Why You Should PAY ME to DO NOTHING in Front of a Webcam

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

“Don’t just do something, stand there.” -Rumi


It recently occurred to me that forcing myself to sit in silence for 8 hours a day would probably cure most of my mental and emotional problems. I most likely will not do this anytime soon because I am a full time student; but I do believe that quiet sitting for long periods is important for living well.

For some reason, this got me wondering. What if there was a website that payed people to sit in front of a webcam for a predetermined amount of time and do nothing in particular?

Not only could this be entertaining, but it could catalyze personal growth for people who are stuck in life, have no job, suffer from mental illness, etc. It could also provide a basis for clinical research, see what makes people tick, see what helps people reach their full potential. This could also teach the subjects how to overcome fear and anxiety, since they will be forced to sit and accept that the world won’t explode if they put life on hold for a few hours. I don’t know about you, but much of my inner turmoil comes from my inability to accept the things I cannot change in the world and in myself.

Do we not already put life on hold for eight hours a day under the sole assumption that we will be okay if we get enough money? If yes, then what difference will it make if I am doing “nothing” or “something” for those eight hours? For most people, it is a coincidence that they build skills and relationships while making money; however, one can also improve themselves outside of work, provided they have the time and money to do so.

To shake things up a bit and provide ad revenue to pay the subjects for their time, the platform could also pay people to monitor a stream and give feedback to a program that manages the if/then payment contracts (i.e. if the subject uses drugs, they will not be paid for the time they are high). Of course this would have some limits. It would be in the administration’s best interest to outline acceptable activity under their terms of agreement (i.e. terms of payment).

For instance, the admin might set limits on sexual activity, eating, drinking, drug use, computer and smartphone use, music, others in the room, talking, dancing, walking etc. The rules would limit most activity to promote quiet stillness. If the subject breaches these terms, the monitors will be responsible for flagging time not spent in quiet stillness, and they will receive no money for that time. They are only paid for as long as they sit in silence.

Let me know what you think. Poke holes in it.

-Nikolai

Sort:  

Nice idea, it would certainly encourage people to sit down without distraction for a while. Maybe they would feel the gift of silence if they sit there - just to be in the present moment.
But if people just sit there playing a role for money, it's not the same as sitting in silence. The effect of this experiment really depends on your intention :-)

You're right, there are always people who will look to misuse and abuse things. I think most people simply do not have the motivation or commitment to sit for long enough periods to unlock deep insights, myself included. If I got paid as well as I get for manual labor, I would gladly sit. I think simply removing myself from technology and constant stimulation would set the stage for fruitful stillness. I just have a really hard time doing that without accountability or camaraderie.

It sounds like getting paid to meditate.

basically yes. I didn't want to use that word.

seems like a wild social experiment ... I'm in :)

I dunno... sounds really wierd to me lol. Good luck on your experiment!

@smartbot tip 1

Your post has been resteemed. Thanks for using my resteem service
Get more rewards in my discord server

Σ$$$ Tipped @tidnull Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.022 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.02 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit @smartcash.

Congratulations @tidnull! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been tweeted to 2000 followers. See it on twitter
Your post has been shared with 2000 facebook members. See it in facebook group

Congratulations @tidnull! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello tidnull, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78