The Relationship of Stock Market / FOREX / Cryptocurrency Trading to Gambling (and Life) | Part 1 of 3

in #bitcoin6 years ago

My Experience on Gambling


photo of me.jpg

Remember on my previous blog that I mentioned that I was a professional gambler? Yes, it was almost 4 years ago since I played and earned money through gambling.

And two days ago, a friend asked me some tips on how to be a good poker player. Nah, I never played poker since year 2014, but I do remembered that I created a note using Microsoft Word on one of my antique USB stick with poker tips on it. So I searched that USB stick for the file and shared it to him yesterday.

The file I found was dated December 24, 2011. This was Christmas season. Side story: I remembered that I went to work at that time, solo at the office because I had the obligation to hand cash to some construction workers for their 13th month pay. So while waiting at the office, I was bored and I am staring blankly at the monitor of my Pentium-2log (tulog) no-internet office computer.

On that day (bragging aside), I knew I had established myself having a reputation on being a good poker player, so I thought, hey, why not authored my own "how-to" poker guide based on my experience?

So my brain told my hand to just type and type instead of waiting for the workers. The irony is that: no one came. Weird. I guess no one wants money at that time. Haha.

Anyway, this is the screenshot of that file:

2018-05-04_00h27_57.png

Don't worry, you are not required to read all of these screenshots, especially if you don't know poker at all. But I tell you you might get some good insights here. Because not everything here is related to poker, but related to real life. I just wanted to share these. Because I created it year 2011, and only after 7 years later that I got the chance to share it.



The Relationship of Stock Market / FOREX / Cryptocurrency Trading to Gambling (and Life)

For this topic, I stick to discuss some stuff on my poker/gambling strategies and their relation with strategies with Stock Market / FOREX / Cryptocurrency trading (and also on life.)

poker 1.jpg


The Author. Blah blah. . . I wish I could turn back time never seek employment at all. Because for me, employment only fucked you up. There is true happiness if you follow your true passion and being wise (and establish a business because you are the boss which can earn you good money.) Kids nowadays chose office desk rather than for the love of passion and dreams.

Bonus tip: You wanna know what your true passion is? Your passion is the thing you will still do even there is no money involved. Money is just a secondary thing.


When I hosted house games, I bring in new players for current players to constantly enjoy and be challenged. I hired people who are always ready and happy to serve. My dealer, my runner, my cook. . . all of them are great. Even to those who I just invited did not play poker at all, they are also served foods and beers. No discrimination. They watched the game. But sure do, just after a couple of days they are now the ones who sits on the table playing.

Bottom line is, that's some marketing strategy.


Gambling. "Be a responsible gambler. Never get addicted to much too gambling." This advise is very sound that in everything we do we must balance our lives to other priorities.

And in gambling, trading, and life there is so much money involve. So be cautious. Money can be easily lost over stupid things. Money not lost is money earned. So don't do anything stupid.

You control the money.

"Do not play when you have too much stress." -Yep. Do not trade if you are in stress. Or do not do trading if you can't handle the heat at all. Because trading is stressful, you know, just try to watch the tick of the stock market ticker. Di di di dot dot. Same applied in crypto and FOREX. There's a lot of action every seconds. Focus. I remember, on COL Financial platform, I missed a golden opportunity just because I go to pee for a few seconds. (But don't hold your pee either. Haha. My advise is maybe you can buy an arinola or steal it from your lola. Haha)

The point is: be prepared when you are starting to trade. Have a good sleep, eat, and/or jogging to conditioned yourself before you start.

And don't play if it is your last money. Same applies in investment: invest money that is not your last money. You know what I mean. Because when you say investment, there is a risk that your money will be lost.


Bad Beat Immunity. Bad beat means: a subjective term for a hand in which a player with what appear to be strong cards nevertheless loses.

In stocks, FOREX, or crypto it can also be applied. When you bought on what appear to be a good buy, but eventually loses, that is a bad beat. It is just because you cannot control the outcome. But unlike in poker, you can hold (HODL) on the stocks you got. It's only paper loss. You can wait until the value rises.

But what I mean is that there is no stock broker or analyst that never loses money for a while on a trade. There is no one in this world that is perfect. Even if you're Michael Jordan, you still misses when you make shots.

Imagine if Michael Jordan will complain on every shot he missed?

On the other hand, for those of getting emotional at bad beats, it is just because they might not have this true confidence in them.

If you have this true confidence, then you know you can recoup on your loses with unwavering faith.

(. . .to be continued)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13