What's keeping you from trying Linux?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

Content Creator Version.


Linux has a full array of high-quality free software that will fit pretty much any need.

I’m going to show you what I think are the better/ more popular examples of software in each of the categories specific to content creators. You can run a full, professional-grade production suite on your computer of choice, for any kind of content you choose to create. For free!

It is more than just free, it is freedom.

The thing about open source and the Linux ecosystem is that there are so many choices. If you happen to not like any of the particular software I show you here, you can just search for another alternative and chances are pretty good that you will find something that does suit you.

Operating System: The myriad of Linux operating systems are called distros which is short for distribution.

Linux Mint: I use Linux Mint as my workstation OS for mainly because I don’t try to run down problems in my daily driver. This is a very solid OS and rarely has any problems, but if any do come up and the solution is more than a quick search with a verified fix, then I just “nuke and pave”. By nuke and pave, I mean I just re-install the operating system. It only takes half an hour to completely re-install, move all files back to the system and log back into all my network services. Internet services are not a problem because I use syncing on Firefox. Once I sign in and sync Firefox, all the rest of my logins and preferences are right there ready to go.

Browser:

Firefox: The most boringly useful tool I use is my browser. No matter what I’m doing, the browser is open and active. Of course, you can install Chrome or the de-Googled Chromium browser as well as a ton of others. Google Chrome needs to be downloaded from Google’s website, but the de-Googled Chromium will be in the Software Center for free. Pretty much everything is free.

Video:

KdenLive: A full-featured non-linear video editor. It is well regarded as a fully capable alternative to the professional choices out there. I’m not so sure about that, but I am sure it works well enough for the vast majority of content creators out there.

Handbrake: Video Transcoder. Handbrake is easy to use for straight forward stuff like making huge files smaller or changing things like resolution or frame rates. If you make videos, once you start using this little gem, you will find yourself using it all the time.

Blender: 3d creation tool – and so much more. This is my absolute favorite piece of software. It’s often hard to believe we get to use such a powerful and complete story-telling tool. It is a steep learning curve, for sure, but it can do everything a video maker could want. Blender is what I made my logo in, which you can see at the bottom of this post. I don’t know what else I could have made something like that with. It can be used for video editing, animating, compositing, making models, anything.

Audio:

Audacity: Audacity has earned a solid reputation amongst the audio producers out there. It is in the realm of industry standard software. It is certainly mentioned and praised all over the place. It is particularly popular for podcasting, but a lot of professionals also use it for editing audio.

Graphics/ pictures

GIMP: GIMP has just recently gone through a major overhaul from what was already a very well respected piece of software. To be clear, this is a professional quality software and as such is not necessarily well suited to someone that is not looking for the plethora of features available.

Video player

VLC media player: I would be remiss if I didn’t mention what is possibly the most beloved open source software used by all the operating systems out there. VLC will play pretty much anything you throw at it. It can play streaming network files, local files or even internet based ones on platforms like YouTube and the like.

Office Suite:

LibreOffice:: More compatible with Microsoft Office than Microsoft Office! The only problem you might face if you come from Microsoft Office is if you use macros in your spreadsheets. Other than that one unlikely scenario, this is a very reliable and full-featured suite.

Email:

Thunderbird: Simple yet full-featured email client from Mozilla. Thunderbird supports multiple accounts and the latest encryption. It supports multiple accounts and it has a host of plugins that extend the functionality nearly endlessly. One of my favorite features of Thunderbird is how easy it is to backup. All you have to do is drag a file to the backup location and your done. Using Linux, that can be automated.


I used to really hope for more marketing for open source in hopes that it would “take over” proprietary options. Now I see that we don’t need to worry about what other people are doing. So long as we have the option to use what we want and open source is allowed to thrive, then that is all that matters.

It is all about choices.

I hope to see society progress into the future by open sourcing all the things. I see open source now finding its way into all sorts of our lives such as hardware, education, food and medicine to name just a few things.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://software.diggndeeper.com/whats-keeping-you-from-trying-linux/

logo- 2k.png

Sort:  

Very cool article, one of my Dtube videos is specifically about Content Creation on Linux, I tried to offer alternatives Adobe's Photoshop(Krita & GIMP), Illustrator: Inkscape, Lightroom: Darktable, Audition: Kdenlive.
And then Fruity Loops:LMMS for music production.

Trying to convert Content Creators from proprietary is a difficult task, not just because "free=bad" to so many people, but switching up a workflow that you're creating with is a serious challenge. Adobe users constantly talk about how GIMP is great but it's inferior because it doesn't have this or that. In reality, GIMP can do almost everything, but it may require different steps.

Glad to see your work!

Thanks. Now that I love open source software and see how powerful it is, I want to open source everything.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know exactly how you feel. Linux itself is possibly the most used software in the world, as well as being worked on by the most people. I tried Ubuntu in 2014 after I had just built a brand new custom gaming machine, I installed it on an old 2005 AMD Athlon64x2 and I was instantly hooked. Even though I had just built a brand new gaming computer, I was spending most of my time on that old dual core machine trying all sorts of things, setting up servers etc. Eventually I just started trying to find a replacement for everything I had used on Windows and was constantly surprised there was almost always a way.

Im using linux mint on my laptop and am never going to switch back!

But I have to use windows on my pc because I need ableton ^^

Hmm... I know nothing about any of this, but you've intrigued me. I'm not into tech - I'm a philosopher with a tendency toward simplicity - but I like the idea of having full control over my own things, and a computer is one of the things I find useful. I suppose I'll have to look into this further. Thank you for bringing up this topic.

If you have any questions, let me know. I'll help out the best I can.

Posted using Partiko Android

I swore that when Im next able to that I am converting to Linux!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome. If I can help in any way, let me know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! Yes young padawan, join the dark side of the force! We have Open source programs to fit all your wants and needs!

Ill sort this when im back to my lapto in a good few weeks from now - it is time!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been using Ubuntu (well, Xubuntu really) for a long time now.

Xubuntu is one of my favorites because it is so light. Oddly, I often switch from KDE to Xubuntu for my desktop. Now I like the PopOS custom Gnome desktop. It does what I need and stays out of the way.

I like Xubuntu for the simplicity of its desktop environment. PopOS looks interesting. I need to spend time playing around with some different distros again. I kind of settled in with Xubuntu a while back and it's just what I always grab nowadays because I'm so familiar with it.

It's hard to go wrong with it. Light and fast is worth a lot, so long as you are left wanting.

Well I have been using UNIX based operating systems from before Linux was created and have been using Linux in one form or another for over 30 years. I do admit to making a living supporting Microsoft but still often ran Linux in the server room whenever possible. Now that I am semi-retired I use Linux as my primary workstation. Always happy to see people using it themselves.

Posted using Partiko Android

My favorite thing about running Linux is how easy it is to run a server from home. That's actually what got me into Linux. Now I'm always borking my stuff playing around with that, lol.

That is why I am also such a fan of the Raspberry Pi, small cheap Linux servers for small tasks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man, Rasperry Pi are so cool for making projects and stuff with. They have taught a lot of people about using Linux that wouldn't otherwise.

So true. Now that I have the Man Cave mostly setup I will start setting up my various Raspberry Pi's and do my best to post the experience on Steem. I just have never been good with documenting things, but now have some incentive with Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Gimp, VLC, Audacity, blender, handbrake... and people still tell me linux doesn't have enough software, what they don't realize is that most of the software they are using for windows is usable on linux...

The big corps propaganda against open source is strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73