The Sound of Bitcoin.

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Some time ago I started to think about the intrinsic connection between music and math.
As I looked at the graphs of the BTC/USD exchange rate, I imagined that each of those numbers –for example, in a monthly, weekly or daily candlestick chart– could represent or correspond to a note in the tonal musical scale.

Tiempo atrás pensaba en la relación intrínseca entre la musica y las matemáticas.
Mientras miraba los gráficos de la cotización del BTC/USD, imagine que cada uno de esos números -por ejemplo si tomáramos una vela de cotización en vista mensual, diaria, semanal, etc- representaría o equivaldría a una nota de la escala musical tonal.

BTC y Musica flotando.jpg

I had before my eyes, thus, a chart that could also be read and interpreted like a musical score.
I immediately wondered what that score would be like. This melody that we in the ever growing Bitcoin community compose every day, how would it sound?
I decided, then, to embark on the challenging task of translating that BTC/USD chart to discover that hidden melody, from the initial exchange rate in 2010 to the 31st December, 2017.

Tenia entonces frente a mis ojos, un gráfico que también podría ser leído e interpretado como una partitura.
Inmediatamente me pregunte, como sonaría esa partitura? como sonaría esa melodía que en definitiva escribimos todos los días, quienes pertenecemos a la creciente comunidad Bitcoiner?
Decidí entonces, embarcarme en traducir ese gráfico de BTC/USD y descubrir esa oculta melodía, desde el comienzo de su cotización en el año 2010 hasta el 31 de diciembre del año 2017.

Btc/Usd Graphic & Abbleton Live.

Naturally I came across many obstacles.
Confronted with the strictly mathematical aspect, because of the great fluctuations in the value of Bitcoin –especially during 2017–, I was forced to modify several tonal intervals, as there is no instrument that can comprehend a scale from 1 to 20000.
What you will listen to, then, is a close approach to this “score”, focused rather on its artistic aspect than on the mathematical one.

Por supuesto, me tope con infinidad de obstáculos.
Al encarar el aspecto estrictamente matemático y debido a las grandes fluctuaciones
en la cotización del Bitcoin -especialmente durante el año 2017- me vi obligado a modificar muchos intervalos tonales, ya que no hay instrumento alguno que abarque una escala entre 0 y 20.000.
Así que lo que escucharan es una aproximación cercana y mas enfocada en el aspecto artístico que en el matemático de esta “partitura”.

As I worked on the musical translation, images kept coming to my head, so I decided to also make a video to go with the melody I was uncovering.
I leave you here then this game, this experiment truly hoping that you enjoy it.
Link to video: The Sound Of Bitcoin

A warm hug to all the global BTC community!

Mientras trabajaba en la traducción musical, venían constantemente imágenes a mi cabeza, así que me anime a realizar también un video para acompañar la melodía que estaba descubriendo.
Pues entonces aquí les dejo este juego, este experimento y espero sinceramente que lo disfruten.
Link al video: The Sound Of Bitcoin

Abrazos para toda la comunidad global del BTC!!!

Acknowledgements:

  • This video includes a small homage to the great Swiss speed climber Ueli Steck, deceased on 30th April, 2017 near Mount Everest. Many thanks to Sancam Film.
  • Many thanks to Videbo, a wonderful database of copyright free videos.
  • Many thanks to EDM Labs, Free Best VST, as from there I downloaded the loops of the wind instruments, also copyright free.
  • Many thanks to Red Bull Media for the shots of motorcycle and snowboard jumps.
  • The data of the BTC/USD exchange rate was taken from Blockchain info and Trading View (Bitfinex).
Sort:  

@germanswiss, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99