Trying to crack the secret code of job interviewssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago

DSC_0256 2.JPG

I had my second job interview today. I still don't exactly know how to handle them. Well, I do – answer the questions truthfully that are being asked, be yourself, but me being me, it's not that simple.

DSC_0255 2.JPG

The notion of being oneself I've found especially problematic lately, because there exists a darker side of me with nihilistic tendencies that reverts to pessimistic thinking and perhaps underestimating my own abilities. The bright-eyed me, on the other hand, is the one that gets activated in circumstances that stimulate me well: exploration, meeting cool people etc.

If I'd just be that "darker me" nobody would hire me – I wouldn't hire me if I'd want an employee. I take all this analyzing a step further though and start thinking what is the agenda behind all the questions they ask. Why do they ask about my weaknesses? To see if I can be honest and objectively estimate my own capabilities. But do I really get honest here and say "I dislike the idea of having a job but am acquiring it out of necessity"? Is that really the type of honesty people want to hear, a cynical I don't like it, but am doing it anyway? What is the "real" or "honest" me anyway if there are two sides of the same coin? Isn't it just a matter of choice by that point? But can we talk about honesty anymore if there's no room for "negativity" or if the potential for "dark side" is completely ignored?

Isn't it just a matter of providing what the interviewer/employer wants? But what attributes do they really want? Just what they're mentioning on the job description or is there something hidden in between the lines that everyone knows? Have I missed like some obvious thing that I'm just completely oblivious of? "Don't overthink it." Good advice, except that then I will go down the simplest route, which is just giving up completely – that any better? Perhaps not.

DSC_0263 2.jpg

Anyway, I think the interview went ok, if such evaluations can even be given to them, I guess it just depends if you can manage it by actually being yourself without dissolving into negativity or if you have to actually do some beforehand brain-work (I'm of the latter group if you haven't realized it by now). The job actually favors curiosity and quick learning – both of which I can identify in the bright-eyed me, and I think I got that point across pretty well. Which got me thinking about communication abilities, social skills, and the way that affects how you come across... I better stop this in time before I go anymore crazy.

Gosh, how can a job interview be so complicated... or maybe I'm just unnecessarily making a game of tic-tac-toe into a game of chess.

If you're interested, the pictures are from Pasila (district in Helsinki, where I had the interview) railway station which is under restructuring and construction.

Sort:  

Or you can learn how code (if you don't already), build off a blockchain, and then interview THEM when they apply to work for YOU in 10 years.

Haha, not a bad idea, though I have already tried coding - wasn't really my thing. But I could see how in 10 years people will be coming to me when they want to know blockchain/crypto stuff.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been on many an interview panel and what I always look for is someone sharp who can think on his feet, who has an interest in the job and is not just taking it out of necessity, so I wouldn't be honest on that score if I were you!
Actually, I have a theory that people who walk fast generally think fast too so I try to meet an interviewee in the foyer and invite him to take the stairs ahead of me. If he runs up he's in with a chance!

Well, I like climbing so... hire me?

I can't stand all the job interview bullshi* and answering such foolish questions and making up references. They make it like we should be thankful for these stupid jobs, that we must put so much effort into getting. We all line up and compete for these jobs and can't anyone realize we are slaves here and wtf is going on?

Slavery or not, but something has to be done, either by being self-employed or not, to earn something (excluding social benefits). Luckily though the interviewer was pretty good and not super serious like some tend to be which makes things really awkward.

It's a hard place to be. Having to do shit you don't want to do, just to survive, what a sad state of affairs. My goal is to have an earthship, which is a sustainable house that uses renewable energy, you grow food and it's completely off the grid. I am also going to learn about permaculture and how to grow my own food. I can't wait to get off this system and leave this slave life behind. It's good that your interviewer was not too serious because so many people take things too seriously like everything is such a big deal. All the best to you.

It's a hard place to be. Having to do shit you don't want to do, just to survive, what a sad state of affairs.

Luckily I'm living with my father and I don't have to pay rent, so I can focus on other things than only surviving.

My goal is to have an earthship, which is a sustainable house that uses renewable energy, you grow food and it's completely off the grid. I am also going to learn about permaculture and how to grow my own food.

That sounds amazing! I really hope you can pull that off.

On a side note: I noticed you're a new user here – welcome! If you have any question, feel free to ask me; this place is not your typical social media, but I think you've already realized that though :D

Thank you so much for the warm welcome. I'm looking forward to learning more about this community and i'm really enjoying it so far. Nice to connect with you :)

I think I kind of like your "dark side" maybe because of the brutal honesty that accompanies it. However, on the contrary, I love job interviews more than the jobs themselves. It always seem like an opportunity to sell yourself, to give sparkling ideas and leave an impression on your potent employer's mind that will make him/her think that you're indispensable.
It can also help expose your weaknesses and deficiencies. Strucking you with reality of the things you need to learn.

It always seem like an opportunity to sell yourself, to give sparkling ideas and leave an impression on your potent employer's mind that will make him/her think that you're indispensable.

I don't know, my ideas are rarely practical, probably because I'm desperately trying to transcend from real life so I'm not so sure about that.

Well, to be honest, I think most people don't want a job, you know? I mean you rarely see people doing jobs out of pleasure. How many people d'you know who actually like working at the call center or as a cashier at the mall? Everyone does it out of need, and yet, no, I don't think they'd appreciate you telling them that.
Nurture your dark side (though don't go too pessimistic) and good luck, hope you get the job :)

Everyone does it out of need, and yet, no, I don't think they'd appreciate you telling them that.

Most people indeed I don't think value brutal honesty in reality, even if they think they do.

I guess almost 85% of people going to job interviews are always nervous about it

I'm not nervous really, I just overthink and wonder how do I get what I need.

Im glad to hear it went okay and I hope you hear back from them soon. Im sure we all have a 'darker' side that would leave people wonder, dont worry about it to much.

Yeah, I really hope I get it, because it would be good and fitting job for me. Struggle is to just make myself appear so, because job interviews don't really represent my preferred style of communication, but you live you learn.

Im sure we all have a 'darker' side that would leave people wonder, dont worry about it to much.

Yeah, I'm sure. I guess I just dip myself bit too far into it, immobilizing myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.219 which ranks you at #2916 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #160.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73