My Journey in Claiming Forks from a Hardware Wallet

in #bitcoin6 years ago


Another day, another bitcoin fork. If you are reading this, it probably means that you have btc, know what a fork is, and know btc has been forking a lot as of late. If you don't know those things but you've been hodling btc for a while, then you better figure it out because there is some free money on the table.

I got my BCASH, got my BGOLD easily through my Trezor because it split it for me, but I was disappointed that they were not supporting the vast majority of forks. There was Bitcoin Diamond, Bitcoin GOD, Super Bitcoin, BitcoinX, Bitcoin Plus, Lightning Bitcoin, etc. I ignored these thinking that they were all scam coins.

Then, I went to http://forkdrop.io

There were sooo many, and some of them actually were selling for some decent cash. I immediately went over to r/TREZOR to beg the devs to support these forks, but they were not interested. So after digging around, I found several resources to get my forks off my TREZOR.

Also, as far as I know, this should work for Ledger Nano users as well.

At the start of this process, I did, however, move all my btc to another wallet as not to compromise my main btc holdings. I highly suggest you do the same if you want to claim these forks.

Step one, follow this guide on bitcointalk forums (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1883902.msg24055376#msg24055376)

Step two, take the extracted addresses from the electrum wallet and search them for forked coins on http://findmycoin.ninja .

Step three, download the blockchains of the coins you want to claim the fork for. Perhaps you could find a bootstrap file of the btc blockchain before the snapshots to make the downloading of the chain go faster. From there, import your private keys into the wallet.

Last step, claim that stuff or dump that shit on an exchange.

So far I have claimed my BTCP and LBTC coins. The subreddit r/bitcoinairdrops is also a really good resource. Check it out.

Sort:  

You got a 1.41% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @troopaloop!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 4.74 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @troopaloop.

You got a 15.21% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @troopaloop! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99