Writing unreadable stuff!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

One of the most unacceptable things on the internet is blogs and comments that are un-readable.

 

  • We are told frequently to watch our spelling and grammar. Why? 
  • Because it it’s hard to understand and cipher reams and reams of illegible babble

What is illegible babble?

That’s when people write: 

  • Without capital letters at the beginning of sentences or full stops at the end of sentences. You can’t see where the sentence begins or ends.
  • Also broken-up disarrayed sentences, and comas in strange unnecessary places. You can’t decide if it’s a new thought or statement or not. You ask yourself, “What’s going on here?!” 
  • Sets of words mixed up within sentences, thus creating a jumble of perplexing phases. What should have been at the beginning of a sentence is cut up and now in the middle part somewhere. Or visa-versa. 
  • Not only that, there is no logical order or flow of comprehension from one issue or thought to the next. 

This may have been caused by the habit of shortening words and sentences while SMS texting. 

This causes the person reading it, trying hard to cipher it. 

Possible replies:

  • And most times out of ten, not understanding any of it at all! So not replying at all. 
  • You may have caught possibly one idea that was expressed. Hoping you’ve got the suggestion right, and not offending if you got it wrong, when you try to reply to it!  

General impatience:

  • Most people haven’t the patience or the time for these types of mind gymnastics. Instantly they ignore the jumble of words. 
  • Especially if confronted with large blocks of paragraphs, that consist of continuous masses of words. It looks so busy and complicated to even start reading. 
  • And if the person demands and expects to be up-voted, supported and followed, on top of their unreadable babble, well… that’s not fair.

 Who wants to support that and still go to their site and read more babble?! The internet is very strict when it comes to these intimidating tactics. That site is instantly avoided. 

Understandably:

I know there are lots of people, who can’t speak or write English. And we `take my hat off to them for even trying, to be out there, continuing to do their thing. That really takes guts. 

But then we get pleas for help!

They want help to improve their sites. You would love to help them, but how can you help? You have to consider their feelings. You could offend them! 

  • So I’ve decide to give out more practical advice on writing. 
  • Broadcasting it, where it’s not personally pointed directly at anyone in particular. But whoever thinks it’s helpful, can do with it as they please. 

So here's hoping everyone will understand my good intentions to help where I can. 

So that is what is expected in our next blogging post: `Simple blog checks!’ 

Sort:  

yeah, your writing skills very geneious..i am agree with your opinion. most of the time every people to write not understand any post.sometimes i am disturb feel doing to seen my short sms in my post.my some friends write their opinion wrong way. its disturbed our English badlly.i can not to writing my opinion english perfectly.sonetimes i am doing this mistake to write english. i can not use to doing proper place proper word.but when i am joined this platform i am learning english to write and read some better before.but now i am tryting my best to writing my language english better. pls visit my blog and ask me my wrong mistake? where i am doing mistakes? .thanks to sharing for your nice post.very well done..take care yourself and best of luck of your great work..may god bless you and your husband..my best wishes for you..thank you..my dear friend..@artguru

I must say I was very worried to write on this topic. I want to help, but not to offend.
There are so many people here that are so special to me. You are all great wonderful folks. Bless you all.

yeah,this is a very original opinion.. dear my dear friend @artguru .i am agree with your opinion.but i am got alots of inspiraton of your three days post.just mindblowing.your writing post quality always perfect and original . so i am alltime support your work and appreciating.thanks to know again for your good support..i want alltime support my work.thank you for your comment reply very early.really you are very first very well done.take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you..my dear real and good friend.. @artguru

It's very useful for those people whose mother language is not English. I'm Hungarian, and it takes a lot of efforts and permanent checking of my writings. Although I use Google translator, I supervise the translation and correct the mistakes. Sometimes I laugh a lot, when Google translator writes bullshit, this happens frequently, because Hungarian is very different from English.
I think I have not too much problem with proofreading and spelling, but stylistic and idioms are too hard. Could you help me if I have difficulties?

