A Loaf of Bread

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Bread and Loaf are both good wallets

But I have not used them in a while as I was using more versatile wallets such as JAXX and ABRA. I liked the interface as well as the greater number of coins supported. The swapping of coins was easier (although expensive), on these wallets as well.

So I hadn’t opened the Loaf or Bread Wallets since April 2018

Now that means they need to sync up to their respective blockchain. Well the Bread wallet has a percentage meter and let’s you know the day you are synced to. Slow going, but at least you see progress. Now as long as you keep the app open in the background it keeps syncing. It also appears I can still send and receive... which is good that the syncing process does not limit use.

By the way, why does the Bread wallet now have ETH tokens and not DGB... that for me is a head scratcher for another time and topic.

But the Loaf wallet

What a process

It is still syncing, at least that is what it states as there is no percentage meter. I have had this app running in the back ground four four days, but has not moved from the April 26, 2018 date in all that time. Mind you it has been updated since then as well.

Now I the Loaf wallet the send and receive features can not be utilized while syncing. So basically this is an unusable wallet. So I am going to have to restore it sometime, or maybe just not use it... what a waste, may as well take it off my phone.

Why do I have these wallets

Well as I mentioned, I use JAXX and ABRA wallets more as transfer and trade platforms. But I had and have paper wallets (which I prefer as cold storage over a ledger or other hard wallet). I do use a ledger, but not for all holdings and I think the better transportability of a less detectable paper wallet during travel is higher. I also believe that while less likely, the ledger or any other electronic interface could have back door features I would not know about. It would be much safer to sweep a paper wallet for immediate use when needed.

Anyway

That is why I got these two wallets was to seep paper wallets for use. both the JAXX nor ABRA wallets can sweep a paper wallet... (JAXX used to have that function, but their new “Liberty” wallet will not). The old JAXX, may not have been pretty, but it was far superior to this new release... why do people make things less usable for looks???

Conclusion to a ramble

So it looks like I will keep them on my phone even though I do not use them much anymore as one never knows when they may need to interface with a paper wallet.

.
.
.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho

Image Credits: Loaf, Bread

Sort:  

So many wallets out there hopefully the lightening wallets are on the way

I’m sure in time they will... I’m looking at the Ellipal wallet now... a step above Ledgee and Trezor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73