The blocktrades contest | Membra Jesu Nostri by Buxtehude: A musician's perspective

in #blocktradescontest5 years ago (edited)

Unsplash

This is my application to be considered for the @blocktrades Scholarship run by @anomadsoul.

Well... this is hard to write about myself, something that I've never really enjoyed even though I'm supposed to write a public biography about myself for my job. If I had my way, my job biography would read "Plays Baroque violin, viola and viola d'amore in way that tends not to make your ears bleed...". Likewise, I would prefer to write this application to read "Uses Steem daily, making at least a daily post and a bundle of comments whilst belonging to a number of communities...".... but I guess there needs to be a bit more detail than that...

I am a daily Steemian, I post a regular daily post that usually weighs in at around 300-500 words, with a roughly once or twice weekly longer in-depth post. The topics are relatively wide ranging, as my byline describes... "causing collateral damage to a wide array of topics!". I spend a good deal of time replying and commenting on Steem, and because my time is relatively short for manual curation, I follow quite a number of curation trails. I'm belong to the communities: @steemitbloggers, @pifc, @ssg-community, @thesteemengine, @ifc and @teamaustralia.

In addition to my own posting, I try to help out others via my curation account @classical-radio, which is geared towards supporting Steemians that post in the #classical-music (@classical-music owned and started by @remlaps) tag. It is an account that supports posts and bloggers that post about Classical, Jazz or Folk music, we are small but we do our best! The curation posts pays out 70% of the liquid rewards back to the featured authors.

I also write a weekly post for @pifc, which is a great initiative started by @thedarkhorse, which aims to showcase and help increase the exposure for posters that are under REP 55. It's always a pleasurable part of the week, to be writing about bloggers that I have during during the week of exploring the Steem blockchain.

My Featured Post

Wikimedia Commons

Last week, one of the posts that I was most proud of was a post about the Baroque piece Membra Jesu Nostri by Buxtehude as told from the perspective of a performer. Sadly, it was something that went a little under the radar of the platform, and so I threw a few bots at it to make myself feel better... Something that I haven't done for such a long time! Oh well, it is the Steem equivalent of binge eating ice-cream...

Membra Jesu Nostri is one of the most stunning examples of the early German Baroque repertoire, and it is one that I play quite regularly. Despite this ongoing familiarity, it is still a piece that deeply affects me each I play it... even though I'm not religious!

So close....

I had two other posts in the past couple week that I was very proud of, but they just missed the contest date range by a day (one on the early side, and the other on the late side...). The one that was published after the date range was done without the knowledge of this contest, but I guess you have to take my word on that!

In keeping with my write about lots of things that interest me byline... These posts are a travel post about the Czech Republic (which I recently visited for work) and a game review for Judgment: An Apolcaypse Survival Simulations. If you are interested, you can also check them out!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Good luck honey! There are so many wonderful entries to this contest and you are definitely one of those that deserves to win. I would not want to be in the shoes of the person who will get to decide :)

Thanks... I agree there are so many great entries from so many deserving people!

This looks like a winner, well done

Thanks for the support!

Good luck for the contest, @bengy! Nice to see you entering, as well!

Thanks, I think half the people I interact with regularly are applying!

I love your posts, Bengy. I'm especially glad you regularly bring classical music to my attention. I would love to hear you play live one day. Good luck with the contest! :)

One day! America is often so hard to travel to with the visas and all of that... groups really try to avoid it if they can! Maybe next Steemfest!

Good to see that you've also joined! So many great contenders, I have absolutely no idea who should win this one. You're definitely up there for sure!

I just had a quick look at the list! Wow, there are so many deserving people...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 119 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks truf!

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.042 which ranks you at #3477 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 3494).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97