Blizzard drops the "M" bomb

in #blizzard5 years ago


Blizzard announced what they've planned for the new Diablo at Blizzcon last night and things have quickly taken a bad turn. The new game titled "Diablo Immortal" has been awaited for quite some time from fans all over the world who fell in love with Diablo and D2, waited over a decade for Diablo 3 and have been very excited for a remastered version or a new game. Yet what they did get was something pretty much no fan had asked for.

Diablo Immortal will only be playable on mobile devices.

Here is the official trailer to Diablo Immortal, even though the cinematic trailer looks great, the fans have shown their dissatisfaction considering the like/dislike ratio:

Here's a video of Wyett Cheng, Principal Designer at Diablo going through the announcement with people's reactions to it, some questions asked by the audience and a streamer on Twitch who plays Diablo 3 religiously.

As you could hear by the booing at the second question, people do not like that there is not a PC version coming out or another game for the PC at all. Remember that this happened at BlizzCon. The hosts being astounded by the reaction ask them "Do you not have phones?" to which a Redditor had a beautiful analogy "You don't wanna do anal? Do you not have an asshole?".

Users over Reddit are claiming this to be a quick cash grab for Activision who owns Diablo, World of Warcraft and now even Call of Duty. Some even accusing that the game is just a re-skin of a re-skin of the game called Kung Fu Panda 3 on Android and that the company hasn't put any effort into the mobile game and that this is just an attempt to get into the microtransaction business to milk the players even more and increase the userbase.

Here is a video of the gameplay of Kung Fu Panda 3 and next to it of Diablo 3 Immortal, you be the judge.

People are so disappointed and I hope Blizzard realizes that they should listen more to what their player base want, not just follow the trend of leeching as much value as possible. This is nothing new from the company, though, after countless of putting people out of jobs in the company, evading taxes through the Netherlands, they are nearing their death sooner rather than later. This is maybe a story for another post.

Another thing that is making me look forward to blockchain based games that don't only cater to the owners and investors, but to the players as well. Imagine if you weren't able to sell your #steemmonsters cards and the platform would constantly ask you for Steem to play certain matches.

Oh well, they had a good run.

#NoKingRulesForever

Image Source


Sort:  

Yes... when I saw the video from Blizzcon I wanted to cry.. I have been a hardcore player back on DIablo2.. when Diablo 3 came out I was sceptical since the whole atmosphere from D2 was gone, but I gave it a try and surprisingly i loved it, so I have spent over hundred of hours playing it. Waiting for the new diablo to come out even if it was a remastered version was my dream.. only to get these news.
I am utterly disappointed with Blizzard. They are just trying to appear to the mass, in the progress of which they just got rid of their true fans.
For sure this will be very popular in China and Blizzard will make tons of money out of it.

We didn't even get the rumored d2 remaster and instead we got a Warcraft 3 reforged lol

I was expecting much more out of this blizzcon, the only blizzard ip right now with real energy left is Overwatch... the lack of applauses and enthusiasm was palpable on every other stage...

Blizzard just killed all my Diablo dreams in one swift move yesterday... I even wrote a post complaining about blizzcon in general...

Hopefully next year is different and we will see the impact of the new blizzard leadership, not blaming this at all on Morhaime but it feels like there's burn out and all their games need fresh leadership except Overwatch... and Diablo... pls Wyatt... nothing against the guy but they just kicked Diablo into the thrash bin for the next decade... again...

Hopefully that netflix series rumor is real and we can have that... but for now as soon as I get back my computer, when I get the ich to play arpgs path of exile will have to do.

Really looking forward to playing with Ashe and B.O.B. lol

Im sure glad I didn't pay $50 now to have my virtual ticket lol

Such a disappointment, a lot of people paid the 50$ just for wow classic...

That video compilation brought back memories of Sony's infamous showing at E3 2006 and this magnificient edit:

Seriously, though, the cringe factor of this presentation is overwhelming. I actually feel bad for the guy. I can't tell whether he knew what was going to happen and was trying to power through it, or if he was legitimately flabbergasted at the response.

Either way...

Blockchain based gaming will be interesting because you will actually own your assets for the first time. You took the time to mine millions of gold in game and want to sell it for steem, no problem!

Diablo Immortal will only be playable on mobile devices.
they fucked up.. rly

WoW Mobile :soon:

I wouldn't mind WoW Mobile but this is absolute bullshit. Activision about to get the same treatment that EA got from Battlefront controversy and rightly so.

haha wow mobile XD it even sounds retarded

Android, ios, tablets and Nintendo Switch. "yey!"

Gameboy is coming back! Beware dragons hahaaha

LOL, that poor guy, but seriously this is why your poll your customers first and get a feel for your market before you make such a drastic jump. Shit I booed them myself sitting right here wtf where they thinking!

He needs to be replaced, he's on the team since the beginning and has done nothing to improve the franchise...

I miss Josh Mosquiera.

ahahahah 2:55 min in the video hahaha says it all :D Well, now you can be connected via your mobile with your family and slay the dragooooons, woohooooo, so exciting xD #rip

First time I hear booing at a blizzcon lol

Good news!

I think Blizzard made a pretty poor decision this time.Based on the capabilities a personal computer offers and the amount of gamers using personal computers or laptops for their favourite games over other consoles,Blizzard is going to lose a lot of customers.Blizzard was probably trying to force people into buying consoles that are compatible with Diablo 3 which is kind of an extortion.

Blizzard has started to disappoint me long long ago with the Diablo series.

First with Diablo II. As I was a total fan of the first opus, the second one lost most of the things I really enjoyed in Diablo I (the randomness of the quests for instance). This being said, I had thousands of gameplay hours with my team at that time (yes, I was not born as a physicist and was a child before it ;) ) and the game offered me a lot of good moments.

I cannot say the same with Diablo III. After 2 weeks, I was fed up and stopped playing it. I haven't played any video game since then (for the record, I got children instead, which is the main reason :p).

And now this new Diablo Immortal not even playable on a big comfortable screen and with a mouse/keyboard combination? Bah, I won't even try (I have very little free time and I won't allocate the few moments I have to this).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87