Ohio Becomes The First US State To Accept BTC In Paying Taxes

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

Hello guys!

How_to_send_receive_Bitcoin_v2_2000_1000-1.jpg

Image Source: coincentral.com

Finally some good news!

So how are you doing today? I am having a quite good, busy day. So, I was scrolling down my facebook feed when I noticed a post by a friend of mine, talking about how Ohio is going to be the first US state to accept our favourite crypto (okay, besides Steem...) as a form of payment for taxes. Well, we're only talking about businesses at this point, but it's still good news. By the way, the article containing the information I am citing was published two days ago.

Starting this week, many businesses in the state will be able to make tax payments on a variety of sales, as well as employee withholding and public utility taxes with Bitcoin.

Looks like some serious sharks want in.

If you ask me, it certainly looks and sounds like those guys know better. Some people say that if you miss the boat then it's never coming back. Well, that's the truth, but only for retailers. When it comes to institutions, they sure as hell know how to bring the boat back. That's how it goes, that's how it flows. So it goes without saying that I'm still a long-term optimist.

Companies interested in using the new system will have to register with the state's Treasurer's office through OhioCrypto.com, a portal that will take each payment and convert the virtual currency to actual dollars before being deposited into a state account, the press release said.

The whole concept sounds interesting and looks like there's still hope. I think I might be missing some pieces to the puzzle, but I will certainly look into this and make a follow-up post about it. Thought that Bitfinex thing is what was causing this catastrophe, but I am starting to think that we are dealing with some sort of combined disasters, if you know what I'm saying.

TL;DR

It's been a couple of stressful months for investors and hodlers. Things are still looking pretty bearish, however there's fresh new hope. Our beloved BTC & Steem might crash even further before inevitably blowing up. Regardless, I will be here to enjoy the ride. If I am proven wrong, I will probably hide behind anonymity and use some sort of ''this is not financial advice'' disclaimer as a bulletproof vest. However, If I am proven right, then I will be a happy man. With more money. I hope the same goes for you.

Trusted Exchanges

Thanks for reading!

As mentioned above, this is not investment advice. I am stating my humble opinion in a humoristic manner in order to generate engagement. Don't ever trust anything I say without doing your own research. And don't shoot the messenger. Only one thing is for sure: I wouldn't want to be John McAfee.

Resources

DQmQPRBLmhWag36FBxYVNJNKZRUsBbpPeZvm7FVixnWVXhk_1680x8400.png

May I have your attention for another moment, please?

  1. There's a new witness in town, the @stem.witness! Oh, we also have a new app, steemstem.io! I think the most wonderful scientific community on the Steem Blockchain deserves your vote! You can also support by delegating to @steemstem for a ROI of 65% of our curation rewards. Convenient delegation links:
    50SP | 100SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP.

  2. Meet @aristotle.team, a community account created and powered by the members of the Greek translation team, currently working for @davinci.witness and @utopian-io. We have created a curation trail to support Utopian contributions and we are about to launch a new web application designed by @dimitrisp. Any support would be appreciated. Convenient delegation links:
    10SP | 20SP | 50SP | 100SP | 200SP | 500SP | 1000SP


Video Credits @gtg

GIF by @katerinaramm

image.png

Image by @ruth-girl

Thanks for being here!

Sort:  

Oh well, this explains why everything started turning green since yesterday! BTC passed the $4k mark again today! :D

You're probably right, however I believe we will start noticing the effects at a distant point in time.

I really think that greenies we saw yesterday is going to be a strong dead cat bounce around 5-6k and the chaos again...

It's highly likely!

Great ! Let the US gov to gather BTC and then act like a bear or put the on a auction like the silk road BTC's 🤣 (BTC pizza vol2 more likely ) kek

I hear you, but they could do that anyway in a free market. They certainly realized BTC's true potential though, which is highly encouraging to see.

Good news but not satisfying, I want see some action, I'm really sick of the bear market affecting steem so badly

Just be patient, and don't lose hope ;)

Αντε γεια να δούμε μπας και γίνει τίποτα καλό και αν έχουνε λίγο και δουμε ΚΑΙ ΕΜΕΙΣ λίγη χαρά :)))

Άντε να δούμε!

That's really good news.
I think BTC price will be higher soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77