I Have Finally Deleted My Facebook Account

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

On 13 August 2016 I have deactivated my Facebook account, just one day before my birthday. I wanted to see how many people know my birthday without getting a notification for that and I found it very easy. Only family and some close friends...very close ones, knew that. Thus I haven't used it since then but that's not the only reason I have quit it. I have logged into it once I guess but just for a few minutes to check if it really was deactivated.

Today though after getting a reply from @zuerich on his latest post saying that he deleted his Facebook account long time ago I thought why do I still keep mine. It's not like I will go back to that type of social media. Even if they create their own coin and even if posting on Facebook would make me some coins I wouldn't get back. That much of a fanatic I have become.

eye-1553789_1280.jpg
image source

I have twitter...still, I have Steem and I use it on different DApps and I have a HyperSpace account as well so in terms of social media presence I am doing fine. I can post my photos and ideas in here with ease and I can even get some upvotes on them that can turn into liquid Steem which can be exchanged for "liquid fiat" if that's what I please. Who wouldn't like such social media?

It was a disgusting feeling, I have to say, entering Facebook again to delete the account. A world that I simply don't resonate with anymore has popped to my eyes again for a few seconds. A world meant to drain our energy and "kill the free time" in the most epic way. It really has no use case. Luckily I searched on youtube previously how to do the operation so in a few minutes I was done with the job.

It takes though 30 days for my account to be deleted and if I log into it meanwhile they will cancel my deletion request. That important I am for the platform and that cautious they are with me to not "accidentally wipe" my identity from Facebook. I wont login again I am sure of that and since Instagram is long time deleted I am almost completely out of any Facebook string. It's just Steem...mostly. Great to be here :)

Thanks for attention and have a great day!
Adrian

Sort:  

Thanks for mentioning me and my post!
Congratulations to your decision to delete your FB account!
I am quite sure you won't regret it. As far as I think Facebook's days are numbered anyway.
Steem on! :D

The inspiration to delete it and have no string whatsoever with it anymore came from you and your post so I had to mention about. I don't care that much anymore if Facebook is going to make it or not. I have better options and I am pleased with them.

Have to agree with you here about deleting your account. Facebook is a funny thing, I was in school for computer programming when Zuckerberg was running "Facesmash" off of servers at Harvard, and you could join up but it was limited to people who had a .Edu email address (which is easy enough to fake, so it's not really some exclusive club or anything). Personally speaking I knew that site was going to be a mess and it was going to be dangerous, and it was also going to be very popular.....but when I saw what it was doing to people, it was creating very real world problems for them. Like snapping a photo of somebody naked or drunk or whatever it might be for the whole world to see and posting it. I understand the necessity of Facebook and other digital demons like it, I deleted my real Facebook account years ago... Now I create Anonymous accounts, I say if you can't beat them join them, don't be spammed...don't be scraped.... become the spammer, misinformation and disinformation is the strongest tool humanity could have against cyber Invaders and data capturing monsters like Facebook.

In my case the best way was simply to delete my account. I really don't see the point of using Facebook anymore and I will never do it again.

Posted using Partiko Android

I admire your will power. I suppose my method ultimately becomes part of the problem anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you feel OK with your method do what you do. We're individuals. That's the magic of being human 👽

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done u. I unfollowed everyone since I have FB page for business to maintain. But yes, FB groups are toxic imho.

For business I would use facebook as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34