Green Little Fingers. Teaching my kids how to build a raised bed.

in #blog5 years ago

Hiya guys.

Today, my daughter finished school and she looked down when she walked out through the gates from school.

I thought I would cheer her up and told her today was the day we were adding the plants to the garden and this brought a happy smile to her face, and she couldn't wait to get home to get started.

I asked her what she wanted to do with the plants that we had grown from seeds, and she wanted to put them in raised beds and not into the garden bed itself.

This was fine with me and I went and got my cordless drill and a saw as I knew that I would have to cut and screw some wood to make what she wanted.

We went and made a frame from some wood I had left over from other projects and we worked out what we were going to do first.

20190603_164621.jpg

The frame we made was 8 ft long and 2 foot wide, I started to saw a piece of wood when she asked me if she could have a turn.

I held her hand and showed her the way to do it and she got to work cutting through the wood on her own.

It took longer than if I had done it but for a 5 year old to grasp a saw and cut is to me a great achievement and it was a proud moment for me to watch.

I then got some 3 inch screws and she wanted to have a go at that too, she want strong enough to put enough pressure on the screws for them to sink into the wood, so I had to do it, but she enjoyed passing me the screws and counting them.

2 screws in each corner and it was made, she was well happy.

we decided to turn the soil over between the frame we had made to give the bed of flowers we were putting down somewhere for their roots to grow.

We lined the soil with newspaper and bits of card to stop weeds coming through, and it will also turn to mulch later on.

20190603_173315.jpg

She had a little fun with the hosepipe as she squarted everything with water to make sure that the bed was wet and so was the paper underneath.

20190603_173320.jpg

20190603_164628.jpg

She also watered the cabbage patch and the sun flowers that we had already planted a few weeks ago, the cabbages are really starting to make some progress with size.

The sunflowers had a late start but they have also sprung up and are growing very well, the next thing I need is some canes for them to grow up, I don't know if I can find something as an upcycle project to use for this but you never know.

She carried on watering the raised bed ready for tomorrow when we need to put the plants in to the ground.

20190603_173330.jpg

20190603_173328.jpg

While we had the hose out we decided to give the garden a water too to help the grass to start growing, it turns out that we had a little surprise as the grass has already started to grow.

It was an eventful afternoon and we both are looking forward to planting the plants in this raised bed, and my wee one was telling me as I was putting her to bed that she wants to grow some vegetables too.

Looks like I have a little gardener in the family, just like her daddy.

until next time

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWXVxrANya57fvcBnPthjFcHrhCyHnAtJuCoTMumzck3CiyQRXMtZHcAkq1ECBik3eqeRhi8cSEhS8G4yrjma62.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.664 which ranks you at #5146 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 125 places in the last three days (old rank 5271).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #176.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86