Blockchan?

in #blockchan6 years ago (edited)

After Steemit.com, Busy.org, Steepshot and Others...

...here come @blockchan.

I just noticed them appearing on steemprojects.com this morning. I was curious so I looked deeper into it. It seems to be a new front-end developed by Nio Pomilia as the CEO. The only information I was able to find about him was that he is a

"Sicilian-American entrepreneur, forex trader, and innovator, with sufficient experience in the social media and blockchain space."

Encouragement

I love seeing new apps coming online on the steem blockchain and I think that we have a particularly bright future when we can see all those projects actually going live and doing real stuff...rather than pie in the sky ICOs on Ethereum.

@Blockchan - How are they different?

blockchan

We have yet to see that. Their app or app preview is not ready yet and the description of the project is so generic that it's difficult to see how it is going to differentiate itself from the already existing steem front-ends. (See all steem front-end projects here) Even their logo seems to emulate steemit.com brand colors.


WHAT IS BLOCKCHAN?

Blockchan is a new, upcoming, revolutionary—and decentralized—social media platform innovation, built on blockchain technology. To be more specific, our platform is built on the Steem (STEEM) blockchain.


They may have done a better pre-launch by simply having a "Coming Soon" page with a newsletter sign-in form. Because all I see right now is a half-baked website with bad sales copy.

We shall see...

This project seems to be very new and we have to give everyone a chance to prove themselves. To give them credit, they haven't been making promises and hyping their project to get upvote ahead of product release. They plan, I think, to launch on April 1st of this year. From there we will be able to see what @blockchan got going for it. So it might be a good idea for everyone to tune in and follow @blockchan to catch the announcement when it comes out.

My opinion is that it is going to be difficult for them to attract a solid userbase if they don't completely differentiate themselves from the already established competition of steemit.com, busy.org or steepshot.io. They have to come up with a new way to interact with the steem blockchain that makes people excited and engaged. I hope to be happily surprised.

Sort:  

small icon blockchan.png

Hey, @cryptoctopus and all other Steem blockchain users!

We're happy to hear all of the great feedback and various opinions about @Blockchan, directly from the Steem community. More specific details about social features, the Blockchan mobile app—and more—are soon to be released.

If you'd like to learn more, be sure to stay tuned for upcoming updates at https://www.blockchan.com/news or follow us @Blockchan

I am also very curious how Blockchan is going to develop and how people will see it. If it dosen't really have other functions, features and other things which make it attractive to potential users, it could be difficult to convince Steemit users to use Blockchan as they won't really see a reason in doing so.
But if Blockchan manages to create some unique value to the Steem community, I am excited to meet and discover another Steem blockchain based app! :)

I am so super excited how this community and blockchain will be like in 5 years! There are so many amazing projects, apps and bloggers! And there are following more and more everyday! This is only the beginning of the Steem blockchain and it's already so versatile and wonderful! :)

I'll follow @blockchan as I am really curious to see what direction it will take and which value it will give to our amazing community! :)

Thank you for introducing @blockchan to us! :)

Best wishes!

With the name "Blockchan" it makes me interested to know more if it is an attempt to emulate 4chan and similar websites on the Steem blockchain, Could be interesting.

At first I thought he only did a typo and meant blockchain

I see opportunity here. There are still a lot of issues with steemit.com, busy.org .
Let's see if they will be able to provide anything better

At first I thought it was about 4chan on the blockchain.

That would be cool

Good post ,,, good luck always and useful for all of us

The more front-ends we have, I believe the better the steemit community gets. It's good to have such an innovation. Good job to the developers while we still watching see what exactly they are up to and what improvements their platform brings.

Not sure about the name - Blockchan. Any insight into why they chose this name? I quickly glanced over it and read "blockchain", maybe that was the intention, but otherwise it just sounds like a Chinese-knockoff.

That was a very measured review Madam or Sir ! LIke you say, it's going to need something exciting and different but I can't personally imagine how that could be so. There are a million improvements to be made on the Steemit front end but I think Steem inc seem to be leaving it to independant developers to move the social media side apps forward, with mixed results, but all I can say about blockchan is that it will need to give the user a professional top end experience, possibly an integration of the parts of the Steemit experience.
Just something else to wait for, but my breath won't be too baited !
I need things NOW...Im 51 for gods sake, I cant wait for ever!!

Yes great reply us 50+ want it now.

If you're not a millennial, you're nothing in this world anymore..we're on the scrapheap my friend lol ;-)

@cryptoctopus I am glad that more platforms are being built on this blockchain. This will increase user interaction and consequently increase value.
First off, the name is quite intriguing. I hope the project itself is.
I literally sat to think of what they could offer to the steem blockchain, even did a little googling. Nothing came up.
Steemit and Busy already has writing and blogging covered. Steepshot, photography.
Dlive and Dtube - streaming and videos respectively.
Not including the tons of not so popular platforms with various things to offer.

I hope blockchan has something unique and intriguing to increase the interactions on the steem blockchain and keep users captivated.
Unless that happens, they'll just be added to the not so popular bunch.
I Hope Not

Also learned from my digging @cryptoctopus that

We believe strongly in free speech, and so, on our platform, no one can ever be censored for speaking about their various beliefs.

hi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81