How Brave is Changing My Online Work Habits

in #blog5 years ago (edited)
Brave browser

About six weeks ago, I started using the Brave browser because I just could no longer bear the slow load times of my pages within the Chrome browser. When I first started using Chrome over a decade ago, it was the fastest browser on the market. I switched to Chrome from Mozilla Firefox.

Over the years, web browsing has changed considerably. There are now more advertisers, and more display advertising, than ever before. Video advertising has become increasingly more popular, and many of the videos you find on top web publications such as Entrepreneur, Forbes, and The New York Times-publications that I frequent quite often because my occupation requires it--are pre-roll, meaning they begin playing the moment you land on a website.

These types of ads and media features clog up bandwidth and slow down page load speeds. Due to my occupation--I'm a professional web publication editor and currently edit/curate three niche online publications--it is imperative that I be able to analyze the news, grab what I need, and move on as quickly as possible.

That's why I switched to the Brave browser.

Features of the Brave Browser


Chrome is a good browser is you are a casual Internet user. It has some features that are handy. In fact, Chrome extensions are awesome. When I discovered Brave, I was a bit skeptical but curious enough to try it, it didn't take long for me to realize it was going to help me in my business.

First, Brave allows me to block advertising. Unlike ad blocker extensions you can install on your Chrome browser, Brave's ad blocking feature is baked into the browser. That means it isn't detectable (yet) by web publishers. If you install an ad blocker on Chrome, or any other browser, and a web publisher incorporates an ad blocker detector, they will often block their content unless you whitelist their website on your ad blocker. In many cases, that's okay; but far too often, you'll get stuck waiting for large ads, video pre-rolls, and high graphic content to load. It defeats the purpose for me as a web publication editor.

Brave is a great alternative because I have yet to have a web publication ask me to whitelist them or refuse to show me their content.

Brave also comes with built-in privacy features. So whatever you are browsing online is between you and whatever website you are on. I've also made DuckDuckGo my default search engine because of its enhanced privacy features.

One of the selling points of the Brave browser is your ability to earn Basic Attention Token (BAT) by viewing ads. But you can turn it off. I do turn mine off while I'm working so I can minimize distractions while I'm editing. Even with this feature turned on, my browsing experience is faster than on Chrome, which means I can get more done in less time and earn more money as a freelance writer and editor. But when I'm done with my work, I flip the switch and allow the ads to go through so I can earn additional BAT. It's an awesome feature.

Brave has other features too, which I'm sure you'll find useful, but these are some of the features I like best.

Publications I Edit With My Brave Browser

Lending Times

My first online publication editing gig was about two-and-a-half years ago (actually, I've had others before that, but this is my most recent current first publication). I started with Lending Times, a publication specializing in the alternative lending market. With Chrome, it takes me two-and-a-half to three hours to edit. With the Brave browser, I can do it in just over two hours.

In January 2018, I started editing Blockchain Times, a sister publication. On a given day, Blockchain Times can take anywhere from three to five hours. It depends on how much news there is that day. That's with Chrome. With Brave, I can do it in half an hour to an hour less time.

Most recently, I started editing Inside CFO. I was already using Brave when I started editing this newsletter, but I've gotten it down to about two hours. I'm sure it would take me longer than that if I was using Chrome.

Inside CFO

Because I'm sold on Brave, I don't think I'll go back to Chrome. It was easy migrating all my bookmarks and the necessary extension. Everything I need is inside Brave. In fact, I love it so much I've become a verified publisher. Now, you can tip me on my two websites, CryptoBloggers and Taylored Content, as well as on Twitter.


Are You Looking for Blog Content?


If you've got a commercial blog focused on blockchain and/or cryptocurrency technology and you're looking for an experienced content creator to help boost your presence in your search and social channels, CryptoBloggers will write your content and help promote it. And you can pay us in BAT from your wallet to ours. Learn more about our service at CryptoBloggers.us. We'll gladly accept the payment in BAT equivalent to the USD amount for the service you seek.
Want to know more? Contact us for more information.
717-253-2306.


Posted from CryptoBloggers with SteemPress

steemit bloggers

Sort:  

Very cool @blockurator. I'll have to keep this in mind if I get online work like I am hoping to.

I hope you get plenty of it! :-)

I switch so and forth between Brave and Chrome... Actually, I do like both... But I think I'm going to soon jump fully over to Brave. Not going to bother with the BAT rewards I think... I just want a fast and lightweight browser!

It's Chromium-based, so you're not really leaving Chrome behind. But it is lighter weight.

I've been using Brave for a few weeks now but still made zero BAT so far? I'll see if I can add you to my publishers list.

I've earned about 18 BAT so far in just a month or so.

I'm still stuck to Chrome. I've tried to start using Brave a couple of times, but for some reason, my old laptop doesn't seem to handle it very well. My system freezes pretty often, and when using Brave, it is even worse.

Same for my phone - although that's not as old and cloggy as my laptop.
Been looking out for a new one. I'm curious to find out if I can get it to work properly then...

That's a shame. If you have problems with multiple browsers, you might have an OS deficiency. When is the last time you had a system update or defragged your hard drive?

Lol... defrag... that is ages ago. But there are more things wrong with.my laptop. Gonna buy myself a new one next month... not looking forward to it: it will be a hell of s job installing all programs again...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @blockurator

You've always been a guy worth listening to so I'll check it out. I use Chrome and extensions and, like you have said, they were great but they've had their day.

Thanks for the heads up.

Gaz

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome. I hope you find a little Paradise in Purgatory. :-)

welcome to brave world! :P

Great info. I'l get together a proposal and send your way. I have some ideas and a couple content sites in mind that could work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! I look forward to receiving that @johnspalding. I love awesome new ideas. :-)

Thanks for the review. I had not heard of Brave until your post. I now have it installed on my Linux machine, where it is definitely faster than Chrome.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Awesome! Proud to have converted you. :-)

Thanks for the reminder, @blockurator - my husband downloaded & started using Brave about a month ago, and I've been meaning to do the same (especially since I'm the one who sent him the link...LOL). Appreciate you highlighting how it's worked for you.

You better get on the stick @traciyork!

Hey right on man.

I browse all day for my work and love the idea of picking up BAT passively. Just never really connected the dots to the brave browser.

Is the https://brave.com/njo265 a link that gets you a referral bonus? If so, I will use that one and get started.

Great advice and awesome websites.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep. That's my referral link. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30