Some Food For My Art-Hungry Soul!

in #blog6 years ago

As I was travelling since the past few days, I didn't get a chance to update you guys about what I have been upto. I just got back home today and it felt super amazing to sit down and chill for a while! What’s more exciting is that the book (along with some art supplies) which I had ordered before leaving arrived while I was gone! Which book you ask? Let me tell you something before that.

Okay, truth be told I have never had guidance of any sort when it comes to painting or drawing. Be it in the form of books or a tutor. All I do is watch videos on youtube and try to learn as much as I can. But recently I have had a change of mind and since I want to practice advanced watercolors, it seemed like a good choice. I must tell you that I was really confused on which one to buy because of the uncountable options on the internet, but after a little bit of research I found these to serve my needs, for now.

  1. Everyday Watercolor by Jenna Rainey
  2. Color Mixing Bible by Ian Sidaway

The following pictures are from the Everyday Watercolor where the author has illustrations for 30 days. It starts with basics but once you move forward the illustrations also keep getting more complex. As in introduction to any new medium the initial pages are about the paints, paper, materials required, basic techniques, etc. and what I love most about the book is how these illustrations are explained layer after layer along with the estimated time for the entire process.

IMG_3440.JPG

khjgjkhvhj.jpg

IMG_3448.JPG

For example: This is an illustration teaching how to create foregrounds and backgrounds. It starts with a warm up exercise first in order to learn how the brush strokes are gonna be used and then proceeds on with all the necessary steps required. I couldn't include all the pictures but here is the beginning (left) and the final painting (right). Towards the middle is where the fun starts for me. I have been H.O.R.R.I.B.L.E at painting flowers and leaves as most of you know, but now I have a ray of hope, thanks to this book. There are a couple of awesome illustrations, complex but fairly detailed which I am definitely gonna use for overcoming this issue of mine. ;)

 mbhvm.jpg

IMG_3460.JPG

IMG_3452.JPG

IMG_3456.JPG

I look forward to putting it to regular use and making most of it! The second book hasn't arrived yet (bummer) but I am desperately waiting to get my hands on it and go through it. I would love to know if you guys use any such books, especially on watercolors which you found to be of great use.


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

You will do just fine, I am sure :)

Aww, thanks :)

I wish you all the best.

I love and respect your talent.

Not only for this article.
All your article, drawing, painting and all other works are so interesting.

Thanks a lot :)

what a wonderful color

Looks like a great and very helpful book.

Yeah, it is! I am really enjoying it <3

Beautiful, I'm in love!

Hehe glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89