Lunch at Craft Beer Market - Blog #9steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

A few weeks ago I got a cupon for a free appetizer in this place I remembered wanting to try but forgot about it. The cupon itself was appealing on it's own just because it included the words "FREE". But something else got my attention. The cupon said that this place had over 100 beer on tap. More than 100 beers, are you crazy? this place must be excellent!

After laying out the plan for the day. My wife and I decided to head out to this place. Craft is located outside South Centre Mall. Location is great since when we got there, we had to wait 30 minutes before we could get a table. Luckily for us, we could just go to the mall and wait there.

Upon arrival I got quite impressed of all the beer kegs they have from all the different beers they offer. I could recognize some of the local breweries like Grizzly Paw and Granville Island, but most of them were new to me. Also, I remembered how good this post would be for #BeerSaturday since it's Saturday and it includes beer.

While walking to our table, I managed to take a quick shot of how they have layed out their beers on tap. On the top picture you can see all the taps connected to big pipes connected to another room, where they have all beer kegs (shown on bottom picture).

Not sure about what to order from the beer menu (quite overwhelming), we decided to go with the 6 pack sampler. With this we could try the most ammount of beer without getting super drunk ha ha! On the sampler you have the option to do local beers or world tour for beers from around the globe. We decided to go with the local sampler. There's pretty good beer in Alberta. You can see from the six pack sampler menu what beers we had.

The beers are from left to right: Kolsch, Pale Ale, Witbier, Irish Red, Irish Pale Ale and Rye IPA. On beer tasting you want to go with the lighter tasting, easier to drink beers to the more complex and strong tasting beers. We drank the beers in this order.

As I figured, my top favorite beer was the pale ale. Farmers daughter pale ale was without a doubt the best of the six. Don't get me wrong, the rest were really good, however this one had everything right: great taste, easy to drink, good level of carbonation, great colour and nice aromas. Next time I will get one full glass of this one.

But wait, we didn't just have beer. We also had some great dishes:

Korean Satay Lettuce Wraps

Baja Fish Tacos

Ahi Poke Bowl

As you can imagine, everything tasted really good! We couldn't even finish the whole Ahi poke bowl.

After this meal we went back home to walk our dog and try to diggest all this delicious food. At this point we're still full so we'll probably skip dinner.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this post. If you live in Calgary or come visit for a few days, "Craft Beer Market" is highly recommended for you to try (if you're a beer fan).

Until next time!

Sort:  

100 beers on Tap, now that is very impressive, although as you say overwhelming.

yeah it's very difficult to decide which one you want to have... but it's also a great excuse to keep going there to try all the beers :D

Great post, I love the photo with the pipes leading to the taps!! It is impressive!!

Right? That was my favorite part of the place. Although the decorated kegs are really cool as well. Thanks for the comment @rynow

Congratulations @cobmaximus, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2005 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1680.67. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I'm not a beer fan even though I'm living in Belgium but my partner is. He always takes notes of the beer that he have tried on web/app called RateBeer. Anyway, I feel hungry again now after seeing those foods. It's almost 11 pm here.

It's quite interesting the world of beer. With lot's of beer styles there must be some you could be a fan of... maybe a stout :). Ask your partner for a recommendation, he seems like an expert :D. Haha I know, I do the same thing, I look at delicious food just before going to bed... making me hungrier... ha ha ha

He's quite a beer nerd :-D He said Microbrasserie Dieu du Ciel from Canada has good beers. You can try that ;-)

I was intending to reply before but then I got distracted ha ha. Oh I have to check my liquor store to find that beer. Thanks a lot for the tip :) I'll post about it if I find it

Doing a quick search online I can't find it where I live :_(

Hello, excellent post, I invite you to visit and support my blog, regards

Thanks for the comment :)! sure I'll check it out

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 43.64 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Amazing! Thanks for sharing it and making us thirsty here :)

Sorry for making you thirsty ha ha, thanks for the comment :)

Amazing! Feeling thirsty

Haha go get yourself something to drink :D a pale ale is recommended

Haha That's what I'm going to do
Please check out my profile Upvote & Follow me @achrafbenz
my introducing post is interesting

Sure I'll take a look at your blogs :)

Thanks my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80