Well I think you are doing very well with writing English. And I'm proud of you and all that you do.

I completely agree with you. I often come across the fact that people write "randomly" and do not maintain order in the text. Sometimes it causes unpleasant sensations when reading. But the worst is when the text is illegible (the semantic load is lost).
The only problem, in my opinion, is the lack of patience in people who write such messages (comments). That is, in order to save time or trite laziness, these people make a lot of mistakes. Orthographic and semantic.
Here on steemit there is one more problem. It is connected with the fact that people do not even read the messages and at the same time leave a generalized comment.
Perhaps I also make some mistakes. This is due to the fact that English is not my native language.
Thank you!

Well I think your English is good. And what you said, I couldn't have said better.
Even though my English isn't all that wonderful, I think the more you write and read, the better you get at it.
And if I don't understand a word that I've come across, I use my dictionary. That's why my dictionary looks old and well worn. And it's my second dictionary too!!

Writing does not match the grammar, it's annoying. Why? Because the reader does not want to drain the brain to enjoy confusing ideas.

In short, I feel the same way with your constructive little criticism to be a good and sincere writer.

And, just say me as the reader already understands your point. How can I understand what you mean? Professional writers always prioritize their ideas to reach readers.

I really enjoy every effective sentence you use in light and communicative language.

Creative greetings and great appreciation for you @artguru as my favorite writer.

Hi. Thank you for your kind words.
When we do prioritize issues clearly and simply, sadly not everyone gets the point of the subject, no matter which way you say it. Because they don't actually read things carefully and think deeply about what has been said. You can tell by the way they word and put across their reply comments.
And to be honest I too have struggled to write. I've improved a little over a period of time. And because I have struggled, I have learnt a lot and have some sort of understanding of what it takes to write books and blogs.

You are a writing genius. It takes time to build a new creative habit, and this is a great opportunity to express yourself through words.
I love your ideas, I love your tips, I'm trying to get better at writing though I'm at the start of my writing journey.
Writing is our opportunity to share our observations with the world and I want to grab this opportunity. Love reading your posts. Regards

Thanks. Helping others has been my joy and a great pleasure for me.
I've done a lot of writing in the past, trying improve my style, so know what are the general mistakes we generally make and what problems that put people off when reading books and blogs.

I agree.

All the points listed up are very true. Finally I guess it mostly comes down to the short attention span of people these days, because even when the English is good this apparently is no guarantee at all for a dedicated comment. Surely the SMS era contributes strongly here. Also, most people seem to learn standart catch phrases by heart and insert them whenever they think it fits. And this is not something confined to comments on our blogs but sadly also happens in everyday face-to-face conversations! So few people are their authentic Self these days, while most are focusing on displaying a version that might comply with others' expectations.

Thanks once again!

So right about short attention spans these days. It's because everyone wants instant gratification. I think because technology is advancing at great spreed, that people are getting used to instant results and the fast moving action we see on TV.

In the language, I find the two most difficult things, namely poetry and sentences. Maybe people do not agree with my statement. It's their right as a form of freedom of thought.

Making words into sentences is not just applying ideas. In this case, there is a rule of thumb. There are major phrases, there are explanations of thought, there are conjunctions, there are spellings and more. All of that is summarized in one writing package.

Then, what happens if someone does not control everything? I think you have provided an answer in your content that always makes me jealous of being a professional writer like you @artguru.

Dear compassionate greetings from this youngest sister, @seha76! 🙏

That's what I love about Steemit, the freedom to express ourselves and help others.
With all that's been said here, I can add a few more things to the next blog on this on going conversation.

Yes I agree with you.
They must write according to the correct way of writing, so that we can easily understand it.
Have a good day @artguru

It takes a lot of time to practice a language which is not your home tongue or Country language, i speak Urdu and learning how to speak and write English fluently.
If you have some time you can check my blogs and correct me where i am making mistakes.
It will be a huge help.
Thanks

Some people can not easily say English but it can easily reading and writing. I liked your writing. Thank you ‍sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29