Time For Some Self Criticism - What Can I Do Better?

in #blog6 years ago

22376632358_eb258b7fad_k.jpg


Sometimes you just need to stop and evaluate yourself for a bit, only then you can fix potential bad habits that might pose a problem later on.

So, today I've re-read some of my posts and I've noticed that some of them were not as good as I initially thought they were. Shit happens, I'm not going to fuss over it, but I do want to change a few things in the future.

My problem is that I often have to switch between writing personal posts (my food/travel blogs), while also writing more formal posts (crypto-related stuff). This doesn't really work well for me, I've seen that the line between personal and formal kind of blurs - especially when I'm trying to write a formal, informative article. I would usually start out my informative articles with a boring summary, listing most of the facts about the subject I'm writing about, while only bringing in my personal opinion at the end of the article.

Language is somewhat of an issue for me, I'm pretty good when I'm writing personal blogs, but often fail when I'm trying to describe certain projects or cryptocurrencies that I'm passionate about. Meaning that I find it way easier to write in a casual style. Re-hashing facts and publicly known information in a formal way isn't for me and it shouldn't be.

In the future I have to keep in mind, to also write my informative articles in a more personal way. No-one likes to read yet another summary of facts, people are looking for that personal input! This is something I have to do throughout the whole article, not just at the end.

Anyway, this is just a rambling post. Sometimes it's really helpful to write stuff like this down and maybe it can also help other people. I hope you understand what I'm trying to convey here... If not, feel free to ask!


Image source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/daquellamanera/22376632358


Sort:  

I have a similar problem, switching between authoritative posts and informal posts... I found what has helped me is slowly writing the authoritative posts in a draft over several days and only posting it when I'm ready to post, rather then trying to get it all done in one sitting!

Just write like yourself (no need to criticize yourself for “style”).

As a reader/consumer of your product, I’m not looking for stylistic perfection, rather that I can clearly hear your voice coming through.

Steem on!

well, to look at something you once thought was great and now you feel different about it, for me, is a sign of improvement. it shows you've adavnced in someway, and it is a feeling worth cherishing. I feel the same way about some of my old poems and articles. they look silly. I look at them and im like there is no way I wrote that. and sometimes I just laugh.

Considering that I have language issues too, I think your personal posts are great, I should check more your other stuff but it's a good thing that you revisit them trying to improve.

Do you want me to answer this question as decently as possible?

Yeah sure, go ahead. You can also answer it indecently...

You really got to stop upvoting your own fucking shit directly after posting!

That kills all my possibilities to earn a huge curation reward.

I had no idea that this was the case, I'm not too familiar with curation rewards, but I'll keep that in mind. Would it be better to self-vote after like 1 hour or so?

With the hard fork coming up in September it won’t matter anyway...past 30 minutes rewards go primarily to curators rather than authors.

I guess some people wait until the last 12 hours before self voting...I try to avoid it in general cause (as you can see) it pisses some people off.

I'm not really pissed off. I'm just having a bit of fun. And of course there is also a bit of a truth in my comment.

I would actually advice most people to upvote their own posts directly. Since that results in receiving part of the curation fee yourself. And with part I refer to a part of the curation fee from later upvotes.

So next to a direct self vote you can also do a few more things to minimize the curation rewards and maximize the author reward.

Yeah I'm going to stop self-voting for a little while at least. I really didn't know some people were so against it.

I'm not sure what your source is for rewards going primarily to curators after HF20?
I didn't read all the posts about this upcoming HF20, but I thought at least 75% will be paid out as author reward, correct?

Self-vote curation rewards will be returned to the pool.

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/steem-velocity-hardfork-hardfork-20

It is good to read the articles, but without doubt that comments or curators help a lot, I have seen what my colleagues say and they are really good, greetings and self-criticism is good from many points of view,

Congratulations @daan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

your personal voice should always be heard in whatever you write or the writing is dry and the reader will cry.....

great post about what you learned. Now don't forget! :D

woe awesome concept sir..thanks for share..

@daan
yes your personal style should always reflect in your writing!
that is what's going to make you recognizable whether it something formal or personal you are talking about :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10