Regaining focussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

This morning was one of those where I woke up, turned on my computer, checked Steem, but soon realized that my brain was completely scattered, and wasn't really doing anything, just browsing and clicking. So to gather my pieces back together, so to speak, I went to library to do some reading. I feel it's easy to drift into this bad habit when stuck in the squirrel wheel (aka. "rat race" as is said in English): sorting mail, having a break, browsing Steem – whoops, 15 minutes gone already, back sorting more mail. And making some food quickly at home and eating it whilst watching YouTube or, browsing more Steem. You know, just a constant go-go-go. Talking of which, there is this one particularly curious little guy on my delivery route who decided to check out my electrical two-wheeler.

DSC_1603 2.JPG

Lucky you squirrel, since you are actually not stuck in the squirrel wheel (one time I almost accidentally ran over one though). The job seems to take a toll, since I crashed into bed on Friday in the afternoon and slept 3 hours even though I got 7-8 hours sleep in every day. One thing I need to do though: sleep no more than half hour naps, because my extended nap ruined my night sleep, again.

It's nice to have a break and to be able to just focus on a book. I've been increasingly picking up reading during this past year, simply because I keep finding interesting stuff to read in the library. In high school, I had distaste for most school reading and didn't read much other than the odd LOTR (and Silmarillion, which you have to be true nerd to read, because it's basically a history book of Arda, aka. the fantasy world where Middle-Earth exists).

It feels like school didn't make things interesting for me, except for creative subjects, because they were all essentially pre-curated according to a curriculum plan, and well, most of this pre-curated material wasn't interesting to me. Not sure whether because of reverse psychology – the rebel teen who refuses to do what others say.

Though now that I've been able to take some ownership of my life, I find many things interesting, even stuff like physics that I quit soon during the second course of it in high school. The thing is, I find physics and the nature of our reality interesting, I just don't care about the math associated with it. I just like to know stuff, 'cause I'm curious – that's what I realized after I finished high school, which is a bit ironic when thinking about it.

Anyway, here are more pictures from the park that is next to the library.

Sort:  

It's interesting to hear about your impressions regarding school and education, since you're from Finland. I'm sure you've heard how in other countries (at least in Hungary, Germany, the US, and Mexico, that I'm aware of) your education system is touted to be so student-centered, so learner friendly, and so efficient, which is supposedly the reason why you are so well educated. However, I always had this weird suspicion that for you guys in Finland it doesn't feel like anything special at all, simply just school. To stay with your squirrel analogy, I'm sure they don't consider it any extraordinary achievement to be hanging upside-down from a tree trunk, holding on only with their hind feet, or making spectacular jumps across the branches.
Was school ever tedious for you? Did it ever seem pointless, or even like a waste of time? Did you ever compare it to prison or the military? Did you ever feel that it was doing a poor job at preparing you for life (whatever your idea of "life" was like back then)? I know, this is huge topic, and it could possibly even fill a nice post. So no pressure, but should you write about it, my upvote is guaranteed.

I mean, the school is pretty good for what it is here, but it feels like it's stuck at 20th century. Although I think there were some reformations that introduced peer-education and feedback after I had left school. I think more courses focusing on phenomena have appeared too which go across subjects, I think I would've enjoyed those since I already tend to be sort of an all around type of guy.

Was school ever tedious for you? Did it ever seem pointless, or even like a waste of time? Did you ever compare it to prison or the military?

It often did feel pointless, but it wasn't as bad as mandatory labor during civil service – that often did feel like prison :P

Did you ever feel that it was doing a poor job at preparing you for life (whatever your idea of "life" was like back then)?

We did get some info about job applications and stuff like that, but school doesn't really give much general wisdom or perspective on life that adults have. I guess that is parents' job though, but mine haven't really provided on that area (except perhaps learning from their mistakes, lol). I like figuring stuff myself anyway – no one else would've figured it out for me that I should go to study as a massage therapist had I not done some wacky stuff like going to Steemfest with a box of dried fruit with me and hitchhiking in Europe.

Yep, those things you mentioned are exactly the kinda stuff I've been hearing. Seems like it's not universal, though.
Interesting: for me the mandatory civil service (if you opt out of the military) I had to do in Germany felt like pure freedom: no school, no parents, no homework, only 8 hours of mindless work - folding towels and making tea - then hanging out with your service mates doing whatever: video gaming, music, drinking, partying, and no one cared, unless our party got out of hand.
You hitched to Krakow last year? Awesome! Must have been a blast!

Germany felt like pure freedom: no school, no parents, no homework, only 8 hours of mindless work - folding towels and making tea - then hanging out with your service mates doing whatever: video gaming, music, drinking, partying, and no one cared, unless our party got out of hand.

Ahh... well I didn't have any mates, outside the 1 month education period where we learned some general useful stuff like first aid, it was just me going to a job and then back home :(

You hitched to Krakow last year? Awesome! Must have been a blast!

Partly, hitched to Riga and then took a bus because it was convenient with my box of dried fruit :D
Then hitched more in Europe after SF3 whenever I managed.

To stay with your squirrel analogy, I'm sure they don't consider it any extraordinary achievement to be hanging upside-down from a tree trunk, holding on only with their hind feet, or making spectacular jumps across the branches.

I don't know, I would at least have a lot of respect for a human who could do that :P

Yeah, but for the squirrel it's like: what's the big deal?



Hey @celestal, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.489 which ranks you at #2182 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 114 contributions, your post is ranked at #17.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25