A Beautiful Sublime Sunday At McCormick's Creek State Park

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

McCormick's Creek State Park.png

This was our very first visit to the beautiful McCormick's Creek State Park and it did not disappoint.

McCormick's Creek State Park (1).png

We began our journey on Trail 9 and that is what I am showing you today. One of the first things we noticed were these trees with loose bark. Do any of you know what kind of tree they are?

McCormick's Creek State Park (2).png

The next thing we noticed was how the foliage in the park was starting to fill back in and how beautiful the surroundings are starting to become.

McCormick's Creek State Park (3).png

Something about the trees in this park felt different to us. Maybe they are just different from the trees in our area of Indiana or maybe it was just that we could really feel Spring in the air.

McCormick's Creek State Park (4).png

All we know is that it was a beautiful day to be out in nature. We think we may have even seen an Indian Trail Tree.

McCormick's Creek State Park (5).png

Last but not least, we got to see what was left of an old homestead. I always love getting a peek into history like that. I'm sure the Spring House has been restored at some point because it was in great shape.

A big thank you to @ace108 for hosting the #beautifulsunday and to @c0ff33a for hosting the #sublimesunday tags each week!

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap
debralee_blue.png

Sort:  

Those trees could be eucalyptus trees or native birch trees. Some poplars also peel. I am not sure without seeing the trees up close and personal. Nice park for a Sunday walk!

Thanks! I've seen birch with the white bark that was somewhat loose before. I wondered if these might be related.

The native birch as darker bark but is similar to the white birch.

The native birch as darker bark but is similar to the white birch. Both have loose bark.

Beautiful photographs dear! Thanks for sharing such a beautiful place!!!

There a tree here in our country that we call paper tree because of how loose and paper like are the barks. It is like an onion skin that is layer by layer. I hope you can find out the name of that tree above. It is always interesting to find parts of history still intact which gives us a glimpse of how life was back then even though how little evidence there is left.

I love finding history in tact too. :D Thanks, I hope I find out what type of trees they are as well.

Looks like you definitely had a beautiful Sunday! I love seeing those old structures too! Something about Spring just fills the heart with joy! Beautiful photos Deb!! xoxo

Thank you @deerjay! xoxo

The Shaggy bark tree may be a Shad bark Hickory. We don't have them around here, only seen them in books.

Thanks Mike!

Terrific photo essay. My favorite image is the bent tree in this one:

Thanks! I love the bent trees too because of their uniqueness and history.

Wow Wow Wow, absolutely beautiful, well done.
How are those not so new hiking shoes going?
Try and google what type of trees are in that park and go to images and look at species. This will take your hiking to another level learning about the vegetation around you and what it provides.

Thank you! I love the new hiking boots! I did have to put a more supportive insert into them but they have been just what we needed. I had not though about googling the photo, thanks! :D

I love how you bring different park in your state to show us; and as always I love your nature photos! They are superb!

Thanks so much @icybc!

Beautiful pictures!! It looks really nice to go for a walk there

It was a beautiful park to walk in, I was really glad we went to it.

There's some tranquil feeling about this place.

Thanks, it was very tranquil. :D

you're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75