Blockchain Memory Project - Women in my life - The salt of the earth

in #blockchainmemoryproject6 years ago (edited)

Dare I make this statement?
Women are the salt of the earth!

Today I will be adding memories of some of the women who have touched my life over the years using @ericvancewalton's #blockchainmemoryproject.

Why did I make that statement - Women are the salt of the earth?

I will speak from my perspective but would love to hear your comments about your experiences.

I think most of you will agree with me that food without salt has no taste - just so when it comes to woman who makes the house into a home, not so?

They are the ones who carry us for nine months and nurture us till we're strong enough. These are the people who have the biggest influence in what kind of person we may become one day. With the right direction a mother can help her child become the best version of themselves.

My mother certainly has been the biggest influence in my life - tiny, strong, determined to make a difference despite hardships at a young age, always seeing the silver lining even though she has faced many huge tragedies; her sense of humour helping her see the funny side of life.
I will tell you more about Mom Lily's fascinating life next time.

Lily Glenmore Beach.jpg
Sitting in her favourite spot - on the rocks at Leisure Bay.

Then there were my aunts - I was lucky, I had three aunts who all fullfilled their roles in making my life so exciting - aunt Babs would sew the most beautiful dresses for me.
Aunt Babie and her husband owned a coffee shop cum restaurant called The Percolator and gave me a job as a waitress when I was in high school; our uniform was hot pants and long white lace up boots, the height of fashion in those days ;) This was my very first job where I learned a lot and where my aunt became my confidante!
Aunt Marie was the youngest and would praise my piano playing, so of course I had to practice every day not to let her down! We'd listen to her classical LP's every night, imagining we were in a big concert hall somewhere exciting.

Sadly two of these aunts lives ended horribly - one got Alzheimers and the other a brain tumour.
Aunt Marie is still going strong and nursed my mom to better health after brain surgery - she had a shunt inserted as a benign tumour was discovered. These two women really are the salt of the earth today still, Mom Lily will be 87 in September!

LilyMarieLiz.jpg

Then there was my best friend Melanie who I still see today. Melanie also faced some difficulties; her husband loved alcohol more so lost his wife, yet Mel got on with life.

My friend Jean who was widowed at a very young age and brought up three children on her own; did her own repairing around the house, still managed to travel the world but then a brain aneurysm cut her life short at 42, a huge shock!

I can go on and on, and as today is Women's Day in South Africa, a public holiday at that, I would like to tell you a little about an amazing group of women I had the pleasure of seeing recently.

They are The TAFTA Revellers (The Association of the Aged), a group of elderly women who dance to raise funds for charity, mostly for the aged, yet they are the elderly themselves, ages ranging from around 70 to 86!
I was quite dubious, wondering how these old gals were going to entertain, but that they certainly did!

IMG_20180729_145507.jpg

They even do belly dancing!

IMG_20180729_135620.jpg

So never think you're over the hill, you can still do something with your life by adding a pinch of salt!

Do you have any stories to tell about the women in your lives, the ones you see as the salt of the earth? Hope there were many such women who touched your lives!

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

How lovely, and although some of those wonderful women died of unpleasant illnesses, their lives show the importance of making the most of each precious day, for yourself and for those around you. We're all ultimately going to the same place, and while we don't have any choice over that, we do have a choice in how we live our lives, and these women chose well :)

Very true @natubat, we really don't know what the day of tomorrow may bring hey so we really have to make the most of it! Thanks for your support :)

Lovely tribute to women in your life @lizelle

There are two women right here that had a majorly positive impact on my life. That would be you and oumama :)
Women are indeed the salt of the earth.

Ah thank you @therneau & we're both very proud of you!

My friend how are you? very beautiful story I am honored to be a woman, the photo of the aunt, the grandmother and you three are very beautiful

Thank you for this tribute to the woman and the most important women in your life, thank you for telling me a little about them, give grandmother a lot of greetings and tell her that she is very beautiful

Thank you so much @jennimorillo, will tell mom! You are a very special strong lady too, I'm amazed at your cooking despite the difficulties you face in Venezuela!

Loved the post @lizelle! I've had many women in my life who have left a positive impact. First and foremost is my Mom. She's taught me kindness and patience. We had an elderly neighbor growing up who taught me all about the places she traveled to around the globe. I can thank her for my travel bug. She also taught be to play the piano at age 5.

We've both been blessed having such special mothers! Coincidentally, my piano teacher also was our neighbour! Thank you for #blockchainmemory :)

Beautiful to read about how you had so many amazing and strong woman in your life to guide you.

Thank you @jusipassetti, i was truly blessed!

This is such a heart-warming story, Lizelle! Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories with us!

Thank you for stopping by, glad you enjoyed it @dswigle. It's great recalling all those memories :)

This was a nice read. It made me think about my female models that shaped me. Thank you.

Beautiful post @lizelle, it is wonderful to hear about the female hero's who have supported and influenced you throughout your life. You are so fortunate. I do agree, women ARE the salt of the earth!

As an example we have you warrior woman, you work, you attend your family and besides that you take time to be in steemit, congratulations on the day of the woman, very true women are the salt of life, since we were created by God, he knew that we would take the reins in all creation, in my next life I ask to become a woman again. Dear, receive a big hug and congratulate those good dancers have the young spirit and that is the attitude, greetings lizelle

Thank you so very much @perlanacarada! You're so very right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87