The @blocktrades World Cup | My selections

Man there have been some fun things happening around here. First, I got bit by the Steem Monsters bug. Now there is a contest paying out 2,000 SBDs!

If you haven’t heard by now, @blocktrades is sponsoring a World Cup contest run by @acidyo and @anomadsoul. For me, the best part is that I have a chance to win… and I don’t have to watch 1 second of soccer/futbol!





You see, I am an America. Let me rephrase… I am an ugly American. I like my sports to be played by giant super human freaks of nature athletes (football and basketball) or big fat guys who look like they drink several beers during a game (baseball). Oh I also want my sports filled with commercials. Since the clock never stops in soccer, there is no time for companies to convince me to buy their crappy products and services.

Speaking of the clock in soccer, what is up with that "magic time" they tack on at the end of every game? Seriously can't they just stop the clock when some guy who barely got touched is rolling around on the ground like he was just shot by a sniper? Then we would all know how much time is left in the game so I would know if I had time to buy and/or consume a crappy product of some kind.

I can't wait to tell my friends I am entering a soccer contest! Two of my best friends are the head boys and girls soccer coaches at my school. One of my favorite things to do is to bust their chops when their teams don't score (which is like two or three times each week). I remind them that the freaking goal is the size of a giant two car garage door. How the hell don't they score every freaking time? (By the way I know it is incredibly difficult... especially with that crazy offsides rule. I just like to mess with them.)




Just as good as a goooooooooooooooooooooal!

Until now my fondest memory of soccer is when my then 10 year old son scored his first goal ever... in his 5th season.

After the game he said, "Dad you know there is really no point in me playing anymore."

I asked him why.

He responded, "I scored my goal. There is nothing left for me to do."

My brain raced to think of a perfect response. It did. I said, "Well next week you can go for two goals."

He looked at me like I had just suggested he ride a vacuum cleaner to the moon and chuckled, "That's impossible dad."

Then he just kept laughing at me.

Yeah he was right.




Does this happen every game?

But now I have a chance to win 2,000 SBD just for randomly guessing who will win a tournament I know nothing about!

You might think I am making fun of that. I'm not. I am dead serious that I think it is awesome that I get to participate in this. It just shows that the contest is so fun that literally anyone can join.

If this ugly American is joining, you better believe you should!

Now when my soccer buddies want to go watch the games at a local bar, I have an excuse to join them and actually root for a team.

Speaking of which, here is who I will be rooting for:

ScoreTeamTeamScore
WRussiavsSaudi ArabiaL
LEgyptvsUruguayW
TMoroccovsIranT
LPortugalvsSpainW
WFrancevsAustraliaL
WArgentinavsIcelandL
TPeruvsDenmarkT
TCroatiavsNigeriaT
WCosta RicavsSerbiaL
WGermanyvsMexicoL
WBrazilvsSwitzerlandL
TSwedenvsSouth KoreaT
WBelgiumvsPanamaL
LTunisiavsEnglandW
TPolandvsSenegalT
WColombiavsJapanL
LRussiavsEgyptW
WPortugalvsMoroccoL
WUruguayvsSaudi ArabiaL
LIranvsSpainW
WFrancevsPeruL
TDenmarkvsAustraliaT
WArgentinavsCroatiaL
WBrazilvsCosta RicaL
WNigeriavsIcelandL
WSerbiavsSwitzerlandL
WBelgiumvsTunisiaL
WGermanyvsSwedenL
LSouth KoreavsMexicoW
WEnglandvsPanamaL
WJapanvsSenegalL
TPolandvsColombiaT
LUruguayvsRussiaW
LSaudi ArabiavsEgyptW
WSpainvsMoroccoL
LIranvsPortugalW
LDenmarkvsFranceW
LAustraliavsPeruW
TNigeriavsArgentinaT
TIcelandvsCroatiaT
LSouth KoreavsGermanyW
WMexicovsSwedenL
LSerbiavsBrazilW
LSwitzerlandvsCosta RicaW
WJapanvsPolandL
LSenegalvsColombiaW
LEnglandvsBelgiumW
WPanamavsTunisiaL



If you would like to participate in this contest (and you really should!) check out this post for the rules:

https://steemit.com/blocktradesworldcup/@worldcup-russia/you-still-have-time-join-the-blocktrades-world-cup-and-win-2-000-sbd-in-prizes

Thank you @blocktrades, @acidyo and @anomadsoul!

Images 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

I'm literally 1 reputation point away from being able to participate :(

Here you go!

Hmmm... not enough. I will call in a friend.

Y'all are the best!!! @hanshotfirst @punchline @hanzappedfirst
Thanks and good luck with the contest!

This makes me happy

Thats so awesome of you @hanshotfirst !✌👍💕

Wonderful game prediction sir @hanshotfirst. I agree with you and eagerly waiting for the upcoming games. Thanks for the awesome content.

Those gifs are coooooo0000lllll!!! Hahahhaha! Lol! 😂😂😂
Goodluck, man! 😁

Hello @hanshortfirst

I wish you luck in this. I think I will take this information to my community. Thank you

Regards

@eurogee of @euronation and @steemstem communities

The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the senior ...
Most successful team(s): Brazil (5 titles)
Number of teams: 32 (finals); 211 (eligible to enter qualification)
Current champions: Germany (4th title)
Related competitions: FIFA Confederations Cup

for me and all the selections are winners by the simple fact of arriving at the world ....

excellent ball and buttocks in the face ... goooooooooool

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

This was too funny. I can't tell you how many times I have had the "real" football discussion with someone. They think it is funny to call American Football "Hand Egg ball"
Image result for egg ball football
They obviously have no idea what excitement is. I do, however, enjoy the excitement around the World Cup. I am part of a World Cup pool at work and will be following who is winning the games and might even watch a game or two. I will be checking this contest out for sure.

My favorite is Germany

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09