Still Looking for Bitcoin's Lost Rookie Cards!

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

You think baseball cards are dead? How Bitcoin's Rookie Card really added some spice to this years crop!

So for those that don't know Topps puts out a Set each year called Allen and Ginter: https://amzn.to/2EdFitb

This series started in 2006 and its has other sports and celebrities included each year, not just baseball. This makes for a fun pack opening experience.



Now someone at Topps had the great idea of doing a "Cryptocurrency" card celebrating the new tech and mentioning #bitcoin on the back of the card.

I saw this and reported on this first to the cryptocurrency community on twitter:


https://twitter.com/BitcoinPosse/status/1022224349946830848

Which in turn got reddit all fired up! Then every deep pocket crypto collector ran to ebay to buy up everything they could find. Driving the market sky high on the card and making baseball card collectors scratch their collective heads in curiosity.

Yeah that was me thank you!

Anyways I was able to buy some cards on the cheap before the millionaires got involved. I bought this card for $5 and then sold for $200.

Now mind you there are different variations of the same base card, hence why this one is mini and has a gold boarder.

There are still other variations to be found in hobby boxes. Like the 1/1 printing plates. They actually use the plates used to make the card and box them back up. Each is one of a kind but there is four colors. Black, Magenta, Blue and Yellow.

To my knowledge the Black, Yellow and Magenta have been spotted but the blue one is still either in a private collection or waiting for someone lucky to pull it out of a sealed pack!

Did I mention there is still cards out there easier to find?

This one is limited to 50.

There is still others out there to find. I've been buying boxes here and there with no luck. I know my odd's are astronomical to find the really rare one's but my passion for both crypto and card collecting has me hooked.

I hope in 2019 Topps does make an actual card for Bitcoin!

The bottom line, Crypto is here and turning even the mainstream card collecting world on its head.

Sort:  

Damn, I need to get me some packs 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

The base card is about $5 on ebay, these others are super hard to find. But best of luck man!

I love baseball cards! This is definitely an upvote from me. Great post.

Thanks! Glad you liked the post.

Dang you sure know your cards 🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, Im a big dork at heart.

I think we all have to have a little dork in us to be involved in crypto in the first place 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

I used to collect cards for many many years...boy this has me wanting to get back into it again!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79