Journey from python developer to Blockchain developer

in #blockchain6 years ago

Hi
I'm Chirag Maliwal, I'm 21 and I'm taking part in web 3.0 revolution as a developer. ;)

Before

I was normal software developer in an IT company. When my project end, I got great opportunity.

Choice between continuing python dev career or reskilling into ethereum blockchain. Before this moment, I was talking with some 'blockchain guys' and reading some articles from various sources.

I could write about reasons of my choice, but it's obvious.

Start

I started full time reskilling my blockchain knowledge and watched some vedios and read some articles.
It gave me some overview how blockchain works. Why it's immutable etc.

Afair, next step was some Ethereum development part. I purchased two books from packtpub

  1. Ethereum smart contract development
  2. Building blockchain project
    I completed (or maybe almost completed :P), it was cool.

During

later, my mentor has send me article about Ethereum Virtual Machine (EVM). It was first article in serie 'Diving Into The Ethereum VM' (ofc link : https://blog.qtum.org/diving-into-the-ethereum-vm-6e8d5d2f3c30).

After

3-4 weeks(?) full time + still learning in spare time I was able to:

Write some Ethereum smart contracts in Solidity
Test contracts
Develop basic dapps (app ==> dapp - decentralized application) using truffle
Run own Ethereum node connected to network, running private blockchain, mining.
Deploy contracts on test/main net
Create own ERC20 token (ERC20 is the most popular token interface, token type), even with some ICO.

Generally frontend of distributed application is build with the same stack as 'normal' app. The Difference is backend connection. Instead of making e.g. REST requests to some servers, it connect with blockchain node. Connection is provided by web3 provider which connects with local running node (localhost:port) or totally external public node (www.some-node.com). Truffle framework makes interaction with smart contract easier. Truffle also can be used in testing. For me, the best way to test smart contracts is to write tests in JavaScript (even better, TypeScript) and interact with contracts by Truffle framework.

Prerequisites

I'm programmer for a 1.5 years. Before I started learning blockchain, I already have some stuff done.

Web application programming.
Chrome extension development
Basics frontend skills, basics JS es6+, TS, node.js environment.

Currently
When I hang out with my friends, even non-technical, I'm trying to educate them. Ofc I'm also trying to not be a nerd or something like this, but my friends should know that bitcoin is more than magic cryptocurrency used to buying drugs and paying for murders XD I'm glad, when some of them ask me after all about this.

It sounds pompous but It's revolution, I'm taking a part in this revolution and I’m fucking proud about this.

Motivation is to give example how to get started with dapps development. Ofc it’s only my example, not the best way ever to become blockchain god :)

Sort:  

Welcome, Mr. Maliwal. Interesting article! i definitely will check out those books you mentioned! I wish you good luck! Hope we see some cool new Blockchain tech. from you soon :)

sure ! @mrf
I have e-book of both the book which I mentioned .
If you want to read please share your email address , I will mail you.

Hey that is super nice of you! if you want you can send it to [email protected] i would be super happy!

I have sent you please check you inbox.

Awesome! Thank you very much I appreciate it!!! Looking forward to see more great content. Have a nice day :)

@chiragmaliwal, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Thanks !! I will take care of my behavior.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88