It's all going to be OK - A story about finding positivitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago

Its been just over a week and I have been sleeping in a van near Boulder, CO...actually, let me start with last week. Last week I was trying to do all the right things, I went to work, and gave what I thought was 100 percent. What I came to realize was that for how much I was working, I was worried about a whole lot of other things too. What was I gonna eat today, how do I pay the bills? So many things that I stressed out about and I couldn't take a breath and unwind and enjoy my life.

NotTheVan.JPG

Since I was young my mind was constantly geared up, I am not really sure for what. Remembering back to my first summer, you know the one after kindergarten? I couldn't wait for the new school year to start. I would ask my mom every day when school would start again, I still hadn't caught the concept of time and I'm sure she got annoyed with the constant badgering. I just wanted to learn and explore, this was my first memory of anxiety. We lived in Los Angeles California at the time, going outside and playing wasn't always an option. So I stayed in and read books to make the most of it.

I recall this now since it was a very important part of my development, I guess. I now know that keeping myself busy is a great way to fight and anxiety that very easily couples with my depression. It's a never-ending loop of feeling anxious and wiggly (as I like to call it), followed by guilt for not getting as much accomplished as I would like. It took me to my early twenties before I was diagnosed with any type of mental disorder and though I do agree with some of the diagnosis, having the label put on me made things even more difficult for me.

By this time I had gained a bunch of weight, been married and figured out that I knew absolutely nothing about what I was going to do with myself. Why was I here, what is my purpose, where is my place in the world? Admittedly, I decided to run away from the life I had as a very religious person and decided to take my own approach to living my life. I was always a fan of music and art but never realized to what extent this could play a role in my future. After spending a week being voluntarily hospitalized for my mental health where suicide was potentially imminent, I begged to be released in time for my best friends wedding...I was the DJ.

My First Wedding.jpgMy First Wedding as a DJ

I officially started my music collection when I bought my first album, Good Charlotte's second studio album "The Young and the Hopeless." I listened to that album on repeat for at least three months and knew every word. This was a change from my normal tastes, I grew up in the city, I loved Hip-Hop and R&B. The man who raised me (my step-dad) was a west coaster, my very first memory of a song is actually two songs...you'll understand. The song? Fantastic Voyage, by Coolio. This hit song heavily samples a 1980 Funk song by a band called Lakeside, I fell in love with two genres of music at once.

Coolio_-_Fantastic_Voyage.jpeg

After doing some research, I found that the song was really about getting out of the hood. The neighborhoods that our family lived in, I was about 5 when that song came out and way too young to understand. For some reason, the song resonated and sticks in my mind today as an influence to why I have chosen the profession I have. I love the fact that this song brings a little of the old and mixes it with a little new. I am sure the same can be said about the fabulous people who were in Lakeside, remixing on past musical experience and knowledge to create something brand new and meaningful to the world.

Fantastic Voyage Lakeside.jpg

The world is always changing! The world is ALWAYS changing! ALWAYS!!! If you are reading this within 7 days of me posting this, you may understand what I mean(Hello Steem and Blockchain Technology!!!). Remixing the old to create something new, we do it with music, art, movies, our whole culture and making babies. We are always improving as the human race and there are very few things that we can't build to be better. The fact of the matter is that in order to build new...you gotta destroy the old sometimes, they cannot coexist forever. This is the realization I needed to make to change my life, a change for the positive.

I have decided for myself that, nothing can stop me from growing, nothing can stop me from creating the new. Recognizing the beauty in the past also came with its struggles, for every wonderful thing that exists in the world, pain heartache and destruction plays an integral part. Its all part of the process, so rather than worshiping the past as the golden age, my vow is to view it with context. The past is the past... and that's where it belongs, though it is nice to go back and reminisce about the old. Being an active part of the now to build for the future, is a much better use of my time than being anxious and worrying about what is to come. The future has its time too, don't rush it.

I currently live in a broken down van in Boulder, Colorado and even though these aren't my ideal circumstances, it is not keeping me from remembering what I need to do RIGHT NOW. Just live. Right now I can build, create, make connections, learn and fall in love with all of these processes. When the future does get here...I'll be exactly where I should be...living in the present and doing all I can to help remix the past and create the future for the next generations. I am not scared, I am not depressed, I am not anxious...I am just glad to still be a part of it. Because one day, it'll be my turn to go away and be a part of the past. I am peaceful, I am strong and I am ready to give 100% to right now because that's all I got.

Photo Oct 23, 7 16 21 PM.jpg


Thanks so much for reading! Please let me know what you thought, send support and love. If you are in Denver, Colorado or surrounding area, come out and say hi at one of my shows, you can find more info my events on Instagram @DJArchieJenks.

Sort:  

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @archiejenks! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20