Prosperist XLIX: Of Blockchains & DLTs

in #blockchain5 years ago (edited)

Strange are the ways of evolution of words, terminologies, languages and of course generations.

Hey, what’s in a name? That which we call a blockchain, by any other name would still be a DLT.

Source

A previous post tracked and compared generations of computers with generations of blockchain.

Chinese checkers isn’t a form of checkers, nor is it from China. It was invented in Germany in 1892.

The football that Americans play is neither a round ball, nor exclusive played with foot, but the game is still called “football.” And, what used to be a perfect ball kicked with a foot is now “soccer.”

Do you think Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3, 4, 5…) came from the Arabian Peninsula? No, they originated in India.

And, conventional wisdom would have Koala Bear as bear, but they are marsupials, not bears.

Wouldn’t you think fireflies were flies? Wrong again, they are beetles and not flies.

And, how about the Starfish? Isn’t it a fish? Not a chance. It’s an echinoderm.

Is European Union in Europe? No, it isn’t exclusively European — it actually spans across 5 continents.

The list of misnomers that convention entrenched in our vocabulary is long. They are so deeply ingrained in our lives that we will be lost calling Starfish, an Asteroidea, or calling Koala Bear, a Phascolarctos cinereus. So shouldn't we let the convention prevail?

Even courts have little problem letting conventional vocabulary be construed by the meaning or substance it conveyed rather the form it represented. The substance over form doctrine arose from the Supreme Court case Gregory v. Helvering, 293 U.S. 465 (1935), and is still a good law.

So, as Shakespeare would have it:

What’s in a name? That which we call a blockchain, by any other name would still be a DLT.

We rather let the convention evolve. Only time will tell if blockhain becomes another starfish that isn’t a fish at all, or a DLT comes along that isn’t a blockchain at all and remains a DLT not becoming a blockchain.

Reference:

  1. 28 Misleading Misnomers Explained
  2. Gregory v. Helvering, 293 U.S. 465 (1935)

Prosperist Pledge:

If you wish to pledge support to the Prosperism movement, the terms remain the same as previous posts, with the following pledge:

“I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01”.

Thank you for your continued support.

Cheers :)

This article was first published on Medium

Sort:  

“I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01”.

hii @sharonomics funds transfered to @prosperist right now, so plz update the record.thnx

“I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01”.

I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01

I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01

“I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01”.

“I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01”.

I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01

“I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01”.

“I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01”.

I pledge to share my SBD+Steem reward from this post with @prosperist to earn Xteem tokens @ 1 Xteem token / $0.01

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73