NiceHash possibly Hacked, 4000+ BTC gone.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

We dont have any official status yet, this is just rumors and thoughts based on what ive found online and heard from people.

NiceHash is one of the best easy mining services, with great integrations and pretty good payments. Their other competitor MinerGate is also good but has less coins.

Today users started reporting that website is down.

Unplanned maintenance - oh well happens.

But hours were running and no official info on any of their social channels.

Users noticed that their hotwallet got emptied

All coins went to single address.

This coins are worth..

Should you panic ?

Always when services go down you should as you own coins only if they are in your wallet. I do hope this is not a hack but some system changes, at this point we have just rumors. If you are mining for now switch to MinerGate. Due to NiceHash down ie ZEC mining is way more profitable today.

Follow, Resteem and VOTE UP @kingscrown creator of http://fuk.io blog for 0day cryptocurrency news and tips!

Sort:  

Please report back to us with your findings.

wow man that's f***ed
I feel for whoever had money on NiceHash
images.jpg

I am one of them with a loss of 15 btcs . I'm thinking to open a thread on Reddit for donations

Man Im so sorry to hear that. I'll try n support.

The F@!K!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hope anyone here who were using it did not loos too much...

Ohh boy, Houston we have a problem!

I don’t use them as it’s not profitable due to excessive electricity charges where I live, but I found nicehash to be good, reliable and easy to use. A real shame if hacked, especially if it puts them under.

Just a thought! if all you computer geek/guy/gals can get hacked what chance do we old fart have,in safely navigating the new world order ??

Most people don’t get hacked, especially computer geeks. It’s people stupid enough to keep funds online then post you tube videos boasting about how many coins they have. It’s like having shitty locks on your door, keeping millions in cash under the bed then posting videos of your house whilst bragging about how rich you are. Stupid.

Get a hardware wallet or use offline storage and you can’t be hacked.

Us computer geeks are fine most of the time :) But the exchanges are big targets along with these cloud mining shops.Store you coins on paper wallets and you will be fine. Use exchanges to exchange and keep minimal there

@kingscrown one can only hope for the best. I couldn’t help feel nervous about the “unplanned maintenance” from just reading this. Toes and fingers crossed 🤞 Best wishes to all always. - @splendorhub

Bitcoin account holders are insured for this type of event, correct? Or are they on their own, tuff shit... and it's gone!

@nokodemion Absolutely no insurance from any cryptos. Your best bet is to make sure you have all passwords saved on a ledger/or paper. Best wishes 😁

They owe me at least 300 for this week, I'll never use them again if they lost my coins

It's so frustrating just waiting for the return :(
I switched all my PCs and mining rigs to this very easy and good alternative foolproof mining solution, everyone of you can do this and also grab your $12 just for the free signing up: http://pins4.us/stminer

Wow, this is really horrible. And I thought Nicehash were unshakable. I really pray thus is a rumor, cause a lot of people would surely be affected.
I would advice you use only a credible bitcoin mining site like Genesis mining. There also others like Hashflare, VIABTC, Hashnest.
But, yet even with these, make sure to mime with extreme caution.

All Crypto "HACKS" are just INSIDE JOBS to STEAL CUSTOMER FUNDS.

Ive switched to claymore for now, I hope i get my bitcoin i mined this week!! ;((((((

Did they really need 60M on their hot wallet? This seems negligent.

This is a very real possibility.

That's what came to my mind at first as well.

Genesis Mining went down a couple of months ago and they pulled the same shit. No communication for hours. "Under Maintenance" It wouldn't be as frustrating if they didn't say they were gonna keep us updated on Twitter but its been hours with no word.

I switched to the easiest to implement alternative; just install one file on any windows computer and you're good to go: "COMPUTTA" - http://pins4.us/stminer

Oh that awesome. Thanks for this info have been looking for such like this. Am heading over to the link now. We'll appreciated

So im very curious. Hashflare has had some random "Maintenance" on their website, and I am wondering if anyone could confirm that Hashflare uses NiceHash pools? I wonder if they lost a bunch of BTC in this whole hack situation. I have received my payouts as usual, but its weird the website has been up and down the last 24 hours or so. Figured someone may have some insight on the subject :)

I do hope that this are only rumors and they were not compromised...

Here is an updated post with all the important links about the security breach from NiceHash https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@azfix/nicehash-just-had-a-security-breach-and-all-bitcoin-was-stolen

That sucks

I stopped using them last week, but only because I was turning my hash power toward monero pools. Good thing too.

sounds like this was a honeypot that someone probably had access to for some time, but were waiting for the market to go high enough before making their move.

I'm sure some will speculate that it was an inside job, where those in charge took their money and ran, using the "ermagerd, we were hacked!" excuse, but I don't believe this is the case. I don't have evidence either way and don't care to speculate myself.

Hopefully no one had their savings in there or something. Not smart, but then again who would think nicehash was that vulnerable?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87