I am CoinDaddy - Blockchain Entrepreneur by day and Crypto Rapper by night. I’ve been featured in The New York Times, Business Insider, and XXL Magazine. What the what!? Why!?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Hi Steemit!

What's up!! I met your founders back in December and they told me to get on this platform ASAP. Here we are now in May.

The past months have been absolutely insane! I've been featured in literally every publication against my will (at first -- I'll explain more below). The New York Times, Business Insider, CNBC, Bloomberg, StereoGum, The Daily Dot, The Daily Beast, GQ (I wish), and even my old college newspaper! But for what? What could be so important that all these prestigious and respected publications would want to write about me?

Crypto Rap.

What the what?

Here's how it all happened...

I originally was a trader in a public (they don't want me to dox them) Slack group when after a series of bad trades I found myself down in the dumps. I lose a whole Bitcoin and I felt as if I needed some cathartic release.

Enter Affirmations Vol. 1

I felt the only thing that could take my mind off of the loss was to make a meditation tape centered around being a good trader. Breath in...Bit. Breath out...Coin. "Be the bit." I posted it to my buddies in Slack and it was a hit. I rode the encouragement train and thought to myself "You know what, I need a name. Let's have some fun with this."

Instantly the name came to me like a moment of divine truth. Coin. Freaking. Daddy. I literally did a flip in my mind. It was perfect. CoinDaddy. Yes, I am seriously going to call myself CoinDaddy. I needed a logo. I ended up with this

Screen Shot 2018-05-11 at 11.14.44 PM.png

It was perfect.

I don't know what to tell you but when I stared at that banner I felt invigorated. Like Dragon Energy and Tiger Blood was flowing through my veins. I started cranking out tunes like a MADMAN.

The early days gave us great tunes such as:

Holding The Bag

I'm Bearish

Blood v. Crypto

It was around this time that I was performing in San Francisco when a reporter came up to me and said "I have to write about you." I said "Why?" And they said because you look like this."

14bitcoinmillionaires9-superJumbo.jpg

So that's how I got in The New York Times. I was officially CoinDaddy. God help us all. And you know what? I loved it.

Around this time I took another approach to making music. After Blood V. Crypto (which was all about the BTC Core vs S2X hard fork) I realized I enjoyed most talking about political/coin events that were happening. I also admitted to myself I enjoyed profiling all of the hilarious and fantastic characters that exist in Cryptoland.

Some of the people I have parodied are (in no paticular order): Tone Vays, Roger Veer (with 2 e's sic.), Novogratzz (sic.), Brian Armstrong, Jimmy Songs (sic.), Flibbr, Charlie Lee, and more. I loved profiling and highlighting these amazing people's inner motivations and play up their absurd characteristics, to my mind.

It really all cumulated in "Tethered (Tone Vays PT. II)" which is an EPIC, OPERATIC, stageplay, R Kelley Trapped In The Closet/Hamilton level production where our main character Tone Vays is determined to get to the bottom of the Tethered/Bitfinexed situation. If any of you were around at the time you were there and you will most certainly enjoy this!

Another big fan of CoinDaddy is Charlie Lee who was the unwitting subject of my song "Charlie." Which was a parody on Eminem's Stan in which a crazed bagholder (me) becomes increasingly devastated at the crashing price of Litecoin after Charlie sold all his coins. Singing the hook is the wonderful Tatiana Moroz.

Charlie loved the song and even posted it on his own Twitter
https://twitter.com/SatoshiLite/status/958945650594349056

Amongst other supporters are Max Keiser, Adam Back, Pete and Jon Najarian from CNBC, Tone Vays, the Whalepool community and you guys!

So what now? I just did the music for an upcoming CNBC Documentary called "Bitcoin: Boom or Bust" and will be performing at Consensus/Blockchain week coming up in NY. Be sure to catch me there.

I have no plans of stopping or slowing down and we're only getting started. You can expect much more great songs, music videos, content, and an overall maturing of the brand over this next year.

I encourage you all to checkout the youtube channel there are so many good songs I love but this post is getting long!
Bubble God, Straight Outta Coinbase, The Siphoning, and if you have thirty minutes to kill "MOON MAN." Which is...something.
https://www.youtube.com/coindaddy

You can find me on twitter: https://www.twitter.com/realcoindaddy
E-mail at [email protected]
and Telegram at @realcoindaddy

There's so much more I want to say but I don't want to test your patience. I'll answer comments and I'll leave you with this. My most cherished press. The cover of "COIN AFICIANADO"

coin aficianado.png

Cheers, be well, and let's keep on winning!

Best,

  • CoinDaddy
Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit realcoindaddy. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Congratulations @realcoindaddy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10