Introduction to Digital Currencies - MOOC 9 By University of Nicosia

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

I have just completed the first course of the Master in Digital Currencies, offered by the University of Nicosia and I am so excited that I need to share it with people who wish to dig deeper into the Crypto Currency World.


In this post I will write about:

  • What this Course is about and what it includes
  • How someone can enroll and study
  • How many courses there are and what they include
  • A few tips
  • My suggestions
  • Information about enrolling & contact information

In my next post (hopefully) I will write how I was introduced to this course and the reasons I recommend it to everyone!


Welcome to my Overview of the MOOC


20171017_124326.jpg

About This Course


The Introduction to digital Currencies is the first MOOC included in the Master in Digital Currency. It is offered free & 100% online by the University of Nicosia.

The Course aims to provide a complete but introductory understanding in Digital Currencies, from their birth (with the beginning of Bitcoin) to this date.
There are technical information about the problems that the Blockchain - Bitcoin came to solve, explains in detail how the block chain works and finally dives into the digital currencies' financial (and not only) effects in society itself.

123.jpg

What does the Course include


12 different courses corresponding to 12 weeks are included in the Course.

In every course, the student will find:

  1. A (very well presented) pdf slide (avg pages 50)
  2. A quiz for the topic (multiple questions)
  3. A forum for the topic (or general forum)
  4. Live Sessions once a week by Mr Polemitis or Mr Antonopoulos

    You can see previous sessions here: https://www.youtube.com/user/MScDigitalCurrency/playlists

123.jpg

Topics Included


  • A brief history of money

  • The Byzantine Generals' Problem

  • Basics of Cryptocurrency

  • Bitcoin in Practice I & II

  • Alternative uses of the blockchain

  • Alternatives to Bitcoin

  • Cryptocurrency & Central Banking

  • Digital Currency and Financial Institutions

  • Regulatory and Tax Treatment

  • Digital Currencies and Innovation

  • Digital Currency and the Developing World

123.jpg

How someone can enroll and study


I am sure you are wondering .. so let's go .. straight to the point

The new MOOC starts in Fall 2018

All you have to do to enroll is go to > https://digitalcurrency.unic.ac.cy/

You will be using a Moodle Platform, which is very user friendly.

123.jpg

A few Tips for Students (to be)


I made the mistake and did not study (due to excessive work load) for a couple of weeks so it was a bit difficult to catch up at the end

  • Do not miss study weeks
  • Do not miss Live Sessions
  • Do follow some of the 'further reading links'
  • Pay attention to the quizze's replies
  • Enjoy!

123.jpg

My Suggestions - Course Outline

This was a very thorough and complete Introduction into the World of Digital Currencies. The slides were easy to read, concise, straight to the point, well written and with many links to further reading for the ones wanting to dig deeper.

However, I believe one thing was missing (as information or even as a topic). Social Media and the BlockChain. I believe that social media platforms that are built on block chains and reward their users in crypto-currency should be included (steemit as the first one but also others such as Lit, Sola etc etc)

I have even mentioned this in my post-Mooc survey and included it in an email to one of the Professors of the University of Nicosia..

If there is an evolvement regarding this subject, I will let you know :)

I would also be interested in learning more about Personal Data Protection (or even GDPR) and the block chain.

What do you think?

123.jpg

Information about Enrolling & Contact Information

Link to Enroll
MSc in Digital Currency
Master on Twitter

Thank You very much for reading, I will be looking forward for your feedback and thoughts!

For historical purposes here is the post I had authored 5 months ago :)

Sort:  

Ah. Thank you for the info. The last time I joined a university-based course, I can't complete the periodical schedule. I think I will have better luck in a bulk-one-go study material. But, let's try this one. Hopefully, I can finish this one. :)

Even if you do not finish it, you will have gained knowledge :)
Thanks for stopping by!!

That sounds pretty neat! Digital currencies will certainly become even more important in the future, and there's only so much you can learn by yourself. And especially Steem has a potential that should not be ignored, especially not by an University that provides a degree like this.

My thoughts exactly!
We should also mention that the University of Nicosia was the first one to accept payments in Bitcoin, issue certificates verified by the block chain, offer a Digital Currency Degree and so much more.
If we are talking about Innovation in Education, then Uni of Nicosia is one for sure!

1236655.jpg

Image source - University of Nicosia Website

This is an interesting program and i will join this fall.

Thank you for reading!
I will be looking forward for your feedback : )

Oh wow, a Master in Digital currency. The world keeps moving faster and faster.

Congratulations dear Katerina. Και εις ανώτερα :)))))))))))

Also thank you for the valuable information. It's very much appreciated!

Thanks for sharing. I started the course too!

Great! I will be looking forward for your feedback very soon :)

Wow - Excellent article!

I am interested to this course.But this time i am so busy.
Its a very good initiative.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19