Sausage and Egg Breakfast Quesadilla

in #blog5 years ago

I am from the Cheesehead-land. Yes, the great country of Wisconsin. Naturally, then, I take to the Mexican variety of the cheese sandwich, the quesadilla! For brunch last Sunday, my husband and I enjoyed this personally invented breakfast version!

  • 1 large tortilla
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • ¼ cup sliced chorizo sausage
  • White cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Salsa
In a large skillet, fry eggs on each side until golden, and set aside. After frying eggs, place tortilla in the large skillet. Place fried egg on tortilla. Layer cheese and chorizo on top of one side of the eggs, and fold the tortilla in half. Cook over medium heat until cheese is melted. Serve with fresh salsa!

source

I usually fry my eggs in a small skillet, so they are fluffier, but for the quesadilla, it was better to have them thinner. I didn’t put a suggested amount of cheese in the recipe mostly because I can’t remember exactly how much I used, but also because you might like more or less (especially if you are not a Wisconsinite!). I probably used somewhere between a quarter and half cup. I decided to use sausage after getting this really good chorizo burrito at Gonzo’s (the Mexican restaurant on Nassau Boulevard). The chorizo I used was cured. If you use fresh sausage in place of the chorizo, try sautéing the sliced rounds with diced onion for more flavor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89