Well... I finally got a job

in #blog5 years ago

DSC_0116_01 Custom.jpg

Funny how quickly things change: a day after I had written about not finding a job, the day after I got a call from the mail service for an interview for a position of mailman that I had applied for long ago, so I wasn't expecting it.

The interview was hardly an interview but a chat with the two administrators. This was probably because, as they told, they actually have a lack for mailmen, so it felt like I was already going into the job – none of that mundane formal question asking game like in the previous ones I've had. They pretty much just explained what the job is like and... well, that's it; they were ready to take me, no questions asked.

So, I'm starting with my job on the next Monday and starting the training. Most of the job will actually be sorting the mail itself with the delivering on bicycle taking only a fraction of the day. By the way, they have electric bikes, I've never cycled with one, but it must feel like pedaling on easy mode :D

On the same blog that I linked, someone was rather triggered about... me, I guess? It was a bit weird, because when I regardless welcomed him(?) as a new user, he used it to further critique me as "overly nice, take some pics, and remain lighthearted but "determined to make a change" type of character, as he put it. Well, seems like I fell down to some fake-positive-motivational stereotype who isn't actually ready to do anything and is only chasing the sympathy of others.

Sure, sympathy feels great, I think everyone is wired to search for it to an extent, but I'm mainly trying to be honest with myself, and that also goes with my posts; you won't see me being fake-positive and trying to paint myself in a good facade, I don't think that helps anyone. Though I'm not an ass either, those who have met me, probably agree (unless I'm completely oblivious to myself which is possible too, I suppose, but hopefully not the case). If I'm not feeling well, I'm not dumping it onto people by being angry at them and making their day worse, but rather withdraw into myself, with writing working as an extension of that process which helps me quite a bit.

Though I find it slightly strange to get angry – not just talking about my case but in general – when someone admits having a problem. Maybe that's why people keep putting up a facade in real and social life: there's always someone stronger who thinks you are pathetic for not being as strong and critiques you for that. But I also understand that whining for the sake of whining without the will from the person him/herself to make it better is just useless and annoying.

I believe in equality of opportunity, but thinking that that would make people also equal in character is plain stupid. You don't expect everyone running 100 meters under ten seconds when being Usain Bolt. Everyone can run faster, of course, but... I think you get the point.

Anyway, it's not actually a full time job, but 30 hours, 4 days a week, though with a possibility to work over-hours. But I think 30 hours is a more balanced time, instead of the conventional 40 hour workweek, I like it. Though over-hours pay extra 50% percent for first two hours, and 100% after that. But remains to be seen how hard I'm ready to work.

Getting the job is pretty good also because it allows me to buy in more into crypto – hopefully Steem price will go under the radar before I get my first paycheck. Also, I'm quite confident I will make it to SteemFest 4 now :D

PS. First things first I'll have to start fixing my sleeping pattern, because work starts at 6 am. every day.

Sort:  

Congratulations, I must have missed this earlier.

I've always had working for the mail down on my list of nice jobs!

And I know what you mean about all of that OTT positivity - it's what winds me up about the green movement - so many constructive scientist/ alternative tech people in it, mixed in with New Age twats.

I've always had working for the mail down on my list of nice jobs!

Yeah, and it helps a lot that the staff there is quite easy-going and supportive despite the quick pace on the work. Like said, I got a good feeling right from the "interview", and it seems like I was right.

Excellent!

It was a good job here until the pressurss of privaitisation made it all much less secure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good news! Congrats. You never know what's around the corner. It's much easier to walk the conveyor belt when you know it's not a permanent thing. Enjoy it for a bit. I KNOW it'll be a temp gig for you! ;)
PS- F@ the hatters! You have taken a very original life path. Carry on!

It's much easier to walk the conveyor belt when you know it's not a permanent thing.

Definitely :)

I got a good vibe from the working environment there the little I was shown places, so that's a good sign already.

Posted using Partiko Android

Tell them you need "SteemFest" off. When they ask WTF is SteemFest, tell them it's when you're not working. This should take some of the pressure off, but keep your eyes open for other opportunities as well to supplement or if they're better for you long term.

I will know the right decision(s) when the time comes :)

but keep your eyes open for other opportunities as well

This comes as a second character for me, so no problem - always eyes wide open :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulation !!! Welcome to the rat race !!!

Lol! Thanks, mate. Hopefully Steem works out so it'll only end up being a temporary visit.

Good luck!
As for Steem, I do understand your plan to invest, all very nice and sensible, but, seriously, I'd rather see Steem mooning... and then, of course, you can quit this job!

As for Steem, I do understand your plan to invest, all very nice and sensible, but, seriously, I'd rather see Steem mooning... and then, of course, you can quit this job!

I agree, would rather see Steem mooning myself, too, but until it happens – it's accumulation time!

Congrats on becoming a mailman! Beware of your colleagues though, they could be aliens (if you ever watched men in black 2).

Thank you @anmitsu!

Congrats on becoming a mailman! Beware of your colleagues though, they could be aliens (if you ever watched men in black 2).

Haven't seen the movie, but found a clip of the scene. Though I might be rather worried about myself being an alien 👀

Shhhh !!! You are not supposed to reveal this secret to the common folks, bro !!!

Oops... no can do anymore, it's on the blockchain :D

Onneksi olkoon! Toivottavasti ei 30 tuntia neljänä päivänä viikossa, kun loppuu niiltä päiviltä tunnit kesken ;)

Kiitos! Joo, ei oo kyse ajan rakenteen muuttamisesta :D

Tietäisitkin mihin olet joutunut.

image.png

Pitää lukea työsoppari tarkasti :D

Congratulations :)
Good thing it's only 30 hours :D and you shush about the Steem price now :P

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks :)

Good thing it's only 30 hours :D and you shush about the Steem price now :P

Just a month before I can buy in, then we can moon, okay? :D

Congratulations @celestal
This is goodnews!!!

Thanks.

Definitely is :)

congratulations!!!
Hope you're doing well!

Hey, thanks @macchiata!

Hope you're doing well!

I am, especially now that I got the job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87