Career switch: Why I'm moving from being a nanny to being an IT professional

in #blog6 years ago

Four kids and a puppy

Taking care of four kids and a dog is not always easy. There are moments when everyone needs something, at the same time. Or the lot of them are tired, agitated, and in a mood to pick a fight. Picking the children up from school, taking along some of their friends, taking each of them to their separate sports activities, finding time to make food, keeping the house in order, getting them ready for bed, putting them back to bed after they've come down again, in the meantime walking the puppy-dog every three hours... It requires patience, proper decision making, people skills, negotiating skills, proper planning, stress management. That almost sounds like a real job, right?

IMG_20170912_165800 (2).jpg

Gym class, Tuesdays, for the two youngest

Now what?

I finished my studies, Organisational Science and Governance, in 2012. Then went traveling and did some jobs to the side, mostly in health care, and more traveling. I have a variety of skills, am very capable of adapting to new situations and I'm an easy learner. After coming back from our latest travels, I did the nanny thing. But now, as we're steady for a bit, I was thinking it might be time for a 'real job'. But what to do?

page break small.png

I tried jobs in line with my studies - HR jobs mostly, some consultancy type. But before ever getting invited for an interview, the response would be: we have selected kandidates with more (relevant) job experience. I never got to go over and show them what a nice, confident, and capable person I really am.

IMG_20180330_113855 (2).jpg

Friends come over and four kids becomes nine

Job opportunity

I started looking around. Where are they hiring? Where do they need more people? What kind of work do people tend to enjoy, where are employees most satisfied? Where are the best opportunities to learn and grow and shape your career to your liking? It's very possible the answer I found doesn't come as a surprise to most of my Steemit friends: the best opportunities are in IT. And they are so much interested in finding people, that they'll hire you and train you at the job, even if you have no previous IT skills or job experience. An interest in and affinity with IT is all that is required.

IMG_20180726_142813.jpg

We went on fun outings too. Our latest visit was to the Sonneveld House in Rotterdam, a cool display of 1933 architecture and design. We did the audio tour.

Breaking my head

I'll be honest with you. I thought long and hard about making this switch. I became very fond of those kids, was comfortably fitting in with the family's routine, had a lot of freedom and was in charge of my own hours. Challenges were not so much on a mental, more on a personal, emotional and relational level. And sometimes working hours were taking them all to the swimming pool, putting on my bathing suit and letting them have fun in the water for hours while I'm reading my book. Quite a deal, right? The 9 to 5 office job is something very different. And I was having a lot of fun where I was. It's the feeling I have that I'm ready for a next kind of challenge, looking forward to having colleagues, to learning new skills and developing myself on other levels that made me decide to make the jump.

page break small.png

Transitioning

One week ago, the family went on their holidays. And the IT traineeship I signed up for starts in about two weeks. I have a three week period to transition. Means, I'm doing an online ITIL course, apparently a classic in IT, getting ready for my first exam. I'm working hard on getting my driver's license, something I never prioritised due to all the traveling but which now will be very useful for traveling to different clients. And most of all, I'm wrapping my head around the idea of me as an IT professional instead of me as a nanny. Actually, I'm enjoying the process. Usually, after a time period of about 18 months, I like to bring some major change into my life. Something drastic, which requires me to reinvent myself. I believe it is an excellent strategy for staying young, flexible and alive.

IMG_0021.jpg

Somewhere between a nanny and an IT professional?

A Steemit update

Usually I like writing posts about some place I traveled, some museum I visited, some local architecture from here in Rotterdam. Now, as I'm switching my day to day business to IT, I'm sure that will become a part of what I like to write about. The journey of becoming an IT professional, and how that's working out. So welcoming all of you to join me along in this career switch! Hope we're going to have a good time.


DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

a very nice story!
i like such sincere posts where people just describe their thoughts
you let us come into your life a little it, and it's worth of respect and attention!
the choice was really rather complicated..and not all people can change their life so much, so you're brave and decisive, it's so important to be able to leave your comfort zone and move forward.
I hope you'll be happy with your new choice, and you will never regret of it.
Regretting is pessimistic and desctuctural, so let's leave it;)
we'll be happy, and we know what we do!;)

Thank you! Your friendly comment is very much appreciated :). I think that half of the success of any new project we pick up is our mindset, the energy we put into it. Like you said, none of the regretting moods. I'm going to give it my all, and looking forward to making it work and to have fun with it. Let's see, I'll give some regular updates ;)

life comes and takes such strange twists and turns and i wish you all the best with your traineeship and with your transition <3 i have always wanted to change my career too but it is very hard, as you say, i might have to break my own head first to do it.... you are very brave and inspirational :D wish you all the luck !!!

Thanks for your very friendly comment, appreciate the support!! I think I stayed put with the job I was having, just because there was no real urgency for change. That probably goes for a lot of people. For me I made up my mind by asking myself: is this the job I still want to have in two years, or even one. And as the answer was really no, I decided now was the time to take action. I think it is all about making the choices that create the life you want for yourself. And be confident about it - we're all more capable of handling change then we maybe sometimes think. Good luck with your own choices and decisions!!

🚀 This is a stellar post! 🚀

I will be featuring it in my weekly #technology and #science curation post for the @minnowsupport project and the Tech Bloggers' Guild! The Tech Bloggers' Guild is a new group of Steem bloggers and content creators looking to improve the overall quality of our niche.

Wish not to be featured in the curation post this Friday? Please let me know. In the meantime, keep up the hard work, and I hope to see you at the Tech Bloggers' Guild!


If you have a free witness vote and like what I am doing for the Steem blockchain it would be an honor to have your vote for my witness server. Either click this SteemConnect link or head over to steemit.com/~witnesses and enter my username it the box at the bottom.

Thanks so much for noticing this post! Will definitely have a look at the communities you're mentioning here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for the support!

Congratulations @amritadeva! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

YES! Awesome post and very fun to read after our talks the recent weeks :-) I'm wishing you all the luck and am curious to read (and hear, with a cup of coffee ;-)) more about your adventures :D

You go girl!

Good luck on your career switch! I have several friends working in IT and I think with the right company it can be a rewarding experience!

Thank you!! The impression I'm having of the company I'm joining is really good. Hope they'll live up to my expectations! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17