Magical World (#10): Camping in the Belgian Ardennes

in #blog6 years ago

buren en ondergaande zon.jpg

Peace and quiet

I know some people have very stressful jobs. Or lives even. Their holidays are a way to escape from the pressure, to find some peace. That's not how I would like it though - if I ever start feeling the need to escape, that's when I'll vigorously turn things upside down till I'm happy, content and satisfied with my day to day life. Which is the situation I am having at the moment, and which I could recommend anyone ;).

For me, holidays are not for finding peace and quiet. But what I love about travel, anywhere and in any context, is how it requires me to be interacting with an unfamiliar environment and with unfamiliar situations. Which means I can't rely on the way I usually go about, and I tend to be a bit more spontaneous and flexible in those new situations. Ideally, I would find a way to bring myself back to that spontaneity and flexibility in my day to day life as well. I'll work on it. Till then, holidays are a lovely way to remind me of that space and cultivate sensitivity and an open interaction.

zon gaat onder1.jpg

This was our view. The tent is our neighbour's.

buurvrouw maakt foto.jpg

I wasn't the only one who hoped to catch the amazing colours of the setting sun in a picture.

page break small.png

Outdoors

One of the things I love best about camping, is how you'll spend all your hours outdoors. In a way, even sleeping in a little tent would count as being outdoors, since the cold and dampness are similar in and outside the canvas ;). But even without counting those sleeping hours, camping means a lot of outdoors activity. We'd sit in our little folding chairs watching the sun go down, built ourselves a fire after dark and enjoyed the lovely evening temperatures.

lichten aan.jpg

The lights go on in neighbouring houses

nachtlampje.jpg

Almost dark

page break small.png

Before nightfall

Just to give you an impression of our camping life - these were our chairs and table and the mini BBQ we used for dinner 3 times in a row! ;)

de laatste zon.jpg

Our dinner (and breakfast and lunch) area)

kippetjes.jpg

Simple but very tasty

Thanks for reading, and for all you campers out there - hope your weather will be as fine as ours!

selfie met BBQ.jpg

The camping we stayed at was amazing, we might visit again some time!


Magical World Series

This is post #10 in the Magical World Series. With these posts, I hope to add a little happiness and light-heartedness to your day. There is magic in every little corner of the world. And if we share it with each other, it does really brighten up the place!

Earlier posts in this series:

All content is created by me, and Steemit original.
Camera used: Canon G7X

DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-11T19:44:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84