Do you still wear traditional dress?

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

It is just amazing that 'kimono' in Japanese and 'kimona' in Visayan mean the same thing. They are both traditional clothing.

I have seen and touch 'kimono' display at an exhibition in a mall. So cool.

I had only worn a 'kimona' as our traditional dress when I was in grade six. We don't wear our traditional dress in this days. Unless use in a custome play or in school activities and in pageantry also.

This is Pia's gown when she was in Miss Universe Pagaent, the white one is the traditional Filipiniana dress but is fancy. Worn only on a formal party or events.

I only worn a 'kimona' back in elementary days once. We had this cultural program in our school and our section was the host. Everyone of us should participate in a presentation. I was then in a dancing group. It was a folk dance called Carinosa. I had to find 'kimona' dress for it. The program is not that big so we were not obliged to buy uniform dresses. I was asking , searching if my neighbors has it. It was not easy to find one. It means it is not in use in everydays life.

Well I can see some nations wear there traditional dresses up today but not in same case in my country. We call it old fashion, almost forgotten but schools find ways to preserve it. We were not thinking to had tailored one or buy because it will just be a waste if it can't be use after the event. So the best way for me that time was asking around. I was lucky to find one. It was a 'kimona' of my grown up cousin. It was keep in boxes somewhere so my aunt was looking for it. I was handed a pink silk top with a partner skirt with it. Just needed to wash and iron so it will look nicer again. I was thankful for that. Wearing it was kind of odd but when I saw my classmates wearing it too feela fun. We had fun also dancing our folk dance.

In todays time we have lots of choices of dresses. The design varies. It is up to an individual what she wants to wear or have. Whats in for today may not be in tomorrow. Whats used way way back may come back as acceptable again. It just a cycle. But traditional dresses has remains valuable in any time as it indicates identity for some sort.

Thats all for today. Have an awesome day.😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

He he i still have my kimono somewhere that i was useing for my judo and karate excersises😁

Posted using Partiko Android

You should keep it, and maybe one day you will need it again.😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65