Do you know where the word fuck comes from? you do now. fascinating fact of the day.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Something's just can not be explained, this one can though.


A lot of people take offence about the word "fuck" rightly so? you be the judge.


insult-2902607__340.jpg


In English and the UK the word can have many different connotations including a sexual act or pure insult.
The first record of the word on paper dates back to the Anglo-Saxon period 1310 ad. It was found in court records.

"The written record of the swearword was found accidentally by Dr Paul Booth, a historian at Keele University in England, while he was examining a court case held in the County court of Chester in which a man named Roger Fuckebythenavel was outlawed on 28 September, 1311. It appears that Roger did not hold an unfortunate family name, but had been given the name derogatorily for apparently being an incompetent copulator (not very good at intercourse). "
“Either it refers to an inexperienced copulator, referring to someone trying to have sex with the navel, or it’s a rather extravagant explanation for a dimwit, someone so stupid they think that this is the way to have sex,” Dr Booth told Mail online.

source

Audio version.



I heard this audio years ago, and it made me laugh, you may like it also, or it may offend some, the recipe posts are the arrow back at the top of the screen if the latter is you.






Deliberators verdict = fucking marvellous.



Deliberator = Definition of deliberator
plural -s
: one that deliberates

alien-1502038__340.jpg


adam-and-eve-1687782__340.jpg



Image courtesy of pixabay.

Sort:  

It is a really fuckin' great post @deliberator! You even made my laugh! 😁👍
In Poland, the equivalent of this word is "kurwa", which is used in the same way as "fuck". And I noticed some time ago, that it is one of the first words that foreigners learn from us. I note that sometimes, at the same time they understand (and use!) this word, and don't know meaning of "dzień dobry", which means "good morning".
Soo... now I teached you too 😅

Fucking wonderful, except for the fact I am the Englishman living near Lublin in Poland, with a Polish wife, so you taught me fuck all lol.

WTF? :-) (i'm in a very modern mood today)

Fucking straight up bro.

Fucking marvellous indeed, my friend! Just what I needed today! Thanks for the history lesson and a good laugh!

:-) I aim to fucking please lol.

Hmnnn... so when the world needs to be saved you spend your time posting about the word Fuck. That's pretty fucked up if you ask me. But inspiring too. In fact, today I'm celebrating 500 followers and was contemplating what to write. Humor seems in order. Keep and eye open for my post. I think I'll call it Observations of a Fool: the word Fuck. Once again you've inspired me!

Fucking hey, as a good Canadian friend used to say to me, in every sentence, get fucking busy bro. All good fun, a laugh is required on Mondays, that is my law lol.

I used to believe in the false etimology of "Fornicating Under Consent of King" (F.U.C.K) but i've realized it comes from older but similar words in other Indo-European or Germanic languages. there's a great article at wikipedia, I share your verdict, and you are also fucking awesome.

Lol cheers bro, all good fun and steemit needs a bit of fun sometimes.

It has been an insulting word since inception

Or since 1310, it seems. :-)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Ah yes, That is the wav from about 1997, I think that was when I first heard it, I amy have heard it i 1996, but I think it was 1997. Nice to see it is still out there and available for others to enjoy.

damn fucking right bro, I was not sure if you would get my meaning when I said my fucking post, others would have just taken offence, glad you are made of better fucking stuff. :-)

I wanted to hear the other two, but with the speed throttle, it is hard to listen to a few words, wait for the buffer, hear a few more words, wait for the buffer. But it really only takes those first few words on the F-word wav to hear it, So say it loud and say it proud FUCK YOU.;-}

On that note, I am fucking off to bed. :-)

It's even got pride of place in social media and cellular language - wtf, lmfao ... thanks for the laugh, I'm going to take a Fukitol and hit the sack.

You hit that fucking sack hard, and have a good fucking sleep, thanks for fucking stopping by.:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85