto, regret I didn't in the start of course, but there you go. I just grind the posts and comments on steemit.

i believe cryptocurrencies money of the future👍👍
but i think never invest single and digital currency.

I am the first lover of steem and sbd ,of course my son has been holding some amount of bitcoin too.Bitcoin is the mother of all cryptocurrencies,so love to hold it as much as I can .

The first time I entered into the world of cryptocurrency I purchased a part of bitcoin on Zebpay as many first time users in India did way back in late 2017. I did get a return of around 30% of all the amount invested eventually but due to some financial urgency I had to spend it all. My experience of bitcoin transactions at that time include very high transaction fees and large difference in selling price between Indian crypto markets and rest of the world.
Off late I have started investing small amounts in STEEM blockchain as I truly believe in its future potential. In future I do plan to buy in some bitcoin as the lightening network have reduced the fees to a great extent.

Posted using Partiko Android

I was into btc ltc and doge faucets and other various 'free'things. I think lite coin was the first or it could have been feathercoin, nit sure. But they were all around late 2013. First investment though was BTC and LTC. ETH didn't exist then.

yes, bitcoin for me too. all that faucet hunting, and click click away
i remember 1000 satoshi each time i clicked lol

STEEM has been the only cryptocurrency that I've ever held. I briefly converted my STEEM to Bitcoin a few months ago to cash out but then came that RBI prohibitive order and also a forewarning e-mail from my bank (HDFC) and I reconverted it back to STEEM and been holding only STEEM since then even though @sauravrungta has often suggested me to convert some of it to Bitcoin.

I popped my cherry with bitcoin and I still hold some today it’s the biggest in my portfolio followed by ETH and STEEM! I love me some BTC

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83