Here is why Bitcoin is better than PayPal | My Personal Experience

in #bitcoin6 years ago

In today’s article, I just want to share my experience that I had with PayPal which is pretty annoying. This just tells me why cryptocurrencies should get stronger!

Here is why Bitcoin is better than Paypal _ My Personal Experience.png

I wanted to let you know that I haven’t really used PayPal at all because I normally would do bank-transfers to get money or pay someone. Of course, if they (people in general) would accept Bitcoin(cryptocurrencies), I definitely would prefer to do it that way.

About a week ago, I sold my two Kindles that I had. I wanted to sell them because they were just laying around and I didn’t really use them. I maybe used them once or twice and that’s it. I guess, I'm old-school because I prefer books.

I reset the Kindles and I charged them to make sure everything is on a 100% so that the person who would buy it has kind of a brand-new Kindle. I also had 2 covers that were protecting the Kindles and I only used it a couple of times. They were as good as new, no scratches or problems which was great. I could sell them for a bit more because of their conditions.

So, I took pictures of them and put a description of the Kindles next to it, to inform the person who might be interested in it.

I published the advertisement on Gumtree just after lunch-time and a couple of hours later, someone sent me a message to see if they were still available because he was interested in getting one.

So, I chatted with him about the Kindle and we chatted about the price and how to send it and what the postage cost would be. Later on, I asked him if he would be interested in getting both of them because I had two. I told him that maybe a family member would be interested in it or someone from his neighbourhood.

Anyways,

He was interested in getting both. Which was great so that I only needed to send one package to one person and that’s it.

He later asked me how he should transfer the money, PayPal or bank. At first, I was thinking about receiving the money over the bank but then I thought that this would take to long to get it plus the weekend was coming up. His first suggestion was PayPal so I went for PayPal as well and I thought that this would go faster.

Well, I was wrong!

Here is why Bitcoin is better than Paypal _ My Personal Experience3.png

He had sent me the money right away with no problem at all. Which was great because it showed me that I could trust him and I told him that I would send the package maybe on Friday but for sure on Saturday and that worked for him as well.

Then he sent me a screenshot showing that he transferred the money plus to show me his address. For some reason, I couldn’t see his message (address) at all and PayPal said that they would keep the money and release it after 30 days.

Here is why Bitcoin is better than Paypal _ My Personal Experience2.png

WHAT???

Why do they have the right to keep my money? Plus, they take a fee of nearly AU$6? For what?
What do they have to do that makes it so expensive? The guy who bought them is also from Australia.

Paypal said that I need to do 5 sales plus wait 30 days until I can get the money.

Here is why Bitcoin is better than Paypal _ My Personal Experience4.png

Come on, What the F***!!!

This needs to stop! Doesn’t matter if it’s a bank or PayPal. We should be able to have the control over our money and not the money that doesn’t exist just because we are only based on huge depths!

The paper money has already been gone for such a long time that no one has ‘’the real paper money". Everything is just based on lies.

Who can go to their bank and ask them if they could pull out $100.000 dollars at once?

Here is why Bitcoin is better than Paypal _ My Personal Experience1.png

My money is still on hold and I’m not able to get it so that’s why I wrote PayPal and asked why they are doing this and why the fee is so high.

Now I’m waiting to see if they are going to reply to my e-mail because I personally find that this isn’t ok at all!

Sort:  

Once you have a taste of monetary freedom, nothing else comes close.

Once you have a taste
Of monetary freedom,
Nothing else comes close.

                 - drutter


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

That's one of my best so far, thanks!

That really sucks that this happened. It can get difficult now even with crypto services like coinbase and putting your funds on hold. All these regulations and KYC/AML policies being enforced and ultimately, person to person makes it the fastest and convenient, but not the most trusting and secure way to do things but as long as it's with someone trustworthy you should be fine.

Anyway, I'm sure you'll get it sorted out. Just have to deal with their "customer service" and be patient.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17