Standing in this moment. Photo Fun Contest: Week 32: Black and White Photography.

in #blackandwhite5 years ago (edited)

Stacks.
Impermanent.
Standing in this moment.
Stones and crystals. A ‘Sacred Circle.’
Circle of Protection. Circle of Remembrance. ~Ally.

A few years ago after working with collage and mixed media using black and white photocopies from magazines and books, I went back to art school to study photography so that I could continue working with collage. Only now using my own imagery. Thus began my love affair with black and white photography and my Nikon FG ~ Which although still functional, is in retirement as I no longer have access to a dark room.

Recently at Steemit I came across the Photo Fun Contest conducted by @claudiaz. I was really attracted to the energy of this contest and decided to participate in it.

The theme for this week is Black and White Photography and although I'd love to share some of my pre-digital images, I've chosen instead to convert one of my colour photographs to black and white.


Original-1000.jpg

Forget all the old and sprinkle in the new.
~Alex Myles.


This arrangement was the third stage of Remembrance: where I created a special 'Sacred Circle' for Remembrance Day. November 11, 2018. 11:11:11. With a vision towards embracing the future.

I liked the simplicity of the two circles of rock stacks before other crystals, stones, spiraling shells, flowers and ceramic dishes were added to the arrangement.

Which is the reason why I selected this photograph, above all the other images of the different stages, to transform into black and white for the Photo Fun Contest: Black and White Photography.

I loved the soft shadows that natural light gave the image in the original colour version of the ‘Sacred Circle’ and I was curious to see if this softness could be maintained, while giving just a little more definition to the stones, rocks and crystals.


The creation of Remembrance.

To see all the stages of the creation of Remembrance: as well as an explanation of the spiritual and numerological significance of 11:11 and some details about 'Remembrance Day in Australia' and the origin of the 'One Minute of Silence' please visit Remembrance.


ORIGINAL.1000.DKer-3023.jpg

Let go of the picture you have created
Allow the story to unfold
Without force.

~Alex Myles.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:
 

Creative Commons License

All photographs by Alison Lee Cousland in this article are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate these images even for your commercial purposes.
  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.
  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of these images, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png


Posted from Earth ♥︎ Sand ♥︎ Water ♥︎ Ice with SteemPress : http://www.allyinspirit.info/2018/12/05/standing-in-this-moment-photo-fun-contest-week-32-black-and-white-photography/

Sort:  

Your spiral collage feels so serene to me. I love the rose quartz and the river rocks together. Nature connecting to the heart to raise us higher is what this feels to me. So beautiful Ally.

I love how you have connected the white river rocks with the rose quartz and added more inspired thought to this piece. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

I think that the first photo in black and white stimolates out mind and fantasy like a question and the other one is the solution with colours.
It is great!
Nice photo and nice post too!
STEEM ON!

Posted using Partiko Android

So pleased you liked the whole post as well as the b&w entry @moncia90. I deliberately tried not to over-explain what the image was this time, so it's great that perhaps it made you wonder what it was. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Yes, It was!
** Have a nice day and Steem on!**

Posted using Partiko Android

lovely photo, I like the creativity of it. Thanks @allyinspirit

Thanks so much @claudiaz. It's wonderful to have finally joined your Photo Fun Contest. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

I love the magical wishes......@allyinspirit

I love how black and white and colour tell such different stories... And it is even more evident here. The first is a lil more sombre even in its simplicity... the second is just so sweet ~ what a wonderful Remembrance...

They really do give us quite different stories, it's true @ackhoo.

Often I find black and white photography needs to be highly contrasted to be effective. But I also love 'dark within dark' and white within white' effects. I loved the soft blues and pinks in the colour version and how this softness was maintained in the black and white version. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

You're right! B&W looks wonderful with high contrasts... I often try light fade-to-white shots, but seldom use them - I wonder why... :) The pastels came out beautifully here in B&W


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much @c-squared. Always feel really grateful when my work is shared in the Curation Collective Discord community. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80