Small Disaster Happened Today - Major Hot Water Leak

in #blog6 years ago

plumbing-840835_640.jpg
Source


At around 10:00 AM this morning, a small disaster occurred at our apartment. I was quietly working on the PC, while I suddenly hear a breaking sound, followed by the sound of a pressurized water flow.

Initially, I had no idea where this sound was coming from or what had happened. Then a saw a little trickle of water coming from under the kitchen sink. I opened the kitchen cabinet that housed the drainage and water supply of the sink and immediately saw hot water pouring down into the cabinet.

I panicked, I knew that I should first shut down the main water supply, but I also knew that I couldn't access that because we're in a rental apartment. I also didn't have the phone number of the landlord and my girlfriend wasn't picking up her phone, because she was at her internship.

I tried shutting down the water supply under the kitchen cabinet, but since the water was blazing hot, I couldn't get enough grip long enough to turn the valve. Now I was in a pretty dire situation, the kitchen area was flooding with water and I had no way of contacting the landlord. I had called 2 emergency plumbing services, but they weren't able to send anyone over immediately.

Then I finally got a hold of my girlfriend who quickly texted me the number of our landlord. To my surprise he was actually in town and could swing by in 5 minutes. When I buzzed him through the front door, I shouted to immediately shut down the main water supply.

Finally we were able to close the valve to the kitchen sink and I could start mopping. Luckily it didn't cause too much damage in the end, just our carpet got very wet at one end.

Here's one very grainy picture I took while it was happening, you can see a stream of water if you look closely.

41913897_2187946861480456_2655202057161539584_n.jpg

Here's the cabinet after the problem was fixed:


I honestly had no idea that water pipes could just break like that. The fact that it was all hot water made it 10X as troublesome to fix it. Our apartment is a student rental apartment, so they've probably cut costs a little on the quality of appliances etc.

I really hope that this will not happen again any time soon!


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT

The 4 links above are referral links and support this blog


Sort:  

Did you at least keep the number for the landlord so that you have it now and not just your girlfriend? :) It is fun being an adult isn't it and having to deal with all of those adult issues. If you don't have a dehumidifier, I would recommend getting a cheap one to run for a week or so, just to make sure you get all the of the moisture out of the carpet. Otherwise you might end up with a mold problem which will be no fun either!

Yeah the landlord has called me like 20 times since it happened, so he's my most popular contact on my phone right now :D Will still take a week before the faucet gets fixed though.

No dehumidifier, but got it pretty dry with a hairdryer. The carpet isn't too water retaining it seems, so should be alright.

Awesome! Sounds like it is all under control. Bummer that it will take a week to get the faucet fixed though.

I hope that the repair has been well, and everything returns to normal. @wfuneme

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.283 which ranks you at #7739 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 68 places in the last three days (old rank 7671).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #376.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00