LIGHTHOUSE STORIES - AHOY, MR. SEA DOG!!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I spent my childhood on the various lighthouses with my parents, and during that time I had a few short and pretty much safe encounters with the sharks. One encounter was neither safe but thankfully it was brief enough so we could safely escape.
Sharks are no fun when they surprise you, but even less if you make such a blatant mistake that we almost did.



Source Image - Megalodon by Steve Baxter Public Domain Flickr Images

One day we were returning in our little boat from the usual fishing tour. We were always trying our luck with the nets and lobster traps because that was the most successful. At the way back we noticed a big black item floating under the cliffs.

The route we took was the shortest and pretty much the only way to go home with the boat. There are numerous pictures online to show what that place looks like - a vertically set 300-foot tall cliff falling into a 400-foot deep black abyss - have fun screaming.

Usually, at that place our engine would give up on us, so we were prepared for a stop anyway.

The item was big and artificial looking, like a huge piece of crumpled plastic foil free floating on the surface.
Numerous loose pieces were sticking out of it, and the looks made no impression that it could be an animal.
My father waved his arm and told my mother that the plastic would be a perfect fit for a greenhouse.
We had a really nice garden and a greenhouse was in the plan.
My mother agreed and they decided to dock on this thing and tow it home.
At the moment my mother was close enough and turned to shut and tilt the engine she looked under the boat in the sea and saw a huge head that was in size proportional to the stern of our boat.
In fear, she dipped the engine back in, push it to the highest velocity and drove away as fast as she could.
As we all turned to see why is she reacting this way, we only could see a huge backside of an animal diving in, and the dive seemed to last forever.
A shark was super-huge and we never saw anything like that before.
I have no idea what were those additional spikes and flippers sticking out of his body but we were all sure it had a few too many.

As we came home my parents told everyone what they saw and alerted the villagers as we were staying on the inhabited island at that time. For the few next days, the whole island was in the state of the red alert because of the huge beast.
Local fishermen and barges were reporting every now and then that they encounter or spotted a huge animal that resembles the shark but considering the size of it, they kept distance.
They said that we should consider us very, very lucky that we didn't wake up that giant in the wrong moment.
Barges also reported a huge size, nonspecific entirely black body and additional flippers and something that looked like the attachments but with no idea what they are for.
The whale shark fell out of an equation because the animal didn't fit the description.
All the local sharks are lesser in size, have different heads, dark gray in coloration and have a very well defined number of flippers.
The huge beast disappeared without a trace in the same way it appeared.

The villagers and fishermen had encounters with the sharks on numerous occasions, but the unknown fish gave them creeps for months.

One day during the summer season I found my father standing outside carefully examining the bay with the pair of binoculars.
At one moment something captured his attention.
I came next to him and asked what is going on. He pointed me at the 'dot' in the bay that was moving as fast as a speedboat while making waves left and right.
I think it is a shark, he said walking back to the building for the radio station to alarm the village while I stood there trying to focus my vision on what was under that 'dot'.

When the 'dot' came to the brightly colored shallows it showed me a dark elongated body that appeared - from my perspective- to be a size of a bus.
It 'slowly' turned left and an animal returned to the deeper water and then - disappeared.
Nobody encountered a super-sized shark at that occasion, and my estimation of its size was downgraded due to the distance and water distortion. Also, what kind of a shark - or an animal in general - looks like that ...

I found out a few things years after, but that will be a theme of my next article.
Seeing these creatures on the television, reading the books and online articles has little to no similarity to actually seeing them first hand.


Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!




Supporting: #steemrepair #qurator #isleofwrite #balkanblockchain #thesteemengine #adsactly #preppersonline #ocd-resteem #steemstem #utopian-io #curie #steemians @creativecrypto @sndbox


VOTE @mahdiyari FOR WITNESS.

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The route we took was the shortest and pretty much teh only way to go home with the boat.
It should be the instead of teh.

Sounds like quite the beast! I wish I could see a picture of it (I think).

It was a time back in past nobody had cameras on them, so in our misfortune no pictures of any kind.

OMGosh!!! Now that was a big shark! It would have scared me to a point that I would never step foot in an ocean again!

It kind of ruined my plans for summer, lol.

I do love such situations, wish I could be in that 🚣. But it will be a weirdo feeling in such a situation.

It's a bit more than weirdo feeling... lol

The place you stayed sounds intriguing, to encounter any shark... keep moving!

Massive sharks, well I doubt I would get into the water, even in a boat, some big ones around, we are in their space rather give them wide berth.

Well written and very descriptive thanks @aschatria

Such a great story! I can only imagine your mother's reaction when she realized what was under the boat.

C'mon, tell me what it waaaaaas :D :D What are those spikes, what can it be?

My sister caught a shark on Parangal a few years back, near Korčula. but it was small, not like this here.

Now that's a really scary story!
I've always been scared by the underwater life just because no one really knows what's down the water. To be honest I used to get scared only by watching this on TV but I would definitely get crapped out to see one of these in real life! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86