​The Hunt : Week 4 : Rainy days & Saturdays, great views, bad renos and food. [Part 1]

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Has it been 4 weeks? It feels like forever.

I got my wish this weekend.

It occurred to me a couple of weeks ago that maybe going to home inspections while its raining would be the best way to go. After all if anything was leaking odds are good it would be on display on a rainy day and anything else that could be a problem.

You know.. Make lemonade out of lemons sort of thing..

We only had two properties we were interested in this week.

One was fully renovated the other in need of a renovation - both backing to bush.

The renovated one was first.

When we arrived, we immediately noticed the tight street and the steepness of the properties. One neighbor's driveway curved into a steep S bend from the top of the street to their carport. One wrong move and that car will topple down towards the house.

We headed down the steep terraced steps towards the front door and I tried to imagine my Coles delivery happening on this street, having my parents and grandparents over... This thing was steep with no hand rails.

Walking in the front door I noticed they carried over the timber slats design of the terrace into the front entry. I thought that was cute but it screened the money shot which was why we were here to begin with.

The fireplace was built into the wall which was really well done, everything was crisp and white (just how I like it), the floating floorboards a lovely colour. It gave a very light airy feel to the whole space which made the room feel bigger than what it was, because it was on the small side.

After absorbing the beautiful fireplace and imagining out new TV on the wall beside it. I let my eye wander across to the left where the kitchen was located and to my disappointment and slight anger...

I found this. What is wrong with this picture?


(Hubby so mesmerised by the view he barely noticed me freaking out.)

No space for a dining table. 😱😭 WHY?????!!!!!!!

This house gives me that same cramped feeling as the other house we liked last week. Some people will say it's cosy and I suppose it is. I'm just a person who needs her space. I want to be able to stretch my little T-rex arms out and not hit a wall.

There was also the whole toilet being next to the bathtub... When has ever sitting in a bathtub next to the toilet ever been relaxing? Or is it's just me who gets really grossed out about this?

Maybe I'm just being picky now but I haven't had a house with a toilet inside the bathroom since 2006 I'm not about to go back to those days. I'm really dying for an ensuite but I'll settle for a separate toilet.

So no matter what that toilet will have to go along with that shocker of a kitchen island.

This was the seller though...

The view from this house...

Beautiful... 💚

Shame about the neighbor who decided to build his house right in the way of the money shot..


(The stairs on this deck is insanity.)

The good news is there's plenty of room for a granny flat at the back AND there's this huge slab of sandstone that hubby just loves.. Ever since I showed him a property with a sandstone backyard 5 years ago, he has always wanted one.

This house has potential. Needs more work. It makes me cranky when people don't plan their floor layout out properly.

That glorious kitchen reno with its gorgeous fancy high tech flat stove and stainless steel dishwasher was ruined by the no dining room situation. I'm surprised I didn't tear up on the spot.

Home Reno Tip


Even if it's just you two, if you want to improve your home's resell value cater for family units. Having the toilet out of the bathroom, having space for a dining table makes all the difference. You have pretty much taken value from your house by not providing a dining area.

After the searing disappointment that was that house floor plan AND the rude shock of hearing the dog barking next door, we decided to go to Lawson and grab something warm while we waited for the next inspection.

The Rust & Timber Chocolate Bar is located across the road from Lawson station, so if any one is catching the train up to Katoomba, I suggest you make this pit stop. Yes you could be up for an hour wait for the next train but it's worth it and this is why...

BEHOLD...

The greatest assortment of handmade cakes...

and chocolates I have ever seen this side of Sydney.


(see all the different colour chocolate frogs?!)

If only we didn't have a whole day left on the road, I would have grabbed a few goodies along with my chocolate milk which was ready quite quickly considering how packed it was.

Armed with a warm sugar hit we headed down the mountain to another much anticipated house. At the right location, right size house & land, with the right renovation this had huge resale potential and was in my sights because of that.

This many weeks in I know by now the pictures tend to be a lot better than reality with these houses so who knows what this house will really look like..

Stay tuned for Part 2 tomorrow 🖍

💗Arly

Pictures taken by my Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Week 3: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-hunt-week-3
Week 2: https://steemit.com/blog/@bearone/the-house-hunting-begins






Sort:  

Great post. Beautiful view.

Hopefully you'd find the perfect on for you momi! The cakes look delish. The gif of steemph alongside Sndbox looks fab.

Thank you @steemitph! The cakes are delish wish I can send you guys some!

Looks like steemph & sndbox were made for each other dont it ;)

THAnks FOr ShAre THis.

Ate, the place is so nice imho. I wish to get married someday, have kids, and be able to build a home too. Though the steepness of the narrow road is also an issue to consider. I wish you get to find a nice home soon. <3

You'll get there lovely. I think much sooner than you think ❤❤

I am indeed very hopeful that it would happen <3

Oh I hope you find a place soon Hun. On a brighter note those cakes look amazing!!!
Might have to go bake something now to cure my sugar craving!

Thanks hun. I shouldnt re read this post, makes me want cake too lol

Have a great day lovely!

I hope you didn't miss those lovely birds? one thing i love about that country is the free-roaming wildlife. It says so much about life and nature.

and did you see that dingo in the backyard?

Nope didnt miss the birds, there's always birds out here its one of the things we love about being up in the mountains.

What dingo?!!!! Apparently there's meant to be a kangaroo that comes by and visits :D I missed him and the dingo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71