When problems simply spiral out of control

in #blog6 years ago

Day to day life is hard, and it becomes harder the older we get, the less we can depend on the old ones in our family. That's when we have a family and people to count on, of course; otherwise, they get easier the more we learn. It's a cycle of skill-damaging dependence until we adapt or die trying.

imagen.png

Image taken from Pixabay

I've been learning my whole life how to deal with the great amount of problems that surround me. From the simple stuff to the complex stuff. How to get a job, how to pay taxes (I still don't do this, only VAT which is implied in every purchase). Now with Venezuela going into hell-mode difficulty, I often feel like finding the nearest bridge and jumping down from it.

But I can't, of course. I want to live. I just don't want to deal with the thousands of little issues that come up faster than I can solve them. In the end, I choose to sit down and wait. Since it's impossible to solve them all, I just don't. This brings even more problems from the sum of them, problems from the knowledge that I'm consciously ignoring problems. They derivate, they snowball, they become a hurricane of knives flying around me and I just sit down in the eye of the hurricane waiting for the second half to come and finally pierce me.

But I can't really say that I'm not solving problems. Our lives are made of problem-solving. Every second, every impulse that we have has a cause, a need that it's trying to solve. We eat to solve our hunger, we walk because we need to get somewhere. So at the same time that I'm ignoring the big problems, I'm solving the little ones in a distorted eternal carpe diem.

What happens now?


Why is it so easy to give up? I don't want to give up, but at the same time, inertia drives me toward destruction with every pull it makes. Trying to fight against inertia feels like going against nature. How many times have I not felt hunger many hours after waking up? I know I have to eat, but it's so easy to simply stay there and read until afternoon comes; then I feel weak and remember that we need nutrients to keep going.

The call of the void shouldn't be this strong, but when thousands of little things make us feel like standing in the ruins of the Library of Alexandria and common sense calls us to rebuild it, how can we really hope to single-handedly solve it all? I just sit there and watch the last of the pillars fall, the last of the flames wane until all that's left is ashes, and when the wind comes, I will probably fade away with them, my soul scattering into oblivion.

It doesn't sound so bad to me, even though it's supposed to sound terrible. We should fear death and destruction, not learn to accept it and deliver ourselves to their doorstep with a smile on our faces. I know how to solve most of my problems and have all the resources except for the motivation. I just don't feel like moving anymore. The path is there but I just want to sit to the side and watch the leaves fall.

But I can't


It's too easy to fall. The call of the void is very strong, but there's a little voice telling me that I'm a problem solver, that if I don't compromise, all that remains is defeat. Defeat, as if we were in a game, though I've always said that life is a game (and everyone else just takes it too seriously).

Can't we just lose on purpose sometimes? Though losing on purpose this time would lead to a much harder and unpleasurable game thereafter.

"Just start solving then..."

Yeah, I will!

Random fact of the day

The ability to devour cakes and chocolate without getting fat may not be as great as it sounds.

Scientists have shown that people with a fast metabolism don't live as long as those who burn up calories more slowly.

Source

Yeah actually just forget it, this article says I'm dying soon. Let's just eat cake. :D

Sort:  

Jajaja. That's what i did yesterday. I'm Venezuelan too and i can relate to all you narrate here. It's really hard to stay afloat. Especially when you are a teacher and a parent and you are supposed to motivate other people who see you as a force to combat what you brightly describe as a "a distorted eternal carpe diem."
Once in a while we can give ourselves a treat, but i know what it feels to be knocked down by the realization that not much has changed and you were left with less money and a waiting list of crap that seems to pile up by the minute.
But, i guess, it's instinctual to avoid self destruction. One little step leads to another and next thing we know we´re back on track.
No se vale rendirse. La pelea es peleando. Un abrazo.

Exactly, that's it. We just keep solving. Sometimes it's slow, sometimes it's fast, sometimes we fall down a cliff and break half our bones, but we still do as much as we can.

I myself am not a student and I'm clearly in a privileged position, but I still have what others would call "first-world problems" + all the unavoidable Venezuelan problems (no matter how much we pay, the water service is crap, the Internet service gets cut off all the time and we get mugged on the streets or kidnapped) + my brain is banana.

I can feel you. i have even been debating whether i can afford to continue in this platform. The phone service skyrocketed and i don't think i can continue posting and commenting. This requires a 1st world internet service at first-world rates. I put 800k on thursday and friday and i spent the rest of the weekend without the service. Just crazy. And, as you know it's not easy to get the domestic internet service.
And it's funny because this thing has become my motivation to retake some of my frozen academic projects, but every time i have to go over my budget and through all this stress to have a simple post posted and some hours available to read and comment, i just, like you, go bananas.

Want to talk? I may have some tips to raise your income on the platform. They're mostly painless. The basics are here: https://busy.org/@cryptosharon/5-ways-to-get-a-basic-income-on-steemit

If you're still lacking some income, just tell me and we can explore some alternatives to make your stay affordable. I know that it's affordable for me, even with a very good Internet service and meals to pay. It's mostly strategy, effort, and a little luck.

I'm on Discord. You can join by clicking here. My name on Discord is CryptoSharon#6140. Talk to me and I'll guide you as much as I can.

Thanks. That'll be great. I cant get the discord to open in my phone right now, but i'll try later from a computer. I appreciate it

Aja! Just keep on living and fighting for your dreams Sharon and eat more cake. :)
It's been a while and I'm glad I was able to catch up and read your post. ^^

I am not an expert on other's problems, i am not even an expert on my own! but i do know this. Fate will drive all of us.

I can feel your sadness and i hope that you will overcome it. life is a test. A test that is taken every single day as you live. You live and learn. You learn and live.

hang on to something!

I have learned from experiences in my life that some of the best times I have come directly from the worst times and the worst times I have come directly from the best times. It is not 100 percent but enough for me to keep my head up. Just ask yourself what opportunities you have in front of you and run with them

this history is real so hard so sad but aone smile is not dangerous.

Yo, what's good @cryptosharon!~

Yeah, the call of the void has been strong for me this past week. I think that the best course of action is to try anyways. I am beginning to work on things with myself slowly, but to solve the issues as they are happening.

If it isn't something I can resolve now, then I won't worry myself on it. You are a strong and intelligent woman—remember to take braks, I know you got this c:

I worry that I take too many breaks. I'm way too absent and I'm still overwhelmed. :( It's like it's not what I do but just a cloud flying over my head no matter the circumstance.

That's me on some days, you just gotta keep going. Not everyday is going to be fantastic—but every cloudy day is only building it's way up to a bigger sunny one! c:

I surely hope to get to the sunny day soon. :3

You will dude, I believe in you 💞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85