INVESTING TIME UNTIL MONEY COMES

in #blockchain5 years ago

The crypto community is virtual maze of alleyways, deadends, fenced off estates, abandoned goat paths, overgrown pavements, hamlets, cities and every other nifty thing that makes a country or a world. Trying to navigate this maze is something I have been doing carefully.


photo-1506452819137-0422416856b8.jpeg
Unsplash: Kelvin Ku


If a man with money says I am navigating a business with care, it would make sense, wouldn't it? After all money cannot be wasted on nonsense. But when a man who is broke says he is navigating a business or a business idea with care, people would look at him oddly. Well I am not investing my money but I am investing something more valuable and precious; I am investing time.

Time is a commodity that human beings do not have infinite reserves of. The government can print unending supplies of money to beat inflation and stabilize economy but human beings cannot live forever, at least not yet. Some scientists lay claim to have discovered a way to extend life by working on the human DNA and regrowing some part (I forget the name now) that has to do with aging. I wish them all the success and the future generation might look on death as a myth but I don't have that luxury.

So, back to crypto investing. I have to be careful with how I invest my time because not every project in the blockchain space or cryptosphere is worth the time or money. For those who have the money, they can make it again if they lose it in a project but I can't take back the time I lost on a project that fails. This is why I have to be careful.

Entering crypto through steemit enabled me in a bigger way than any other noob. I got the opportunity to listen to those behind the engine wheel of the crypto space. Their opinions on what was viable and what wasn't enabled me to grasp at what the crypto space was all about. I not only got news, I got analysis and it has helped me build my knowledge of this world that I am seeking to make my home.

Over time, I have carefully stepped into other projects, aiming to get into each and every viable pie out there and there are some that have shown me that they have a potential for growth while there are others whose purpose I am yet to define. Because I have not been investing fiat but investing time, it would seem as if I have not lost anything in the little immersions I have made into other blockchain projects but if I consider what I could have used the time lost, I could weep.

Recently, I decided to get into trading coins on the Binance exchange. I was finally tired of wasting time. It was time to put my money where my mouth is. To make this happen, I powered down some steem and added some steem rewards sitting there in my wallet and moved them to binance. I have been trading for weeks now and I have managed to make half of my capital back as profit in steem. Which is to say instead of 50 steem, I now have 75 steem in my binance trading wallet. What that translates to in cash depends on the price of steem whenever I decide to sell which definitely not now.

Oh I have lost along the way too. I have bitten my nails to the quick watching a candle dip when i was expecting it to rise. I have gone to bed happy at a buy made only to wake up to a sell that I cannot make. Trading is not for the fainthearted. In the wake of Doge listing on Binance, I got in on a BNB/Doge pair. It was good until it went south and I was left with Doge coins that I could not sell. It took two days for the right market to come for me to get it out. I fled I tell you. Stronger minds than me will hodl until another wave comes but I am still carefully treading these paths, I tell you.

As the steem chain expands, more viable opportunities to invest time and money are opening for all. From Steemmonsters to palnet.io, steemleo.com, Dtube, steemengine and the wonders that would be SMT, much is being made available for everybody and this is just for steem. What about others chains, other projects, other investment opportunities still nestling in the back of someone's mind? A time is on hand when our time will be worth as much as ideas and skill. Are you using your time well?

My investment will take time to mature because my time determines my returns and I am only one man but a time will come when I too would dare to put my money where my mouth is again and you will see. Good morning.

Sort:  

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.020 which ranks you at #3584 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 17 places in the last three days (old rank 3567).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #149.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85