3 Filipino Superstitious Beliefs that Taught Me the Elders are Wrong

in #blog6 years ago (edited)
Having grown up in a rural area in the Philippines, I heard a lot of Filipino beliefs from the elders. It sounds really funny but when I was young, I always follow what the elders say. Oh, I’m an obedient and a superstitious believer during my innocent days. LOLS. But that was when I was on my Elementary days.

Things Changed when I joined my secondary education where science can give an explanation. Hence, not all can be answered scientifically but the answers to the superstitious are visually and actually seen.

To sum this post, I have listed some of the superstitious beliefs that I had proven the elders wrong. I know there are lots of superstitious beliefs in the Philippines but I am choosing few of the best for me that it leaves me laughing until now. Lols.

1. Do Not Swallow the Seeds

Image Source

Very familiar eh? Haha. Who loves santol, rambutan, lanzones or any other fruits? I grew up believing not to eat the seed of any fruits as the seed will grow inside my stomach. I remember purposely puking myself just to have the seed out as I was so scared that it might grow in my little stomach. Blame the elders of my family for making me believed that the seed will really grow inside my stomach. LOL. But as I aged, I came to realized that the seeds don’t grow in the stomachs but if you have eaten one, you might experience improper bowel movements or constipation. So yeah, kids of today’s generation, it’s a trap! Don’t believe this! :D

2. Don’t Face a Child in Front of the Mirror

Image Source

I am the youngest in my family and I love babies. So when every time our neighbour asked me to look after her less than a year daughter, I willingly obliged and played with the cute toddler. One time, the mother of the toddler scolded me when she saw me carrying her baby and letting her play facing the mirror. She got mad and told me to never face her daughter in the mirror again as she might not able to talk. But guys, believe me, I faced her to the mirror so many times and this is again an epic superstitious. HAHAHA. That child grew up to be so talkative and now a high school student. Gah, I’m feeling so old. 😂😂😂

3. Don’t Cut Your Nails At Night

Image Source

I love my mother so much that I never cut my nails at night as I am scared she might die because of me. I have heard that cutting your nails at night can create an event that your mother will die. I graduated my secondary education believing this until I came to realize this is just a scary belief. When I entered college, my housemates cut their nails most of the time at night and they laugh at me for believing in such things. Scary it may seems, I ended up not believing this and here I am, a decade after, Alhamdulillah, My Mom is perfectly healthy. Thou, I cut my own flesh sometimes when I cut my nails at night. LOL.

True or Not

I know, we people are scared that negative things might happen. But if we let some things give us fears for nothing, then, we won’t be able to step out of our comfort zone. I respect those who still believe on superstitious as I do believe to sum also until now. There’s really nothing wrong to be safe at all times. And as I look back to those days, it made me happy as once, I am a believer and my innocence is quite funny.

Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes here for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @blocktrades and @curie who have been adding an invaluable contribution to the community.

Sort:  

Hi @appleskie,


Thank you for this blog of yours which tells about Filipino's deep belief on superstitious beliefs which had been foretold by our ancestors and being passed from generation to generation.

With that, we're grateful we have chosen this blog to be featured and upvoted by @onerace to empower impactful Philippines' Culture and Tradition blogs.

For June 06-07, 2018 Edition of Featured Posts, see link:
https://steemit.com/onerace/@onerace/onerace-update-june-06-june-07-2018-empowering-filipino-culture-and-tradition

Thank you so much @onerace! More power!

But it can be hard to de-programme oneself from irrational beliefs, even if you know they are irrational :-)

Upvoted (by @rycharde), resteemed (by @accelerator) and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

Absolutely You're right @rycharde! :) Thank you so much for the unending support!

Yes, of course, do not believe... LOL
But it's funny to remember everything when you were young and realized, why do I believe that? lol

hahaha. certainly it makes me laugh everytime I think about it. :)

I used to believe in the 'Don't cut your nails at night' myth until one day I came across a post on the Internet a few years ago. It said that the people from the previous generations didn't have light at night so they didn't want to cut nails at night as they couldn't see clearly and just wanted to be safe. And it got passed onto our generation as a superstition with very bad consequences.😂😂

Now I'm satisfied that I'm not the only one who believed this. hahaha.

It is interesting to see what people do believe in. Some, like not swallowing the seed, had a basis in trying to prevent digestive problems and some seeds have cyanide in them. But that would be too hard for kids to understand.
The cutting the nails was probably a coincidence and became folklore.

Visiting you from MAP

Thank you so much @mariannewest for reading my post. Filipinos have a lot of superstitious beliefs and most people, especially the elders, believed in it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by appleskie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Another version is if you cut your nails at night, you're also cutting days from your lifetime. I live with my grandma, she won't let me cut my nails at night. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73