Finding TimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago

DSC_0112.JPG

Several weeks ago I started my job with Mozilla as a part of the Thunderbird team, Though I appreciate the paychecks, the community, and the chance to feel like I'm helping a larger part of the FOSS world by working on such a massive project as Thunderbird the job as you would imagine drains me much more than I had expected. When I was self employed there was always the knowledge that the contract would end, and because of that I was always looking for a way to improve myself for the next opportunity. So now I feel like I've lost more than I've gained in this trade off. Vague Entertainment, Allonian Seed, WayFinder, EduSteem, the yard... all have to take the back seat to the job that pays the bills and like so many other people in this world I have to put my dreams aside for the "greater good."

So how do you, those reading this, find time between work and what you want to do? Do you have projects that need some love that you just can't find time to work on? How do you handle "Project block?"

Sort:  

If you find the answer to this, let me know! I can't seem to find any time to do any of my own projects since I work full time at an office, so.... I'm thinking I will have to cut back drastically on Steemit instead since I do have a few things I want to do creatively... Since I can't cut into work time, it will have to be Steemit :(

Its a hard balance for sure. Thankfully, since you're an artist, you could at least grace us with a picture from time to time. Though I for one will miss your comments and curation :)

this is why i think jobs should be like 30 hours a week, so theres still time to do family and chores and still have some time to be creative and healthy.

that would be great, atm it's hard to have a good work-life balance. I would love to create more pen&paper stuff, read books or cook some great food which needs several hours but yeah there is not enough time for that atm.
I should reduce the hours at my job but it brings in the money xD

Couldn't agree more.

I suck at it, frankly. But my work allows me to pursue the things I love, so the best I can do is make part of that pursuit finding the right balance to really do right by the passion projects. If you figure it out, let me know, lol

Congratulations @bflanagin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 34000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @bflanagin!

You just got a 1.37% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bflanagin!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.533 which ranks you at #5903 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 20 places in the last three days (old rank 5883).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 190 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84