Would you change your secure job for better but risky conditions?

in #blog5 years ago
Hello,

Today I had another day which tested my motivation to the maximum. I am aware that the higher the position, the more difficult it becomes. Sometimes I feel like I'm in another movie.

I am very direct and if I make a mess I stand to it. So this is what my ex-boss really liked about because we could build the confidence between each other. He moved to the USA and I got a new boss from Paris. The new likes more stories and no direct answers. For me it is very tedious because I have to change myself when I speak to him. Yeah, I have to, because I have a family to care for and this job helps a lot.

Today, my private inbox rang because I got another message from a headhunter. On LinkedIN and Xing I have created my profile so that the headhunters should contact me only if the salary is starting from a certain amount and from a certain position. This setting has filtered a lot of garbage, from daily 2-3 requests it is now 2 a week. I am ready to change if the conditions are right. My time is the most important to me and if I sacrifice it the compensation should be right too.

Would you change if it would fit? Would you take this risk?

Hallo,

heute hatte ich wieder ein Tag welches meine Motivation auf den Maximum angespannt hat. Es ist mir schon bewusst, desto eine höhere Position man hat, desto schwieriger wird es. Manchmal habe ich das Gefühl in einem anderen Film zu spielen.

Ich bin sehr direkt und wenn ich Mist baue stehe ich dazu. So was hat mein Ex-Chef richtig gemocht weil so konnte man das Vertrauern aufbauen. Er ist nach USA gezogen und ich habe einen neuen Chef aus Paris bekommen. Der Neue mag mehr Geschichten und keine direkte Antworten. Für mich ist es sehr mühsam, weil ich da mich umstellen muss. Ja, muss, weil ich habe eine Familie für die ich sorgen muss und dieses Job hilft mächtig viel dabei.

Heute hat meine private Inbox geklingelt weil ich wieder eine Nachricht von einem Headhunter bekommen habe. Ich habe auf LinkedIN und Xing mein Profil so erstellt dass die Headhunter nur ab einer gewissen Summe und Position kontaktieren sollten. Diese Einstellung hat sehr viel Müll gefiltert, von tägliche 2-3 Anfragen sind es jetzt 2 in der Woche. Ich bin bereit auch zu wechseln wenn die Konditionen stimmen. Meine Zeit ist mir am meisten Wert und wenn ich die opfere sollte die Entschädigung auch stimmen.

Würdet ihr wechseln wenn es passen würde? Würdet ihr dieses Risiko eingehen?



20190317_165332.jpg


discord.gif

Sort:  

Welcher Job ist heute schon sicher?
Die Frage hat sich mir eigentlich nie gestellt... ;-9

Also, wenn nochmal wechseln, dann jetzt.
Nicht erst, wenn du über 40 bist, weil es dann schwerer wird mit dem Bewerben.
Hat mal ein Bekannter, der auch in leitender Position ist, gesagt.

Yes I would, but the thing is I'd have to know the exact risk involved and understand how to mitigate it.
Not all risk is bad if you handle your risk properly and understand risk management.
You will then be well off and in a better paying job.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Früher war es so, dass man einen Job haben sollte, der einen von der Ausbildung bis zur Rente den Lebensunterhalt schenkt. Ich lebe das Gegenteil, aber kanna uch nicht sagen dass die andere Variante nur negativ ist. Jeder hat so seine eigene Art des Lebens. Es braucht solche und solche... Aber Sicher ist im Leben nichts, auch nicht der Job. Nur eines- dass jeder - egal wie reich oder Arm das gleiche Schicksal am Schluss ereilt...

Hey, @alexvan.

I have changed for better, but riskier conditions from a highly secure job. I did it almost a little over 20 years ago when I left a secure job as a caseworker for the State of Oregon to owning my own business and publishing a weekly newspaper that had not been weekly in years.

It did not work out for two years, but then a partnership with another newspaper happened and everything took off after that. For 12 years things were great, even though the partnership split up two years. I continued to run two newspapers, through good times and bad. It was the best financial and employment move I ever made.

Until it wasn't. That was the risk. A change in laws essentially put our newspapers out of business with seven months. That was the risk. Would I do it all over again? Yes. But if I could do it over, I'd sell while we were at our highest point to a decent-sized media corporation like I intended to do and then start up something else. :)

Once the main necessities are taken care of, time is and always will be our greatest commodity. The opportunities I had to be with my boys growing up were priceless. I would never trade that. I didn't have to because I had the time and resources. The best of both worlds. :)

Hi @alexvan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.491 which ranks you at #165 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 166).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73